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There are far more opportunities than restrictions, especially for 
students enrolled in Work-Based Learning programs! 

It’s All About Opportunity 
This guide is designed to identify the federal and 
Oklahoma state laws that govern youth in the 
workplace pertaining to the following: 

• Age 
• Work hours 
• Permitted jobs 
• Exceptions that create more opportunities 

when employers and students participate 
in work-based learning 

What you need to know about labor laws: 

• Both federal and state labor laws apply to youth in the workplace. 
• When federal and state laws are different, the most restrictive law must 

be followed. 
• The laws are designed to protect Oklahoma youth from exploitation and 

danger, not remove them from the workplace. 
• Regulations for 14- and 15-year-old workers are more restrictive than for 

16- and 17-year-old workers. 
• Individuals 18 years of age are considered adults in the regulations. 
• 17 occupations are identified as Particularly Hazardous for the 

employment of minors between 16 and 18 years of age (these occupations 
are referred to as “Hazardous Occupations” or HO in this document). See 
Appendix D for the list of HOs. 

o Exemptions exist for students in occupational training programs for 
eight of the 17 HOs. 

o No HO exceptions exist for 14- and 15-year-old students. 
• Jobs in agriculture differ slightly from nonagricultural jobs. 

 
 
 
 



Opportunities for 14- and 15-Year-Old Youth 
All Oklahoma students who are 14 and 15 years of age must obtain a work permit 
(also known as employment certificate) before getting a job or participating in 
work-based learning. See Appendix A. 

Work hours 
• Maximum of 3 hours in a school day, but not during school hours 
• Maximum of 18 hours in a school week 
• Maximum of 8 hours on a non-school day 
• Maximum of 40 hours in a non-school week 
• One-hour cumulative rest period for 8 consecutive hours worked or a 30- 

minute rest period for 5 consecutive hours worked 
• The hours are between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. (except from June 1 through 

Labor Day, when evening hours are extended to 9 p.m.) 
 

Permitted jobs 

The jobs listed below are general occupations that are identified by regulations 
as appropriate for minors 14 and 15 years old. Most of the occupations listed 
below have specific regulations attached to them. Further clarification can be 
found in Appendices B and C. 

• Clerical work 
• Work of intellectual or artistic creative 

nature 
• Cooking with electric or gas grills (non- 

open flame) 
• Cashiering, selling, modeling 
• Price marking 
• Bagging and carrying out customers’ 

orders 
• Errand and delivery by foot, bicycle, public transportation 
• Clean-up work (not including power-driven lawn maintenance equipment) 
• Kitchen work 
• Stocking products 



Opportunities for 16- and 17-Year-Old Youth 
Work hours 

• No restrictions on the hours or times once a minor reaches 16 years of age 
• May work during school hours 

Permitted jobs 

• Any non-hazardous occupation 
• List of HOs is provided in Appendix D 

Exemptions 

16- & 17-year-old students involved 
in work-based learning internships or 
apprenticeships are allowed to work 
in HOs #5, #8, #10, #12, #14, #16, #17 
under certain conditions (See 
Appendix D). 

• Apprentices – The identified 8 
exemptions apply when the 
following criteria are met: 
o Apprenticeship is in a recognized apprentice trade 
o Hazardous work is incidental to their training 
o Hazardous work is intermittent and for short periods of time 
o Hazardous work is under direct and close supervision 
o Apprentice is registered with the Department of Labor or state 

apprenticeship agency 
 

• Student-learners – The identified 8 exemptions apply when the following 
criteria are met: 

o Student-learner is enrolled in a course of study and training in a 
cooperative vocational training program 

o Student is employed under a written agreement which provides the 
following: 
 The hazardous work is incidental to their training 



 The hazardous work is intermittent and for short periods of 
time 

 The hazardous work is under direct and close supervision 
 Safety instruction shall be given at school and work 
 A schedule of organized and progressive work process to be 

performed 
 The agreement is signed by employer, school, student, and 

parent or guardian 

There are more opportunities than you may think! 

For more information, contact your local technology center or high 
school and start the conversation. 

Or go to okcareer.tech/wbl to learn more and talk to someone about 
your next steps. 

 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 

LEGAL DISCLAIMER: This legal information is offered solely in explanation of general legal concepts and/or principles which may 
be of assistance to your stated concerns. This information has been provided as a public service and while its author has 
endeavored to provide quality legal information, there are no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, 
completeness, or adequacy of the information supplied. As legal information must be tailored to the specific circumstances of 
each case, and laws are constantly changing, nothing provided herein should be used as a substitute for the advice of your own 
legal counsel. Legal information is not legal advice. Although the author has endeavored to provide accurate information, it is 
recommended that you consult a lawyer if you want professional assurance that said information, and your interpretation of it, 
is appropriate to your particular situation. The transmission of this legal information is not intended to create nor does it create 
an attorney-client relationship. 

http://www.okcareertech.org/wbl


Appendix A 
 

Oklahoma Work Permit Instruction Guide 
 
Schools 

In accordance with Title 40, Section 79 of the Oklahoma Statutes, the issuing officer is the principal, 
headmaster, or equivalent administrative officer of the school. If the minor is being home-schooled, the 
parent or guardian becomes the issuing officer. In accordance with Title 40, Section 79 of the Oklahoma 
Statutes, the issuing officer is prohibited to issue a work permit to minors UNDER 14 years. 

 
Employers 

Before employment begins, employers are responsible for having 14 and 15 year old minors obtain an 
Employment Certificate of Age and Schooling (work permit) from their school’s issuing officer. Minors 
16 years of age and older are not required under state law to get a work permit. 

 
Work Permit Process 

Principals will download Form 600 (Application to Secure Certificate of Age and Schooling for 
Employment) and Form 601 (Employment Certificate of Age and Schooling) from the Oklahoma State 
Child Labor website located at www.ok.gov/odol/Employment_Issues/Child_Labor/. The principal will 
go to “School District Reporting Site” where they will enter their Username and Password. The 
appropriate documents will be on the “Systems Menu” screen. 

1. The principal will print Form 600 and give to the student. 
 

2. The student section, employer section, and parental or guardian section will need to be completed 
on the Form 600. 

 
3. The student then returns the completed Form 600 to the principal. 

 
4. The principal will complete Form 601; then print, sign and give one copy of the form to the student 

to take to the employer. 
 

5. The principal will send one copy of the Form 601 to the Oklahoma Department of Labor and retain 
one copy with Form 600 in the school district’s records for five years. 

 
Questions? 
Oklahoma State Department of Education Oklahoma Department of Labor 
School Personnel Records Child Labor Unit 
(405) 521-3335 (405) 521-6591 

https://www.ok.gov/odol/Employment_Issues/Child_Labor/


 
 

Code of Federal Regulations 

Appendix B 

 

Title 29 → Subtitle B → Chapter V → Sub chapter E → Part 570.33 – 570.50 
 

§570.33 – Occupations that are prohibited to minors 14 and 15 years of age 

§570.34 – Occupations that may be performed by minors 14 and 15 years of age 

§570.35 – Hours of work and conditions of employment permitted for minors 14 
and 15 years of age 

§570.37 – Work-study program 

§570.50 – General – Identifies the exceptions for apprenticeships and student- 
learners 

 
 

Appendix C 
For Oklahoma regulations dealing with the employment of 14- and 15-year-old 
students, click on the link to the right: Title 40 Labor. Scroll through the document 
until you come to the following regulations and select the topic you wish to learn 
more about. 

§40-71. Restrictions on employment of children under sixteen. 198 
§40-72.1. Occupations prohibited for children under sixteen. 198 
§40-74. Educational qualifications required of child before employment. 199 
§40-75. Hours of employment of children - Rest periods. 199 
§40-76. Night work. 200 
§40-77. Schooling certificates - Duties of employers. 200 
§40-78. Evidence of age of child - Certificate of physical fitness. 201 
§40-79. Age and schooling certificates - Proof of age. 202 
§40-80. School attendance certificate to be presented - Duplicate of schooling 
certificate - Blank form - Form of certificate. 202 
§40-88. Penalties for violating this chapter. 204 
§40-89. Enforcement of chapter - Administrative penalties. 204 

https://ecfr.io/Title-29/se29.3.570_133
https://ecfr.io/Title-29/se29.3.570_134
https://ecfr.io/Title-29/se29.3.570_135
https://ecfr.io/Title-29/se29.3.570_137
https://ecfr.io/Title-29/pt29.3.570#se29.3.570_150
http://webserver1.lsb.state.ok.us/OK_Statutes/CompleteTitles/os40.rtf


Appendix D 
The FLSA lists 17 Hazardous Occupations that are prohibited for youth under 18 
years of age. Title 29 → Subtitle B → Chapter V → Sub chapter E → Part 570.50 – 
570.68 

 
Below is a list of occupations banned for individuals under the age of 18. There 
are exceptions for numbers 5, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16, and 17 if the person is between 16 
and 18 years of age and is enrolled in a course of study and training in a 
cooperative vocational training program or registered apprenticeship (§570.50 
(b), (c)). 
1. Manufacturing or storing of explosives 
2. Driving a motor vehicle or working as an outside helper on motor vehicles 

(More information on Hazardous Occupation #2, driving on the job and 
distracted driving) 

3. Coal mining 
4. Forest fire fighting and forest fire prevention, timber tract, forestry service, 

and occupations in logging and sawmilling 
5. Using power-driven woodworking machines (More information on 

woodworking 
6. Exposure to radioactive substances and ionizing radiation 
7. Using power-driven hoisting apparatus 
8. Using power-driven metal-forming, punching and shearing machines 
9. Mining, other than coal 
10. Using power-driven meat-processing machines, slaughtering, meat and 

poultry packing, processing, or rendering 
11. Using power-driven bakery machines 
12. Using balers, compactors, and power-driven paper-products machines (More 

information on using balers, compactors, and paper-products machines) 
13. Manufacturing brick, tile, and related products 
14. Using power-driven circular saws, band saws, guillotine shears, chain saws, 

reciprocating saws, wood chippers, and abrasive cutting discs (More 
information on power tools) 

15. Working in wrecking, demolition, and ship-breaking operations 
16. Roofing and work performed on or about a roof (More information on 

roofing) 
17. Trenching or excavating 



To read the regulations in Title 29 Code of Federal Regulations in their entirety, 
click on the links below to learn more. 

§570.50 - General 

§570.51 – Occupations in or about plants or establishments manufacturing or 
storing explosives or article containing explosive components (Order 1) (HO#1) 

§570.52 – Occupations of motor-vehicle driver and outside helper (Order2) 
(HO#2) 

§570.53 – Coal mine operations (Order 3) (HO#3) 

§570.54 – Forest fire fighting and forest fire prevention occupations, timber tract 
occupations, forestry service occupations, logging operations in the operation of 
any sawmill, lath mill, shingle mill, or cooperage stock mill (Order 4) (HO#4) 

§570.55 – Occupations involved in the operation of power-driven woodworking 
machines (Order 5) (HO#5) 

§570.57 – Exposure to radioactive substances and to ionizing radiations (Order 6) 
(HO#6) 

§570.58 – Occupations involved in the operation of power-driven hoisting 
apparatus (Order 7) (HO#7) 

§570.59 – Occupations involved in the operation of power-driven metal forming, 
punching, and shearing machines (Order 8) (HO#8) 

§570.60 – Occupations in connection with mining, other than coal (Order 9) 
(HO#9) 

§570.61 – Occupations in the operation of power-driven meat-processing 
machines and occupations involving slaughtering, meat and poultry packing, 
processing or rendering (Order 10) 

§570.62 – Occupations involved in the operations of bakery machines (Order 11) 
(HO#11) 

§570.63 – Occupations involved in the operation of balers, compactors, and 
paper-products machines (Order 12) (HO#12) 

https://ecfr.io/Title-29/se29.3.570_150
https://www.ecfr.io/Title-29/se29.3.570_151
https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=8ecbacaa0faf44d4a3b9265c22bd6f85&mc=true&node=pt29.3.570&rgn=div5&se29.3.570_152
https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=8ecbacaa0faf44d4a3b9265c22bd6f85&mc=true&node=pt29.3.570&rgn=div5&se29.3.570_153
https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=8ecbacaa0faf44d4a3b9265c22bd6f85&mc=true&node=pt29.3.570&rgn=div5&se29.3.570_154
https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=8ecbacaa0faf44d4a3b9265c22bd6f85&mc=true&node=pt29.3.570&rgn=div5&se29.3.570_155
https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=8ecbacaa0faf44d4a3b9265c22bd6f85&mc=true&node=pt29.3.570&rgn=div5&se29.3.570_157
https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=8ecbacaa0faf44d4a3b9265c22bd6f85&mc=true&node=pt29.3.570&rgn=div5&se29.3.570_158
https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=8ecbacaa0faf44d4a3b9265c22bd6f85&mc=true&node=pt29.3.570&rgn=div5&se29.3.570_159
https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=8ecbacaa0faf44d4a3b9265c22bd6f85&mc=true&node=pt29.3.570&rgn=div5&se29.3.570_160
https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=8ecbacaa0faf44d4a3b9265c22bd6f85&mc=true&node=pt29.3.570&rgn=div5&se29.3.570_161
https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=8ecbacaa0faf44d4a3b9265c22bd6f85&mc=true&node=pt29.3.570&rgn=div5&se29.3.570_162
https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=8ecbacaa0faf44d4a3b9265c22bd6f85&mc=true&node=pt29.3.570&rgn=div5&se29.3.570_163


§570.64 – Occupations involved in the manufacture of brick, tile, and kindred 
products (Order 13) (HO#13) 

§570.65 – Occupations involving the operation of circular saws, band saws, 
guillotine shears, chainsaws, reciprocating saws, wood chippers, and abrasive 
cutting discs (Order 14) (HO#14) 

§570.66 – Occupations involved in wrecking, demolition, and shipbreaking 
operations (Order 15) (HO#15) 

§570.67 – Occupations in roofing operations and on or about a roof (Order 16) 
(HO#16) 

§570.89 – Occupations in excavation operations (Order 17) (HO#17) 

https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=8ecbacaa0faf44d4a3b9265c22bd6f85&mc=true&node=pt29.3.570&rgn=div5&se29.3.570_164
https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=8ecbacaa0faf44d4a3b9265c22bd6f85&mc=true&node=pt29.3.570&rgn=div5&se29.3.570_165
https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=8ecbacaa0faf44d4a3b9265c22bd6f85&mc=true&node=pt29.3.570&rgn=div5&se29.3.570_166
https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=8ecbacaa0faf44d4a3b9265c22bd6f85&mc=true&node=pt29.3.570&rgn=div5&se29.3.570_167
https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=8ecbacaa0faf44d4a3b9265c22bd6f85&mc=true&node=pt29.3.570&rgn=div5&se29.3.570_168
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