OKLAHOMA GRADUATED DRIVER LICENSING (GDL) GUIDE

RULES
OF THE ROAD

e |tisillegal for learner's permit and
infermediate license holders to use any
hand-held electronic device while operating
a motor vehicle, except in a life-threatening
emergency.

|t isillegal for any driver to compose, send,
or read messages on any electronic device
while driving.

e |tisillegal for a person under age 21 to
drive after consuming any alcohol. Even
prescription medicines or over-the-counter
medication taken in the proper dosages
can impair you as much as alcohol or
illegal drugs. Driving while impaired
may result in drivers losing their license
for at least 6 months, paying court fines,
performing community service, having to
attend a freatment program, or facing any
combination of these penalties.

e Every driver and front seat passenger must
wear a seat belt at all fimes while the vehicle
is being operated. No seat belt use means
the driver can be stopped and ficketed
without any other offense.
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This publication was issued by the Oklahoma State Department of Health (OSDH), an equal . el H H
\
»a“‘ OKLAHOMA opportunity employer and provider. A digital file has been deposited with the Publications CheCkIISt Keep ihls inan eCISIly acceSSIbIe
aﬂ(‘ State Department Clearinghouse of the Oklahoma Department of Libraries in compliance with section 3-114 plqc e for referencel
PA~ of Health of Title 65 of the Oklahoma Statutes and is available for download at documents.ok.gov.

Issued November 2022



What is GDL?

Graduated driver licensing is a program that allows teens to increase
driving privileges as they gain experience behind the wheel.

Why GDL?

Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death for teens in

Oklahoma. GDL programs are effective at reducing the crash risk of young

drivers on the road. High-risk behaviors, such as carrying teen passengers
and nighttime driving, are limited through the GDL program.

GDL applies to...

Drivers between the ages of 15 and 18.

How does GDL work?

GDL has three stages: learner, intermediate, and unrestricted. Teen drivers,
ages 15-18, move through each stage based on their age, length of time
having a driver license, and experience and fraining behind the wheel.

What can parents do?

* Extend your teen’s behind-the-wheel training time.
» Set the rules of the road.
¢ Enforce the rules with a parent-teen driving agreement.

FOR MORE INFORMATION PLEASE VISIT:

The Oklahoma State Department of Health
oklahoma.gov/health/gdl or call 405.426.8440

The Oklahoma Department of Public Safety
oklahoma.gov/dps

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
cdc.gov/motorvehiclesafety/teen_drivers/

Motor vehicle crashes can happen to anyone - even “good teens.”

Learner’s Permit

STAGE

Be at least 15 '/, years old

Be receiving instruction in or have completed driver education
Have passed written driving exam

Have passed vision exam

Have passed the reading test required for all 8th grade students

Restrictions: Accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years old.

Intermediate License

STAGE

Have a learner’s permit for at least 6 months

Have had at least 50 hours behind-the-wheel training (with
10 hours being at night) from a licensed driver at least 21
years old and licensed for atf least 2 years

Have no fraffic convictions on driving record
Have passed driving skills exam

Restrictions: May drive only between 5am and 10pm, with the exception
of activities related to school, church, or work OR any time when
accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years old.

Unrestricted License

STAGE

Have an intermediate license for at least 6 months if driver
education has been completed; if not, the driver must have
an intermediate license for at least 1 year

Have no traffic convictions on driving record
(0]

Be at least 18 years old

Have passed all driving and vision exams

Passenger Restrictions: While in Stage 1 or 2, your

aj

s feen driver may drive with only one passenger or only
people who live with them. However, if a licensed
driver (at least 21 years old) is in the car, your teen

can drive with an unrestricted number of passengers.

ALL new drivers lack experience and are, therefore, more likely to crash.



