CHAPTER 641. EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES

[Authority: 63 O.S., §§ 1-104 and 1-2501 et seq.]

[Source: Codified 5-1-92]
SUBCHAPTER 1. GENERAL EMS PROGRAMS
PART 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS

310:641-1-1. Purpose
The purpose of this Chapter is to implement the "Oklahoma Emergency Response Systems
Development Act" as established at Title 63 O.S. Section 1-2501 et seq., as amended (the Act), and:
(1) to describe and give a cross-reference to the several other subchapters of emergency medical
service rules, and
(2) to provide definitions and implement emergency medical service law.

[Source: Amended at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]
310:641-1-2. Emergency medical service rules [REVOKED]

[Source: Revoked at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-1-3. Impersonation, assault, battery, penalties

(a) Every person who willfully delays, obstructs or in any way interferes with an emergency medical
technician or other emergency medical care provider in the performance of or attempt to perform
emergency medical care and treatment or in going to or returning from the scene of a medical emergency,
upon conviction, is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment in the county jail not exceeding
six (6) months, or by a fine not to exceed Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00), or by both such fine and
imprisonment [Section 650.3 of Title 21, Oklahoma Statutes].

(b) Every person who, without justifiable or excusable cause and with intent to do bodily harm, commits
any assault, battery or assault and battery upon the person of an emergency medical care provider who is
performing medical care duties, upon conviction, is guilty of a felony punishable by imprisonment in the
custody of the Department of Corrections for a term not exceeding two (2) years, or by a fine not
exceeding One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00), or by both such fine and imprisonment [Section 650.4 of
Title 21, Oklahoma Statutes].

(¢) It is unlawful for any person to knowingly discharge, or cause to be discharged, any electrical stun gun,
tear gas weapon, mace, tear gas, pepper mace or any similar deleterious agent against another person
knowing the other person to be a peace officer, corrections officer, probation or parole officer, firefighter,
or an emergency medical technician or paramedic who is acting in the course of official duty. Any person
violating the provisions of this section, upon conviction, shall be guilty of a felony punishable by
imprisonment in the custody of the Department of Corrections for a term of not exceeding ten (10) years,
or by imprisonment in the county jail for a term of not exceeding one (1) year [Section 1272.3 of Title 21,
Oklahoma Statutes].

(d) Except as provided in subsection B of this section, every person who falsely personates any public
officer, civil or military, any firefighter, any law enforcement officer, any emergency medical technician or
other emergency medical care provider, or any private individual having special authority by law to
perform any act affecting the rights or interests of another, or who assumes, without authority, any uniform
or badge by which such officers or persons are usually distinguished, and in such assumed character does
any act whereby another person is injured, defrauded, harassed, vexed or annoyed, upon conviction, is
guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment in the county jail not exceeding six (6) months, or by
a fine not exceeding Two Thousand Dollars ($2,000.00), or by both such fine and imprisonment [Section
1533 of Title 21, Oklahoma Statutes].

[Source: Amended at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-1-4. Purpose, authority and indoor tobacco smoke



(a) The purpose of this section is to establish a prevention program for several non-communicable diseases,
which will improve the health of Oklahomans by eliminating exposure to secondhand tobacco smoke and
its deadly effects. This section abates the public health nuisance of secondhand smoke under the authority
of the Commissioner of Health as specified under Section 1-106(b)(1) of Title 63 of the Oklahoma
Statutes. This section also further specifies how compliance with the Smoking in Public Places Act will be
accomplished. [63 O.S. §§ 1-1521 ef seq.]

(b) The Commissioner of Health has conducted a study and is recommending these measures to the Board
of Health under his authority as stated in section 1-106 of the Public Health Code. [63 O.S. § 1-106] The
Board has the authority to establish prevention programs for non-communicable disease and to promulgate
rules for the control of causative or toxic substances, which can cause disease under section 1-502b of the
Public Health Code. [63 O.S. § 1-502b] The Board is adopting this rule under its authority in sections 1-
104 and 1-1526 of Title 63 of the Oklahoma Statutes. [63 O.S. §§ 1-104 & 1-1526]

(c) Smoking or possessing a lighted tobacco product is prohibited in an ambulance or stretcher aid van.

[Source: Added at 19 Ok Reg 2087, eff 7-1-02]

310:641-1-7. Definitions
The following words and terms, when used in this Chapter, shall have the following meaning, unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

"ACLS" means Advanced Cardiac Life Support.

"Act" means the "Oklahoma Emergency Response Systems Development Act".

"Advanced Emergency Medical Technician" means an AEMT as licensed pursuant to the Act or
this chapter.

"Advanced Life Support (ALS) Emergency Medical Services Training Program" means an
organization approved by the Department to conduct the following ALS training: Emergency Medical
Responder, Emergency Medical Responder Refresher, Emergency Medical Technician, Emergency
Medical Technician Refresher, Advanced Emergency Medical Technician, Advanced Emergency Medical
Technician Refresher, Intermediate Refresher, Paramedic, Paramedic Refresher, Continuing Education at
the Intermediate and Paramedic Levels, and such other courses of instruction that may be designated by the
Department.

"Agency'" means a Ground Ambulance Service, Specialty Care Ambulance Service, Stretcher Van
Service, Air Ambulance Service, or Emergency Medical Response Agency.

"AHA" means the American Heart Association.

""Ambulance" means any ground, air or water vehicle which is or should be approved by the
Commissioner of Health, designed and equipped to transport a patient or patients and to provide
appropriate on-scene and en route patient stabilization and care as required. Vehicles used as ambulances
shall meet such standards as may be required by the State Board of health for approval, and shall display
evidence of such approval at all times. [Title 63 O.S. Section 1-2503].

"Base Station" means a location from which an ambulance responds. The Base Station may
include the principle business office, living quarters for personnel training, and communication center.

"Basic Life Support (BLS) Emergency Medical Services Training Program' means an
organization approved by the Department to conduct the following BLS training: Emergency Medical
Responder, Emergency Medical Responder Refresher, Emergency Medical Technician Basic, Emergency
Medical Technician Basic Refresher, Continuing Education at the Emergency Medical Technician Basic
level, and such other courses of instruction that may be designated by the Department.

"BLS'" means Basic Life Support, and includes cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and
utilization of Semi-Automated Advisory Defibrillator (SAAD).

"Board' means the State Board of Health.

"Call Log" or "request for service log'" means a summary of all requests for service that an
agency receives, regardless of disposition.

"Call Received' means that a call has been received by an agency when enough information has
been received to begin responding to a request for service.

"Certificate' means any certification or certificate issued by the Department, pursuant to the Act
or this Chapter.



"Clinical Coordinator' means the individual designated in writing by a training program as
responsible for coordination and supervision of clinical experiences.

"Clinical Experience' means all supervised learning experiences required and included as part of
a training course in which the student provides or observes direct patient care. This includes vehicular
experiences with a licensed ambulance service.

"Council" means the Oklahoma Trauma and Emergency Response Advisory Council.

"Critical Care Paramedic" means an Oklahoma licensed Paramedic that has received additional
training to provide specialized care to patients during interfacility transfers and has provided his or her
registration information to the Department.

"Department" means the State Department of Health.

"Distance Learning" is instruction of didactic portions of curriculum which requires participation
of the instructor and students but does not require the students to be physically present in the same location
as the instructor.

"Distributive Education' means educational activity, in which the learner, the instructor, and the
educational materials are not all present in the same place at the same time, e.g., continuing education
activities that are offered on the Internet, via CD ROM or video, or through journal articles or audio tapes.

"Documents, Records, or Copies' means an electronic or paper copy maintained at the agency,
on units, or provided to receiving facilities.

"DOT" means the United States Department of Transportation.

"Division" means the Emergency Medical Services Division.

"Emergency' means the patient being treated or transported is in an immediate risk of dying or
losing a limb.

"Emergency Medical Dispatcher (EMD)" means a person trained using a Department-approved
curriculum for the management of calls for emergency medical care.

"Emergency Medical Personnel" means all certified and licensed personnel which provide
emergency medical care for an ambulance service.

"Emergency Medical Responder' means a person who has successfully completed a state-
approved course using the national standard Emergency Medical Responder curriculum and passed a
competency- based examination from a state approved testing agency such as the National Registry of
EMTs.

"Emergency Medical Response Agency" or "EMRA' means a person, company, or
governmental entity that will utilize certified or licensed emergency medical personnel to provide
emergency care but does not transport or transfer patients to a facility. The Department will provide two
types of certification.

(A) Pre-hospital EMRAs will operate as part of an Emergency Medical System, responding
to requests for service within a response area, supporting and being supported by a licensed
ambulance service.

(B) Event Stand-by EMRASs will operate or contract for on-site medical care at locations
that are open to the public or that will respond to the public. These types of EMRASs are
certified to standby at a location or site and provide medical care to the public.

"EMS" means Emergency Medical Services.

"Emergency Medical System' means a network of hospitals, different ambulance services, and
other healthcare providers that exist in the state.

"Emergency Medical Technician (EMT)" means an individual licensed by the Department as an
Emergency Medical Technician, formerly known as an EMT-B or Basic.

"Emergency transfer'" means the movement of an acutely ill or injured patient from the scene to a
health care facility (pre-hospital), or the movement of an acutely ill or injured patient from one health care
facility to another health care facility (interfacility).

"Emergency Vehicle Operators Course' means a course that is meant to improve existing
driving skills and familiarize an emergency vehicle operator or driver with the unique characteristics of
driving emergency vehicles.

"En route Time" means the elapsed time from the time the emergency call is received by the EMS
agency until the ambulance and complete crew is en route to the scene of the emergency.



"FDA Class One Device'" means a device that is not life-supporting or life-sustaining and does not
present a reasonable source of injury through normal usage. In the regulatory context, this applies to the
stretcher/gurney and its locking system within the unit or vehicle.

"First Aid" means help given to the sick or injured person until full medical treatment arrives or is
available. It is the initial response to an injury or illness, which can be given by a non-professional as soon
as a medical problem arises.

"Ground ambulance service' means an ambulance service licensed at the basic, intermediate,
advanced or paramedic life support level as provided in Subchapter 3. It does not mean a specialty care
service licensed pursuant to Subchapter 11 or a stretcher van service licensed pursuant to Subchapter 17.

"Initial Certification or Initial Licensure' means the first certification or license that an
applicant receives after an initial course, or the license or certification an applicant receives after the
previous license or certification expired.

"Intermediate' means an Emergency Medical Technician-Intermediate as licensed pursuant to the
Act or this chapter.

"Instructor' means a Department approved instructor that is certified to provide instruction at one
of three levels:

(A) Level 1 Instructors teach Emergency Medical Responder courses, refresher and
continuing education classes.

(B) Level 2 Instructors can teach all courses allowed for Level 1 Instructors, plus initial
certification and licensure courses.

(C) Level 3 instructors can teach all courses allowed for Level 1 and Level 2 instructors,
plus initial instructor courses, refresher courses, and instructor continuing education.

"Lapse in Medical Direction' means the Medical Director for an agency has not been accessible
to the agency for a period of time as detailed with the agency's policies and agreement.

"Lead Instructor' means the lead instructor based on accreditation requirements.

"License" means any license issued by the Department, pursuant to the Act or this Chapter.

"Licensed Service Area' means the contiguous geographical area identified in an initial
ambulance service application or in an amendment to an existing license. The geographic area is identified
by the application and supported with documents provided by the local governmental jurisdictions. For
ground ambulance services, this is the geographic area the ambulance service has a duty to act within.

""Medical Control Physician" or '""Medical Director' means the licensed physician (M.D. or
D.0O.) that authorizes certified or licensed emergency medical personnel to perform procedures and
interventions detailed in the agency's approved protocols.

"NHTSA" means National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

"National Registry'" means the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians (NREMT),
Columbus, Ohio.

"Non-emergency' means the patient being treated or transported is not in an immediate risk of
dying or a limb.

"Non-emergency transfer' means the movement of any patient in an ambulance other than an
emergency transfer.

"OKEMSIS" means Oklahoma Emergency Medical Services Information System.

"PALS" means Pediatric Advanced Life Support.

""Patient' means the person who requests assistance or the person for whom assistance is being
requested from an agency.

"Paramedic" means an individual licensed by the Department as a Paramedic, formerly known as
an EMT-P.

"PIC" means Pilot in Command.

"Post" means a location where an ambulance may be positioned for an unspecified period of time
while awaiting dispatch.

"Preceptor' means an individual with education, experience, and expertise in healthcare and
approved by a training program to supervise and provide instruction to EMS students during clinical
experiences.

"Program Administrator' means the individual designated in writing by a training program as
responsible for all aspects of EMS training.



"Program Coordinator" means the individual designated in writing by a training program as
responsible for all aspects of a specified course(s) or EMS program. This individual shall have at least two
(2) years experience of full-time equivalent employment as a healthcare practitioner.

"Protocols' means the medical treatment and transport guidelines or standing orders that an
agency uses when responding to requests for service. An agency's protocols will be approved by the
Department.

""Response time'' means the time from which a call is received by the EMS agency until the time
the ambulance and complete crew arrives at the scene, unless the call is scheduled in advance.

""State Interoperability Governing Body' or '""SIGB" means the formal group of public safety
officials from across the State working with the Oklahoma Office of Homeland Security to improve
communication interoperability.

"Semi-Automated Advisory Defibrillator'" or "SAAD" means a defibrillator that is part of the
Basic Life Support curriculum and is also known as Automated External Defibrillator (AED) and Semi-
Automated External Defibrillator (SAED).

"Specialty Care Transports'" or "SCT'" means interfacility transfers of critically ill or injured
patients by an agency with the provision of medically necessary supplies and equipment, above the level of
care of the Paramedic. SCT is necessary when a patient's condition requires ongoing care that must be
provided by one or more healthcare providers in an appropriate specialty area. Examples include
emergency or critical care nursing, emergency medicine, respiratory care, cardiovascular care, or a
Paramedic with additional training in IV infusions including vasopressors, vasoactive compounds,
antiarrhythmics, fibrinolytics, tocolytics, and/or any other parenteral pharmaceutical unique to the patient's
special health care needs or special monitors or procedures such as mechanical ventilation, multiple
monitors, cardiac balloon pump, external cardiac support (ventricular assist devices, etc.), or any other
specialized device or procedure outside the Paramedic scope of practice certified by the referring physician
as unique to the patient's health care needs.

"Statewide Ambulance coverage area" means a map of all ambulance response areas, maintained
by the Department.

""State Designated Resource Status Reporting and Communication Tool" means the electronic
system utilized to communicate in near real time status of the emergency medical system.

"Stretcher van' means any ground vehicle which is or should be approved by the State
Commissioner of Health, which is designed and equipped to transport individuals on a stretcher or gurney
type apparatus [Title 63 O.S. Section 1-2503 (25)].

"Stretcher van passenger' means any person who is or will be transported in a reclining position
on a stretcher or gurney, who is medically stable, nonemergent and does not require any medical
monitoring equipment or assistance during transport [Title 63 O.S. Section 1-2503 (26)].

"Substation' means a permanent structure where an ambulance(s) is/are stationed and available
for calls on a twenty-four (24) hour basis.

"Tax Hold" means an individual with an Oklahoma certification or license who is not in
compliance with Title 68 O.S. Section 238.1 and the Oklahoma Administrative Code 710:95-9 as it
pertains to professional licensing compliance.

"Title 47" means the Oklahoma Motor Vehicle statutes.

"Training" means that education which is received through training programs as authorized by
emergency medical services rule for training programs (Subchapter 7 of this Chapter).

"Training Manager" means an instructor or manager that provides or oversees the training that
occurs at an agency, such as continuing education or refresher courses.

"Transfer" means the movement of a patient in an ambulance.

"Trauma transfer and referral center' means an organization certified by the Department and
staffed and equipped for the purpose of directing trauma patient transfers within a region that consists of a
county with a population of three hundred thousand (300,000) or more and its contiguous communities,
and facilitating the transfer of trauma patients into and out of the region for definitive trauma care at
medical facilities that have the capacity and capability to appropriately care for the emergent medical
needs of the patient.

[Source: Amended at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]



310:641-1-8. Severance

If any part or section of this Chapter is found to be invalid and/or declared un-enforceable, then the
remaining parts or sections shall remain in effect.

[Source: Added at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]
PART 3. SPECIAL PROVISIONS [REVOKED]

310:641-1-10. Severance [REVOKED)]

[Source: Revoked at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]

310:641-1-11. Repealer [REVOKED]

[Source: Revoked at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-1-12. Effective date [ REVOKED)]

[Source: Revoked at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]
SUBCHAPTER 2. EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICE AGENCY APPLICATIONS
PART 1. SPECIAL PROVISIONS

310:641-2-1. Purpose
The rules of this Subchapter are promulgated to:
(1) incorporate the authorization and the minimum requirements for completing an application for
all certified and licensed emergency medical service agencies, and
(2) Provide standards for the enforcement of the "Oklahoma Emergency Response Systems
Development Act" and this Chapter.

[Source: Added at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eft 9-11-22]

310:641-2-2. Compliance required

All applications submitted pursuant to the Act shall comply with all appropriate Federal, State, and
local laws, providing such local law does not conflict with Federal or State law.

[Source: Added at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]

310:641-2-3. Certification or License required
(a) No person, company, governmental entity or trust authority shall operate, advertise, or hold themselves
out as providing any type of emergency medical service agency without first obtaining a certification or
license to operate from the Department. The Department shall have sole discretion to approve or deny an
application based on the ability of the applicant to meet the requirements of the Act or this chapter of rules.
(b) Persons, companies and governmental entities that respond to requests for service off private or
governmental property or premises are required to be certified or licensed by the Department. Entities that
limit the interventions and activities of their staff members to first aid, CPR, and the use of an AED are not
required to be a certified Emergency Medical Response Agency.
(1) Governmental entities not certified or licensed by the Department may be part of mutual aid
and disaster plans.
(2) Governmental entities may transport patients of governmental entities off governmental
property to appropriate facilities.
(3) Contractors for governmental entities that provide transport services shall be licensed by the
Department.
(c) Persons, companies, and governmental entities which operate on their own premises, are exempt from
certification and licensing requirement.
(d) An application for a certification or license shall be submitted on forms prescribed and provided by the
Department. Ground ambulance, air ambulance, an emergency medical response agency, stretcher van and



specialty care services shall each be considered a separate license.
(1) Specialty care licenses are statutorily limited to patient care and interventions above the
Paramedic scope of practice.
(2) Specialty Care applicants will declare in the application the type or types of specialty care and
patients that will be transported by the agency. The types of specialty care and patients may
include, but not be limited to:
(A) adult, pediatric, infant, neonatal, or a combination of age types,
(B) cardiac care, respiratory, neurological, septicemia, or other single or multi-system
complications or illnesses requiring specialized treatment during the transport of the
patient.
(3) Ground ambulance services are required to meet the duty to act requirements as described in 63
0O.S. § 1-2504.1.
(e) The application shall be signed under oath by the party or parties seeking to secure the license.
(f) The party or parties who sign the application shall be considered the owner or agent (licensee), and
responsible for compliance to the Act and this chapter.
(g) All applications shall contain, but not be limited to the following:
(1) a statement of ownership which shall include the name, address, telephone number, occupation
and/or other business activities of all owners or agents who shall be responsible for the service;
(A) If the owner is a partnership or corporation, a copy of incorporation documents and the
name of all partner(s) or stockholder(s) with an ownership interest of five (5%) percent or
more (principal), and the name and addresses of any other ambulance service in which any
partner or stockholder holds an interest shall also be included.
(B) If the owner is an entity of government, governmental trust, trust authority, or non-
profit corporation, the name of each board member, or the chief administrative officer
and/or chief operation officer shall be included.
(C) A business plan which includes a financial disclosure statement showing evidence of
the ability to sustain the operation for at least one (1) year.
(D) For purposes of unannounced inspections, the days and times the business office is
open.
(2) Agencies that use emergency vehicles as defined in Title 47 O.S. Section 103 shall show proof
of vehicle liability insurance, at least in the amount of one million dollars ($1,000,000.00) or to the
amount provided for in "The Governmental Tort Claims Act", Title 51 O.S. Section 151 et seq.
This insurance requirement shall remain in effect at all times while the service is licensed. Air
ambulances are to maintain aircraft liability insurance as required within Federal regulation.
(3) Proof of professional liability insurance, at least in the amount of one million dollars
($1,000,000) or to the amount provided for in "The Governmental Tort Claims Act," Title 51 O.S.
Section 151 et seq. This insurance requirement shall remain in effect at all times while the service
1s licensed;
(4) Proof of participation in a workers' compensation insurance program for employees who are
subject to pertinent labor laws. This insurance requirement shall remain in effect at all times while
the service is licensed;
(h) Ground Ambulance Services, Air Ambulances, Emergency Medical Response Agencies, and Specialty
Care agencies shall have medical control as prescribed by the Act and these rules and submit with the
application:
(1) a letter of agreement from the physician to provide medical direction and establish the protocols
and the scope of practice provided at the service;
(2) the physicians primary practice address or home address if the physician does not have a
practice and email address;
(3) For agencies providing care within the Intermediate, Advanced EMT, and Paramedic scope of
practice, submit an Oklahoma Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs (OBNDD) registrant
certification or number;
(4) a current Oklahoma medical license; and
(5) a curriculum vitae,
(1) a copy of any contract(s) for vehicles, medical equipment, and/or personnel, if such exist;



(j) Ground Ambulance Services, Air Ambulances, Emergency Medical Response Agencies, and Specialty
Care agencies shall submit a copy of patient care protocols and quality assurance plan or policy as required
by the medical director and as prescribed by the Act and this chapter;
(1) The Department may require quality assurance documentation for review and shall protect the
confidentiality of that information.
(2) The quality assurance documentation shall be maintained by the agency for three (3) years.
(3) The quality assurance policy shall include, but not be limited to:
(A) refusals,
(B) air ambulance utilization,
(C) airway management,
(D) cardiac arrest interventions,
(E) time sensitive medical and trauma cases,
(F) other selected patient care reports not specifically included , and
(G) how to provide internal and external feedback of findings determined through reviews.
Documentation of the feedback will be maintained as part of the quality assurance
documentation
(H) treatment protocols that expand beyond the published state protocols;
(k) Ground ambulance service and Pre-hospital emergency medical response agency applications are
required to submit documentation that supports agency licensure from the governmental authority (ies)
having jurisdiction over the proposed emergency response area. If the emergency response area
encompasses multiple jurisdictions, a written endorsement shall be presented from each. The ground
ambulance and prehospital emergency medical response agency application shall contain from each
endorsement the following;
(1) a map and written description of the endorsed or approved response area,
(2) name(s) and title(s) of the person(s) providing approval,
(3) any expiration date,
(4) name of the service receiving the endorsement.
(5) Ground ambulance service supporting documentation will be consistent with the County EMS
plan as required in 19 O.S. Section 1-1203.
(1) Pre-hospital emergency medical response agency applications shall include a letter of support or
agreement from a licensed ambulance service within the proposed emergency medical response service
area that includes:
(1) support of the application,
(2) support of the medical control physician choice, and
(3) plans or policies for supporting or participating in quality assurance activities.
(4) If an applicant is unable to provide a letter of support from a licensed ambulance service within
their proposed response area, the applicant can request an exemption. The Department has the
discretion to approve or deny the exemption request.
(m) Event standby emergency response agency applications will include the following restrictions and
requirements:
(1) if the applicant is providing care to the public on public property, then letters of governmental
support and documents verifying coordination with local ambulance services are required for that
agency to have the authority to provide care at that setting.
(2) if the agency is providing care to the public in a business or establishment open to the public on
private property, then letters of governmental support are not required.
(3) At all times, the standby event emergency medical response agency shall coordinate with other
licensed and certified EMS agencies responsible for the event location when the event is within a
licensed ambulance service area or approved area for prehospital emergency medical response
agencies.
(n) All emergency medical response agencies are prohibited from transporting patients
(o) Stretcher Van service applications will include the following restrictions and requirements:
(1) Stretcher Vans are prohibited from carrying medications other than oxygen and those other
medications which are passenger supplied and administered. The passenger must have a current



physician prescription and/or order for the administration of oxygen. A copy of the order shall be
maintained in agency files.
(2) Stretcher van applications will include a quality assurance process or policy that includes:
(A) The Department may require quality assurance documentation for review and shall
protect the confidentiality of that information.
(B) The quality assurance documentation shall be maintained by the agency for three (3)
years.
(C) Any passenger condition where the passenger entered the 911 system,
(D) If oxygen is continued, the physician order must be maintained with the trip report or
passenger report;
(E) areview other selected passenger reports not specifically included, and
(F) process to provide internal and external feedback of findings determined through
reviews. Documentation of the feedback will be maintained as part of the quality assurance
documentation.
(p) Stretcher Van Services are to submit the following with their application:
(1) A map or narrative description which identifies the proposed service area;
(2) evidence that the proposed service area is an emergency medical service region, ambulance
district, or county with a population in excess of five hundred thousand (500,000) people;
(q) Ground ambulance services will include a description of the proposed level of service in the proposed
licensed service area, including:
(1) a map defining the whole licensed service area including location(s) of base station,
substations, and posts;
(2) a description of the level of care to be provided;
(r) Ground Services, Air Ambulances, and prehospital emergency medical response agencies shall submit a
communication policy addressing:
(1) receiving and dispatching emergency and non-emergency calls;
(2) ensuring compliance with State and local EMS communication plans.
(s) Specialty Care Services and Stretcher Van services shall submit communication policy addressing the
screening process that ensures a request for service will meet the agency's capability, capacity, and
licensure requirements. Documentation of the screening will be retained as part of the patient care report or
call log.
(t) a response plan that includes:
(1) providing and receiving mutual aid with all surrounding, contiguous, or overlapping, licensed
service areas,
(2) providing for and receiving disaster assistance in accordance with local and regional plans and
command structures such as an incident command structure using national incident management
support models.
(u) confidentiality policy ensuring confidentiality of all documents and communications regarding
protected patient health information.
(v) For an initial or new ground ambulance service, air ambulance service, specialty care, and stretcher van
service license application, shall be accompanied by a non-refundable fee of six hundred ($600.00) dollars
plus twenty ($20.00) dollars for each vehicle, in excess of two (2) vehicles utilized for patient transport. An
additional fee of one hundred fifty ($150.00) dollars shall be included for each ambulance substation in
addition to the base station. An Emergency Medical Response Agency Application shall be accompanied
by a non-refundable fee of fifty ($50.00) dollars.
(w) All applicants except air ambulance services are required to show documentation of compliance with
any "Sole Source" Ordinance or Resolution. If an area of Oklahoma is being served by a licensed
ambulance service, or services, and the area has adopted "sole source" resolutions or ordinances or an
Emergency Services District as established pursuant to Article 10, Section 9 (¢) of the Oklahoma
Constitution, the Department shall require the approval of the community (ies) and/or the emergency
medical services authority of that service area, before an additional ambulance service shall be licensed for
that same service area.
(x) For all license applications, a business plan which includes a financial disclosure statement showing
evidence of the ability to sustain the operation for at least one (1) year is required to be submitted with the



application.

[Source: Added at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eft 9-11-22]
SUBCHAPTER 3. GROUND AMBULANCE SERVICE
PART 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS

310:641-3-1. Purpose
The rules of this Subchapter are promulgated to:
(1) incorporate the authorization, licensure, and the minimum requirements for operating a ground
ambulance service that responds to both pre-hospital and interfacility requests for service with
certified and licensed personnel at the Emergency Medical Technician, Intermediate, Advanced
Emergency Medical Technician, and Paramedic levels, and
(2) Provide standards for the enforcement of the "Oklahoma Emergency Response Systems
Development Act" and this Chapter.

[Source: Amended at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-3-2. Definitions [AMENDED AND RENUMBERED TO 310:641-1-7]

EDITOR’S NOTE: ' This emergency action expired without being superseded by a permanent action. Upon expiration of an emergency amendatory action,
the last prior permanent text is reinstated. Therefore, on 7-15-05 (after the 7-14-05 expiration of the emergency action), the text of 310:641-3-2 reverted
back to the permanent text that became effective 7-12-04, as was last published in the 2004 OAC Supplement, and remained as such until amended again
by permanent action on 6-25-06.

[Source: Amended and renumbered to 310:641-1-7 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eft 9-11-16]

EDITOR’S NOTE: ' This emergency action expired without being superseded by a permanent action. Upon
expiration of an emergency amendatory action, the last prior permanent text is reinstated. Therefore, on 7-15-05
(after the 7-14-05 expiration of the emergency action), the text of 310:641-3-2 reverted back to the permanent
text that became effective 7-12-04, as was last published in the 2004 OAC Supplement, and remained as such
until amended again by permanent action on 6-25-06.

310:641-3-3. Compliance required
All ambulance services licensed pursuant to the Act shall comply with all appropriate Federal,
State, and local laws, providing such local law does not conflict with Federal or State law.

[Source: Added at 17 Ok Reg 2948, eft 7-13-00]
PART 3. GROUND AMBULANCE SERVICES

310:641-3-10. License required [REVOKED]
[Source: Revoked at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]

310:641-3-11. Issuance of a ground ambulance license
(a) The Department shall have sole discretion to approve or deny an application for a ground ambulance
service license based on the ability of the applicant to meet the requirements of this subchapter.
(b) A license may be issued for Basic Life Support, Intermediate Life Support, Advanced Life Support, or
Paramedic Life Support.
(1) Basic life support means that the ambulance service vehicles are equipped with the minimum
basic equipment, and staffed with at least one EMT on each request for emergency medical
services.
(2) Intermediate life support means that the ambulance service vehicles are equipped with the
minimum intermediate equipment, and staffed with at least one Intermediate on each request for
emergency medical services, except as permitted in this subchapter.
(3) Advanced life support means that the ambulance service vehicles are equipped with the
minimum advanced EMT equipment and staffed with at least one Advanced EMT on each request



for service, except as permitted in this subchapter.

(4) Paramedic life support means that the ambulance service vehicles are equipped with the

minimum paramedic equipment, and staffed with at least one EMT-P on each request for

emergency medical services, except as permitted in this subchapter.
(c) The license shall be issued only for the name, service area (area of coverage), level, and type of service
given in the application.
(d) The license is not transferable or assignable.
(e) The initial license period shall expire the second June 30, following the date of issue. Subsequent
renewal periods shall be twenty-four (24) months, or two (2) years.
(f) A temporary license, not to exceed one hundred twenty (120) days and for one (1) time only, may be
issued at the sole discretion of the Department. to an applicant that substantially meets all requirements of
the application. Factors that may also be considered include:

(1) an area of Oklahoma that may otherwise be without ambulance service;

(2) the safety, need, and well-being of the public and general populace to be served by the

ambulance service;

(3) availability of personnel in the area and equipment of the ambulance service;

(4) financial ability of the applicant to meet the minimum standards of emergency medical services

law;

(5) the number of estimated runs to be made by the ambulance service;

(6) the desire of the community(ies) to be served.
(g) The original, or a copy of the original, license shall be posted in a conspicuous place in the principal
business office. If an office, or other public place is not available, then the license shall be available to
anyone requesting to see the license, during regular business hours. A copy of the license shall beprovided
to the governmental agency(ies) providing a letter of support.
(h) A licensed ambulance service may request a voluntary downgrade of its ambulance service license to
certification as Emergency Medical Response Agency. The Department shall verify that the agency can
maintain the requirements for Emergency Medical Response Agency Certification. No fee shall be required
for such a downgrade.
(1) The Department shall have the authority to upgrade or downgrade an Intermediate, Advanced or
Paramedic life support ambulance provider's license upon evidence that the license no longer meets
existing license requirements for that level of care.

(1) Under no circumstance shall a downgrade be for less than basic life support.

(2) The service must continue to use approved protocols at the lower license level.

(3) The service must continue to provide care under appropriate medical direction.

(4) A fee of fifty ($50.00) dollars shall be required for reinstatement.

[Source: Amended at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-3-12. Renewal of a ground ambulance license
The Department shall provide to all licensed ground ambulance services a "Survey/Renewal Form"
each December. This form shall be considered and utilized as a renewal application, if due. The
"Survey/Renewal Form" along with proof of current workers' compensation and liability insurance shall be
returned to the Department by January 31 each year.
(1) Upon receipt of a complete and correct renewal application, a renewal fee statement shall be
mailed by the Department to each licensee in need of renewal.
(2) A non-refundable fee for the renewal of an ambulance service license shall be one hundred
dollars ($100.00), fifty dollars ($50.00) for each substation, plus twenty dollars ($20.00) for each
vehicle in excess of two (2).
(3) An ambulance service license shall be renewed if:
(A) The ambulance service has applied for such renewal;
(B) The ambulance service has no outstanding deficiencies or is in need of correction as
may be identified during inspection of the service, and;
(C) The proper fee has been received by the Department.



(4) An ambulance service license, if not renewed by midnight June 30 of the expiration year, shall
be considered non-renewed.
(A) A grace period of thirty (30) days is permitted under 63 O.S. Section 1-1702.
(B) Thereafter a new application shall be required for the continuation of any such license,
and the applicant shall be subject to initial application procedures. An extension may be
granted by the Department for the purpose of renewal, subject to a determination by the
Department of the following:
(1) The safety, need, and well-being of the public and general populace to be served
by the ambulance service;
(i1) The availability of personnel, equipment, and the financial ability of the
applicant to meet the minimum standards of emergency medical services law;
(ii1) The desire of the community(ies) to be served.

[Source: Amended at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-3-13. Denial of an initial or renewal license
(a) An application may be denied for any of the following reasons:
(1) A felony conviction, adjudication, or plea of guilty or nolo contendere of any person, member
of the firm, partnership, corporation, or the person designated to supervise the service; to include,
but not be limited to, fraud, grand larceny, child abuse, sexual offense(s), drug offense(s), or a
conviction, adjudication, or plea of guilty or nolo contendere which might otherwise have a bearing
on the operation of the service;
(2) insufficient number of personnel to properly staff one vehicle on a twenty four (24) hour basis
at the highest level of the service license.
(b) An applicant shall be notified in writing within sixty (60) days, from the date the Department receives a
complete application, of the granting or denial of a license. In the event of a denial, the specific reason(s)
shall be noted, and an indication of the corrective action necessary to obtain a license or renewal shall be
given, if applicable. A license application may be re-submitted, but each re-submission shall be considered
an initial application.

[Source: Amended at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-3-13.1. Denial of an application for renewal of license
(a) A license application for renewal may be denied for any of the following:
(1) the failure to meet standards set forth by statute or rule,
(2) a felony conviction, adjudication, or plea of guilty or nolo contendere of any person, member of
the firm, partnership, corporation, or the person designated to manage the service to include, but
not limited to fraud, grand larceny, child abuse, sexual offense(s), or a conviction, adjudication, or
plea of guilty or nolo contendere which might otherwise have a bearing on the operation of the
service,
(3) insufficient number of personnel to properly staff one vehicle on a twenty-four (24) hour basis
at the licensure level,
(4) outstanding notice of violation that has not been addressed with an acceptable plan of
correction,
(5) insufficient financial resources,
(6) falsification of Department required information,
(7) ownership, management, or administration by principals of an entity whose ambulance service
license has been revoked,
(8) re-licensure may not be in the best interest of the public as determined by the Department,
(9) revocation or denial of a governmental letter of support as required in 310:641-3-10.
(b) An applicant shall be notified in writing within sixty (60) days from the date the Department receives a
complete renewal application of the granting or denial of a renewed license. In the event of a denial, the
specific reason(s) shall be noted, and an indication of the corrective action necessary to obtain a renewed



license shall be given, if applicable. A license application may be resubmitted, but each re-submission shall
be considered an initial application.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-3-14. Severance of action, amendment, and re-instatement

(a) The issuance or renewal of a license after notice of a violation(s) has/have been given, shall not
constitute a waiver by the Department of its power to rely on the violation(s) for subsequent license
revocation or other enforcement action which may arise out of the notice of the violation(s).

(b) Any change in the name of the service, level, service area, addition of substation, or type of service
shall necessitate an application to amend the license and shall be accompanied by a fee of one hundred
dollars ($100.00).

(c) Addition of a substation that expands the service area shall comply with 310:641-3-11.

(d) Changing or moving the location of a substation requires written notification to the Department.

(e) If an existing license is placed on probation or suspension, a fee of one hundred ($100.00) dollars, in
addition to any other provision of the action, shall be submitted prior to re-instatement of the license to full
privilege

[Source: Amended at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-3-15. Ground ambulance service - personnel staffing
(a) Each licensed ground ambulance service shall be staffed and available to respond to any request for
service within the primary service area twenty-four (24) hours per day.
(b) Each ground ambulance service shall have on staff an adequate number of emergency medical
personnel and a sufficient number of ambulances available in order to be en route to 90% of all emergency
calls within five (5) minutes of the time the call is received in dispatch at the highest level of care for
which the service is licensed.
(1) The request for emergency medical services shall be considered "received in dispatch" as soon
as the licensed agency receives sufficient information to allow an appropriate response, i.e.,
location of the emergency and nature of the call.
(2) Staff licensed below the level of the ambulance service may be utilized provided one or more of
the following conditions have been met:
(A) The request for service has been screened by a Department approved emergency
medical dispatch system, or
(B) The patient is to be transported from a higher to a lower level of care, or
(C) The transport is approved in writing by the transferring physician at a specified lower
level of care and scheduled in advance.
(D) An agency that screens emergency calls through an emergency medical prioritization
program shall establish en route times for the priority levels established by the agency. The
en route times established by the agency shall be included in the agency's policy and/or
procedure manual.
(c) Under no circumstance during the transport of an ambulance patient shall the attendant be less than a
licensed emergency medical technician.
(d) In addition to the requirement of licensed emergency medical technicians, each ground ambulance
service shall have drivers who, at a minimum, are certified as an Emergency Medical Responder. All
drivers of a ground ambulance service shall successfully complete an emergency vehicle operator course
approved by the Department within 120 days of employment. Emergency vehicle operators shall
successfully complete a refresher course approved by the Department every two (2) years.
(e) In a unique and unexpected circumstance, including a disaster, the minimum driver requirement may be
altered to facilitate a transport of an ambulance patient. The attendant, who is in charge of the vehicle
while a patient is on board, may request a law enforcement officer or a firefighter, familiar with the
operation of an authorized emergency vehicle, to drive the vehicle. If this option is utilized, a written report
of the circumstances, reason, and any other pertinent information regarding the call shall be forwarded to
the Division within ten (10) working days. Abuse and/or re-occurring incidents of this nature shall require



a reassessment of the service's staff and staffing patterns. The service may be required to obtain additional
personnel or other action by the Department may result.
(f) Only emergency personnel authorized by this Act, except for a physician, shall be utilized by an
ambulance service for pre-hospital, or on-scene, patient care and transport. In some cases, involving inter-
hospital transfer of an ambulance patient(s), a physician, physician assistant (PA), nurse practitioner,
respiratory care practitioner, registered nurse, or licensed practical nurse may be required to assist the
emergency medical technician because the medical care required exceeds the level of the ambulance
service personnel. If this option is utilized, written orders by a physician and/or documentation of orders
given via radio or telephone contact with a physician, shall become a part of the ambulance patient run
report.
(g) Each agency will maintain training records demonstrating competency in medical skills and
interventions, patient handling, and emergency vehicle operations for all personnel utilized by the agency.
(h) An agency that is unable to fulfill the twenty-four (24) hours staffing requirement may contract with
another ground ambulance service to provide personnel to meet the staffing requirement. Contracts will
contain but not be limited to the following information:
(1) how and from what location personnel will respond,
(2) procedure for notifying the contractor that personnel are needed;
(3) communication policy to ensure coverage is in place for the licensed service area;
(4) contingency plan for system overload;
(5) copies of contracts will be provided to the Department as part of application requirements in
310:641-3-10;
(6) scope of practice and protocol requirements for the contractual response; and
(7) emergency plan in the event a contracted service is unable to respond within the contracted
requirements, and how the request for service will be answered.
(1) An agency may enter into a contract or other memorandum of agreement with a non-transport agency or
entity that is not a certified emergency medical response agency. The purpose of this contract or agreement
is to improve emergency medical system responses. The agreement is to allow for interested individuals,
who are certified and/or licensed by the Department, at the non-transport agency to respond with ground
ambulance services using non-transport agency equipment. The result will be for these individuals to serve
as an extension of the ambulance service through the contract or agreement.
(1) The Contract or Memorandum of Agreement will address the following topics:
(A) Name of the non-certified Emergency Medical Response Agency;
(B) The specific vehicles and equipment to be used by the personnel for ambulance service
responses;
(C) the parties that supply or maintain the supplies and equipment;
(D) communication arrangements.
(2) The personnel will be authorized to perform procedures under the ambulance services medical
director. The ambulance service medical director will establish the scope of practice for the non-
transport agency personnel.
(3) The ambulance service will be responsible for all quality assurance activities.

[Source: Amended at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]
PART 5. GROUND TRANSPORT VEHICLES

310:641-3-20. Ground ambulance vehicles
(a) An ambulance manufactured prior to January 1, 2021 shall meet or exceed the standards established in
the U.S. General Services Administration Federal Specification for the Star-of-Life Ambulance (GSA
KKK-A-1822) in effect on November 1, 1994.
(b) A new or remounted production ground ambulance that is ordered or purchased after January 1, 2021
shall comply fully with the ambulance design criteria in either:
(1) The Commission on Accreditation of Ambulance Services Ground Vehicle Standard for
Ambulances (GVS), effective July 1, 2019. A decal or letter of verification from the manufacturer
certifying that the vehicle meets the GVS standard, if ordered after January 1, 2021, shall be made
available upon inspection; or



(2) The National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) 1917 Standard for Automotive Ambulances -
2019 Edition. A decal or letter of verification from the manufacturer certifying that the vehicle
meets the NFPA standard, if ordered after January 1, 2021, shall be made available upon
inspection;
(c) Additionally, each ground ambulance service vehicle purchased or ordered after January 1, 2021 will
meet the following requirements:
(1) the business name, or acceptable legal abbreviation of the name of the service shall be placed
on each side and the rear of the vehicle, and shall be at least three (3") inch high letters,
(2) A minimum of one Star of Life emblem that is a minimum of three (3) inches in diameter shall
be placed on the front, sides, and rear of the vehicle.
(3) The word "Ambulance", "Emergency Medical Services", "EMS", or licensure level shall be on
the sides and rear of the vehicle in at least three (3) inch high letters. If nomenclature is placed on a
vehicle relating to a license level as defined in 63 O.S. § 1-2503, the nomenclature must reflect the
agency license level of the agency operating the vehicle.
(4) Ambulance vehicles shall be exempt from the sections of GVS and NFPA specifications which
specify color, emblems, and markings except for (c) of this sub-chapter.
(d) If while waiting delivery of a new, remounted, or refurbished vehicle, a manufacturer or dealer
provides a service with a vehicle on a temporary loan or lease, such temporarily loaned or leased vehicle
shall comply with specification KKK-A-1822 in effect at the time of manufacture and shall be inspected
and permitted by the Department prior to utilization as an ambulance.
(e) A vehicle may not be permitted by the Department as an ambulance prior to the submission and
approval of all required documentation, fees, and a Department inspection.
(f) The purchaser of any vehicle that is not compliant with this section shall be responsible for corrective
action.
(g) A decal, notice, or other documentation showing the ambulance meets the manufacturing standard at
the time of manufacture will be affixed to the vehicle.
(h) Ambulances purchased after January 1, 2021 by Federal healthcare systems such as Department of
Defense or Indian Health Services shall meet one of the following standards:
(1) The Commission on Accreditation of Ambulance Services Ground Vehicle Standard for
Ambulances (GVS), effective July 1, 2019. A decal or letter of verification from the manufacturer
certifying that the vehicle meets the GVS standard, if ordered after January 1, 2021, shall be made
available upon inspection ;
(2) The National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) 1917 Standard for Automotive Ambulances -
2019 Editions. A decal or letter of verification from the manufacturer certifying that the vehicle
meets the NFPA standard, if ordered after January 1, 2021, shall be made available upon
ispection; or
(3) U.S. General Services Administration Federal Specification for the Star-of-Life Ambulance
(GSA KKK-A-1822) Version F with change orders 1 through 10.

[Source: Amended at 37 Ok Reg 1423, eff 9-11-20]

310:641-3-21. Ground transport vehicles currently in use [REVOKED]
[Source: Revoked at 17 Ok Reg 2948, eff 7-13-00]

310:641-3-22. General provisions for ground transport vehicles

(a) Authorized emergency vehicles of licensed ambulance services shall comply at all times with the
applicable requirements of Title 47, the Oklahoma Motor Vehicle Code to include audio and visual
warning indicators.

(b) Authorized emergency vehicles of licensed ambulance services shall be in good mechanical and
serviceable condition at all times, so as not to be hazardous to the patient(s) or crewmembers. If, in the
determination of the Department, a vehicle does not meet this requirement, it may be removed from service
until repairs are made.



(c) Authorized emergency vehicles of licensed ambulance services shall be tested for interior carbon
monoxide, in a manner acceptable to the Department. Carbon monoxide levels of more than ten parts per
million (10ppm) shall be considered in excess, and shall render the vehicle "out of compliance.". Vehicles
shall be removed from service if carbon monoxide levels exceed fifty parts per million (50ppm)until
repairs are made to reduce the amounts of carbon monoxide below ten parts per million (10ppm).
(d) Authorized emergency vehicles of licensed ambulance services utilized for the provision of patient care
shall be equipped with communication equipment (such as two-way radio using VHF frequency 155.3400)
which shall provide voice contact with the emergency departments of licensed hospitals. Acceptable
frequencies shall be approved and consistent with the, Statewide Interoperability Governing Board
communication plan, as adopted under the rules of the Federal Communications Commission (FCC). No
paging shall be allowed on these designated medical frequencies. Encoder numbers for Oklahoma
hospitals, and approval of frequencies may be obtained by contacting the Division.
(e) Authorized emergency vehicles of licensed ambulance services shall have a permit and/or inspection
decal affixed by the Department. These decals shall be placed in the lower left corner of a rear window
unless it shall be impossible or impractical to utilize this area.
(f) The following permit classifications of vehicle permits shall be recognized as authorized emergency
vehicles of ambulance services:
(1) "Temporary Permit" may be affixed by the agency and will be valid for ten (10) business days.
The temporary permit will be sent to the agency by the Department in the event the vehicle cannot
be inspected by Department personnel within three (3) days of the Department receiving
notification that a vehicle is ready for inspection.
(A) To receive a temporary permit, the agency will send to the Department:
(1) a Department inspection form completed by an agency representative,
(i1) pictures of the interior and exterior of the vehicle,
(iii) copies or pictures of the vehicle tag,
(iv) copies or pictures of the insurance verification
(B) Upon approval of the documentation, a temporary permit will be sent to the agency.
(C) Prior to the expiration of the temporary permit, the agency will make arrangements
with the Department to ensure a complete inspection is conducted by the Department for
the purpose of affixing a class "A" permit to the vehicle.
(2) Class "A" permit shall be affixed to an ambulance in compliance with all applicable standards.
Emergency and non-emergency ambulance patients may be transported in class "A" ambulances.
(3) Class "B" permit shall be affixed to an ambulance in compliance with manufacturing,
communication, safety, and Title 47 of Oklahoma Statutes requirements. Class "B" vehicles shall
have the required medical equipment on board when placed in-service to respond to emergency
calls or transport any ambulance patients.
(4) Class "E" permit shall be affixed to other vehicles owned or operated by a licensed ambulance
service and utilized in provision of emergency medical services. Ambulance patients shall not be
transported on the public streets or highways in a class "E" vehicle. A list of patient care equipment
that is carried on class "E" units will be part of the agency's standard operating procedure or
guideline manuals.
(5) The licensee shall notify the Department in writing on forms provided by the Department prior
to placing a substitute (not a new vehicle purchase or part of a lease or loan from a dealer) vehicle
into operation. A substitute vehicle may operate up to 5 days in temporary service provided it is
available for inspection.
(g) When a vehicle is sold or removed from service, the agency will notify the Department on a
Department form detailing the agency and unit identifiers, remove the permit, and return the form and
permit to the Department within thirty (30) days.
(h) A vehicle with any of the following deficiencies or malfunctions may not be used for any patient
transports:
(1) inadequate sanitation, including the presence of contamination by blood and or bodily fluids;
(2) inoperable heater or air conditioner as detailed within the vehicle manufacturing standards and
specifications;
(3) inoperable AED or defibrillator;



(4) tires that do not meet Title 47 O.S. Section 12-405;

(5) inoperable emergency lighting and or siren;

(6) inoperable oxygen system or less than 200 psi in onboard oxygen system,;

(7) both portable and vehicle suction apparatus are inoperable;

(8) carbon monoxide levels greater than fifty (50) parts per million;

(9) lapse of vehicle liability insurance;

(10) lapse of worker compensation insurance;

(11) inability to affix a class "A" or "B" permit on an existing permitted vehicle;

(12) vehicle that does not comply with statutory safety equipment found in Title 47.
(1) If such violation is not or cannot be corrected immediately, any affected vehicle shall be removed from
service and the ambulance permit shall be removed until such time as the vehicle is compliant and has been
re- inspected and permitted by the Department.
(J) Any patient care equipment and supplies that is/are carried on an ambulance that is/are not on the
approved equipment list will need Department approval through the protocol approval process.
(k) All lighting, both interior and exterior, shall be fully operational, including lens caps.
(1) All designated seating positions in the patient compartment shall be equipped with functioning safety
restraint systems appropriate for each type of seating configuration.
(m) All oxygen tanks, (portable and onboard) shall be secured within brackets compliant with the
ambulance's manufacture standard.
(n) Each vehicle shall not have any structural or functional defects that may adversely affect the patient,
personnel, or the safe operation of the vehicle to include windshield wipers, steering systems, brakes,
seatbelts, and interior or exterior compartment doors and latches.
(o) Each permitted vehicle shall have an accessible copy (electronic or paper) of the agency's approved
protocols.

[Source: Amended at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-3-23. Equipment for ground ambulance vehicles
(a) The tampering, modification, or removal of the manufacturer's expiration date is prohibited.
(b) Licensed ambulance services shall ensure that all recalled, outdated, misbranded, adulterated,
deteriorated fluids, supplies, and medications are removed from ambulances immediately.
(c) The medical control physician will authorize all equipment and medications placed on the units for
patient care.
(1) The authorized equipment and medications will be detailed on a unit checklist and will match
the equipment and supplies with defined minimums needed to treat patients in the manner detailed
in the agency approved protocols. The checklist will also meet the requirements described in the
ambulance file section of this subchapter.
(2) The medications authorized by the medical director will be detailed on the unit checklist will
include the number, weight, and volume of the medication containers.
(3) An electronic or paper copy of patient care protocols will be on each in-service ambulance.
(d) Each ground ambulance service vehicle shall carry:
(1) airway and breathing equipment and supplies, to include:
(A) a pulse oximetry device with pediatric and adult capability.
(B) a functioning portable suction apparatus with wide-bore tubing (1/4"), and rigid and
soft suction catheters for adults, children, and infants, as detailed by agency protocols in
addition to the vehicle mounted suction unit.
(C) One (1) bulb syringe, with saline drops, sterile, in addition to any bulb syringes in
obstetric kits.
(D) a minimum of two (2) each, single use adult, pediatric, and infant bag-valve mask
resuscitators with an adult, child, and infant clear masks.
(E) oropharyngeal airways set or a minimum of two (2) of each size for adult, child, and
infant individually wrapped for sanitation purposes. Nasopharyngeal airways are optional.
(F) a portable ventilator as directed by the agency medical director and approved protocols.
(G) wall mounted oxygen set with variable flow regulators and adequate tubing.



(H) portable oxygen cylinder and regulator with a spare oxygen cylinder appropriately
secured.
(I) a minimum of two (2) each adult, child, and infant sized oxygen masks.
(J) a minimum of two (2) adult nasal cannulas.
(K) a nebulizer; adult and pediatric, sizes per local protocols.
(2) Bandaging materials to include:
(A) two (2) burn sheets; clean, wrapped, and marked in a plastic bag.
(B) fifty (50) sterile 4"x4" dressings.
(C) six (6) sterile 6"x8" or 8"x10" dressings.
(D) ten (10) roller bandages, 2" or larger, such as kerlix, kling, or equivalent.
(E) four (4) rolls of tape (minimum of one (1) inch width).
(F) four (4) sterile occlusive dressings, 3" x 8" or larger.
(G) four (4) triangular bandages.
(H) one (1) pair of bandage scissors must be on the ambulance or on the on-duty personnel.
(3) Fracture immobilization devices, to include:
(A) one (1) adult and one (1) pediatric traction splint or equivalent device capable of adult
and pediatric application.
(B) two (2) upper and two (2) lower extremity splints in adult and pediatric sizes.
(C) short spine board or vest type immobilizer, including straps and accessories as
described within agency protocols.
(D) two (2)adult and one (1) pediatric size long spine board including straps and head
immobilization devices(s), as described within the agency protocols.
(E) two (2) rigid or adjustable extrication collars in large, medium, small adult sizes, and
pediatric sizes for children ages 2 years or older, and one (1) infant collar, as described
within the agency protocols. Collars shall not be foam or fiber filled.
(4) Miscellaneous medical equipment, to include:
(A) one (1) infant, one (1) child, two (2) adult, and one (1) extra-large blood pressure cuffs.
(B) stethoscope, one (1) adult and one (1) pediatric size.
(C) obstetrical kit, with towels, 4"x4" dressing, umbilical tape, bulb syringe, cord cutting
device, clamps, sterile gloves, aluminum foil, and blanket.
(D) universal communicable disease precaution equipment including gloves, mask,
goggles, gown, and other universal precautions.
(E) blood-glucose measurement equipment per medical direction.
(F) CPAP per medical direction.
(G) Semi-automatic advisory defibrillator (SAAD) with adult and pediatric capability.
(5) Other mandatory equipment, to include:
(A) Two (2) appropriately labeled or designated waste receptacles for:
(1) waste that is contaminated by bodily fluids or potentially hazardous or infectious
waste, and,
(i1) waste that does not present a biological hazard, such as plastic and paper
products that are not contaminated.
(B) one (1) flexible, portable, soft stretcher for confined space and extrication as approved
by medical direction.
(C) two way radio communication equipment as detailed in this Chapter and through the
Statewide Interoperability Governing Body utilizing VHF frequency 155.3400.
(D) one (1) sturdy, lightweight, all-level cot for the primary patient and mounting cot
fastener and/or anchorage assembly that is compliant with the vehicle manufacturing
standards in place at the time of purchase.
(E) at least three (3) strap type restraining devices (chest, hip, and knee), and compliant
shoulder harness shall be provided per stretcher, cot, and litter (not less than two (2")
inches wide, nylon,easily removable for cleaning, two (2) piece assembly with quick
release buckles).
(F) electronic or paper patient care reports.



(G) two (2) fire extinguishers one (1) in the cab of the unit, and one (1) in the patient
compartment of the vehicle. Each mounted in a manner that allows for quick release and is
compliant with the ambulance manufactures standards. Each extinguisher is to be dry
powder, ABC, and a minimum of five (5#) pounds.
(H) two (2) operable flashlights.
(D) all ambulance equipment and supplies shall be maintained in accordance with the
sanitation requirements in this subchapter. Additionally, sterility shall be maintained on all
sterile packaged items.
(J) digital or strip type thermometer and single use probes.
(K) six (6) instant cold packs.
(L) one (1) length/weight based drug dose chart or tape.
(M) a minimum of two (2) DOT approved reflective vests.
(N) one (1) pair of binoculars.
(O) a current copy of the emergency response guide, electronic or paper format.
(P) As approved by local medical direction, a child restraint system or equipment for
transporting pediatric patients.
(e) Intermediate equipment, in addition to the basic equipment, intermediate licensed service ambulance
vehicles shall carry:
(1) intravenous administration equipment in a sufficient quantity to treat multiple patients requiring
this level of care, including intravenous catheters 14 to 24 gauge, six (6) each.
(2) interosseous needles, two (2) each for adult and pediatric patients, and associated
administration equipment if approved by local medical control.
(3) appropriate quantities of sterile fluid as approved by local medical control.
(4) adequate advanced airway equipment per medical control;
(A) endotracheal tubes, two (2) sets of cuffed 2.5 to 8.0, as permitted and approved by local
medical control. Uncuffed endotracheal tubes are optional, based on medical director
approval.
(B) supraglottic airway devices to be used as a primary or secondary airway intervention,
as approved by medical control.
(C) Laryngoscope handle with extra batteries and bulbs with blade sizes and styles as
approved by local medical control.
(5) blood sampling equipment if approved by medical control.
(6) one (1) Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) approved sharps container.
(7) magill forceps one (1) pediatric and one (1) adult size, individually wrapped.
(8) continuous waveform capnography required for use in endotracheal intubation and specific
supraglottic airway devices.
(f) Advanced Emergency Medical Technician equipment, in addition to the required equipment for the
EMT and the Intermediate, will carry:
(1) medication that is permitted within the AEMT scope of practice and as approved by the medical
control physician;
(2) equipment and supplies that are permitted within the AEMT scope of practice and approved by
the medical control physician.
(g) Paramedic equipment, in addition to the required EMT, Intermediate, and AEMT equipment, the
Paramedic level ambulance will carry:
(1) cardiac monitor/defibrillator with printout, and appropriate pads, paddles, leads and/or
electrodes (adult and pediatric). Telemetry capability is optional.
(2) medication with quantities to be carried on each ambulance as detailed in the formulary of
agency approved protocols.
(3) nasogastric tubes; two (2) each 8 french to 16 french, in accordance with medical control
authorization.
(h) All ambulance vehicles, regardless of licensure level or level of care provided, shall carry:
(1) three (3) reflectors (triangular) or battery powered warning lights;
(2) two (2) OSHA approved hard hats, with goggles or face shield;
(3) two (2) pair of heavy work gloves; and



(4) one (1) spring-loaded window punch or other tool that may be used to access a patient through
a window.
(1) All ambulance services shall have sufficient and appropriate rescue equipment to gain access to patients
either on board the ambulance or provided through an extrication agreement with a rescue department or
team.
(j) All assessment and medical equipment utilized for patient care will be maintained in accordance with
the manufacturer's guidelines. Documentation will be maintained at the agency showing that periodic tests,
maintenance, and calibration are being conducted in accordance with the manufactures requirements.
These types of equipment include, but are not limited to, gurneys or stretchers, suction devices, pulse
oximetry, glucometers, capnography monitors, end-tidal co2 monitors, CPAP/BiPAP devices, ventilators,
and blood pressure monitors.

[Source: Amended at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]

310:641-3-24. Medical control requirement
(a) Each Oklahoma licensed ambulance service that initiates and responds to calls within the state shall
have a physician medical director who is fully licensed, non-restricted Doctor of Medicine (M.D.) or a
Doctor of Osteopathy (D.O.) by the State of Oklahoma.
(b) Each licensed ambulance service will have a plan or policy that will address a sudden lapse of medical
direction, such as a back-up or reserve medical director, which is used to ensure coverage when a medical
director is not available.
(1) The Department shall be notified the next business day of any lapse or change of medical
direction by the respective agency. If the agency has made arrangements for a back-up medical
director or an immediate replacement, then a lapse has not occurred.
(2) In the event of a lapse in medical direction; in that, there is not a medical director providing the
authority for medical interventions for an agency's certified and licensed personnel, the agency
will, pursuant to 63 O.S. Section 1-2506 relating to the medical authority to perform medical
procedures:
(A) cease all operations involving patient care,
(B) implement mutual aid plans to ensure requests for service receive responses until the
agency is able to implement their plan or policy for substitution or back-up medical
direction.
(c) An agency that only provides care within the Basic Life Support scope of practice, the medical director
shall:
(1) hold a valid, non-restricted medical license,
(2) not be restricted from obtaining or maintaining OBNDD and DEA registrations for controlled
dangerous substances,
(3) demonstrate appropriate training and experience in adult and pediatric emergency care.
Demonstrated training and experience may include appropriate board training, basic life support, or
pre-hospital trauma life support courses.
(d) An agency that provides Intermediate, Advanced, or Paramedic level interventions by individual
protocols or licensure level, the medical director shall:
(1) hold a valid, non-restricted medical license,
(2) maintain current OBNDD and DEA registrations for controlled dangerous substances,
(3) demonstrate appropriate training and competence in adult and pediatric emergency medical
services, to include pediatric and adult trauma. Demonstrated training and experience may include
completed residency training as well as relevant work experience with current clinical competency.
(e) The physician medical director of a ground ambulance based in another state shall not be required to be
licensed to practice in the State of Oklahoma, but shall be fully licensed in good standing in the home state
of that ground ambulance service. Otherwise, the medical director will meet EMS Medical Director
requirements listed in this subchapter.
(f) The physician medical director for an ambulance service operated by the federal government shall be
fully licensed in good standing in Oklahoma or another state. If not licensed in Oklahoma, the physician



shall be actively employed by the federal agency responsible for the operation of the ambulance service or
emergency medical response agency.
(g) The physician director shall:
(1) be accessible, knowledgeable, and actively involved in quality assurance and the educational
activities of the agency's personnel and supervise a quality assurance (QA) program. The
appointment of a designee to assist in QA and educational activities does not absolve the medical
director of their responsibility for providing oversight;
(2) provide a written statement to the Department, which includes:
(A) an agreement to provide medical direction and establish treatment protocols and the
agency specific scope of practice for all certified and licensed agency personnel;
(B) the physician's primary practice address or home address if the physician does not have
a practice, as well as contact information such as a phone number and email address(es);
(C) the current OBNDD registrant number or state equivalent, as appropriate;
(D) current Oklahoma medical license;
(E) on-line and/or off line specific licensure level medical protocols with medication
formulary for patient care techniques. Protocols shall include medication to be used,
treatment modalities for patient care procedures, and appropriate security procedures for
controlled dangerous substances;
(3) Attend or demonstrate participation in:
(A) medical director training provided by the Department subject to the availability of
funding. Verification of attendance or participation will be maintained at the agency;
(B) one hour of continuing education each year specific to providing medical oversight to
EMS providers and agencies each year, provided by the Department subject to the
availability of funding.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-3-25. Sanitation requirements
(a) The following shall apply regarding sanitation standards for all ambulance services facilities, vehicles,
and personnel:
(1) the interior of the vehicle and the equipment within the vehicle shall be sanitary, secured and
maintained in good working order, at all times;
(2) the exterior of the vehicle shall be clean and maintained in good working order to ensure the
vehicle can operate safely and in accordance with applicable sections of Title 47 of the Oklahoma
Statutes;
(3) linen shall be changed after each patient is transported and bagged and stored in an outside or
separate compartment;
(4) clean linen, blankets, washcloths, and hand-towels shall be stored in a closed interior cabinet
free of dirt and debris;
(5) freshly laundered linen or disposable linen shall be used on the cots and pillows and changed
between patients;
(6) pillows and mattresses shall be kept clean and in good repair, and any repairs made to pillows,
mattresses, and padded seats shall be permanent;
(7) soiled linen shall be placed in a container that deters accidental exposure. Any linen which is
suspected of being contaminated with bodily fluids or other potentially hazardous infectious waste
shall be placed in an appropriately marked closed container for disposal;
(8) contaminated disposable supplies shall be placed in appropriately marked or designated
containers, in a manner that deters accidental exposure;
(9) exterior and interior surfaces of vehicles shall be cleaned routinely;
(10) blankets and hand towels used in any vehicle shall be clean;
(11) implements inserted into the patient's nose or mouth shall be single-service wrapped and
properly stored and handled. When multi-use items are utilized, the local health care facilities
should be consulted for instructions in sanitation and handling of such items.



(b) When a vehicle has been utilized to transport a patient(s) known to the operator to have a
communicable disease the vehicle shall be cleansed and all contact surfaces shall be washed with soap and
water and appropriate disinfectant. The vehicle should be placed "out of service" until a thorough cleansing
is conducted.
(c) All storage spaces used for storage of linens, equipment, medical supplies, and other supplies at the
base station shall be kept clean.
(d) personnel shall be clean, especially hands and fingernails, and well groomed. Clothing worn by
personnel shall be clean. The licensee shall provide in each vehicle a means of hand washing for the
attendants.
(e) All oxygen humidifiers shall be single use;
(f) All medications, supplies, and sterile equipment with expiration dates shall be current.
(1) Expired medications, supplies, and sterile equipment shall be discarded appropriately.
(2) Tampering, removing, or altering expiration dates on medications, supplies, and equipment is
prohibited.
(g) The station facility, ambulance bays, living quarters, and office areas shall be clean, orderly, free of
safety and health hazards.
(h) Ambulance vehicles and ambulance service facilities shall be free of any evidence of use of lighted or
smokeless tobacco products except in designated smoking areas, consistent with the provisions of 310:641-
1-4.

[Source: Amended at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]
310:641-3-26. Storage of intravenous solutions
(a) Medication and vascular fluid shall be stored in a manner that complies with manufacturer and FDA
standards.

(b) Each agency shall maintain medications in a manner that deters theft and diversion of all medications.

[Source: Amended and renumbered from 310:641-3-70 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]
PART 7. AIR AMBULANCES [REVOKED]

310:641-3-30. Air ambulance license [AMENDED AND RENUMBERED TO 310:641-13-2]
[Source: Amended and renumbered to 310:641-13-2 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-3-31. Air medical service  REVOKED)]
[Source: Revoked at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-3-32. Air ambulance vehicles [ AMENDED AND RENUMBERED TO 310:641-13-9]
[Source: Amended and renumbered to 310:641-13-9 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-3-33. Air ambulance equipment [AMENDED AND RENUMBERED TO 310:641-13-10]
[Source: Amended and renumbered to 310:641-13-10 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-3-34. Air ambulance medical staffing [AMENDED AND RENUMBERED TO 310:641-13- 8]
[Source: Amended and renumbered to 310:641-13-8 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-3-35. Air medical director [AMENDED AND RENUMBERED TO 310:641-13-11]
[Source: Amended and renumbered to 310:641-13-11 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-3-36. Operational protocols [AMENDED AND RENUMBERED TO 310:641-13-12]



[Source: Amended and renumbered to 310:641-13-12 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]
310:641-3-37. Communications [AMENDED AND RENUMBERED TO 310:641-13-13]
[Source: Amended and renumbered to 310:641-13-13 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]
310:641-3-38. Aircraft utilization [REVOKED)]
[Source: Revoked at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]
310:641-3-39. Rotorwing standards - certificate of the aircraft operator [REVOKED]

[Source: Revoked at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]
PART 9. SPECIALTY CARE [REVOKED)]

310:641-3-40. Specialty care [REVOKED)]
[Source: Revoked at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-3-41. Application [AMENDED AND RENUMBERED TO 310:641-11-2]
[Source: Amended and renumbered to 310:641-11-2 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-3-42. Issuance of a specialty care license [AMENDED AND RENUMBERED TO 310:641-
11-3]

[Source: Amended and renumbered to 310:641-11-3 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]
310:641-3-43. Personnel [AMENDED AND RENUMBERED TO 310:641-11-8]
[Source: Amended and renumbered to 310:641-11-8 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]
310:641-3-44. Vehicles  RENUMBERED)]
[Source: Amended and renumbered to 310:641-11-9 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]
310:641-3-45. Renewal [AMENDED AND RENUMBERED TO 310:641-11-4]
[Source: Amended and renumbered to 310:641-11-4 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]
310:641-3-46. Denial and other requirements [AMENDED AND RENUMBERED TO 310:641-11-5]
[Source: Amended and renumbered to 310:641-11-5 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]
310:641-3-47. Equipment [AMENDED AND RENUMBERED TO 310:641-11-12]

[Source: Amended and renumbered to 310:641-11-12 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]
PART 10. STRETCHER AID VANS [REVOKED]

310:641-3-48. Stretcher aid van license [AMENDED AND RENUMBERED TO 310:641-17-2]

[Source: Amended and renumbered to 310:641-17-2 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-3-48.1. Stretcher aid van services [ REVOKED]

[Source: Revoked at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]



310:641-3-48.2. Stretcher aid van vehicles AMENDED AND RENUMBERED TO 310:641-17-9]

[Source: Amended and renumbered to 310:641-17-9 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-3-48.3. Stretcher aid van equipment and supplies [AMENDED AND RENUMBERED TO
310:641-17-10]

[Source: Amended and renumbered to 310:641-17-10 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-3-48.4. Stretcher aid van staffing [AMENDED AND RENUMBERED TO 310:641-17-8]

[Source: Amended and renumbered to 310:641-17-8 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-3-48.5. Stretcher aid van medical control [AMENDED AND RENUMBERED TO 310:641-
17-11]

[Source: Amended and renumbered to 310:641-17-11 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

PART 11. MEDICAL CONTROL

310:641-3-50. Requirement [AMENDED AND RENUMBERED TO 310:641-3-24]

[Source: Amended and renumbered to 310:641-3-24 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-3-51. Authority to carry controlled substances on a vehicle

(a) An ambulance service, with personnel licensed to utilize such, is hereby authorized to carry a limited
supply of controlled substances, secured and stored in a manner that is compliant with State and Federal
statutes and regulations. The utilization, procurement, and accountability of such drugs shall be supervised
by medical control for the service. An inventory shall be kept and signed according to the requirement of
the Oklahoma Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs (OBNDD), and the United States Department of
Justice Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA). Each responsible medical director shall maintain a copy
of their OBNDD certificate to the Department, for this purpose.

(b) Any loss or deficiency which occurs in the utilization, procurement, and accountability of controlled
substances, shall be reported to the OBNDD and DEA through their established procedures and
requirements, and to the Department, within ten (10) working days.

[Source: Amended and renumbered from 310:641-3-80 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-3-53. Inspections

(a) The Department shall conduct unannounced inspections of every licensed ambulance service.
Inspection may include a review of any requirements of the Act and rules promulgated thereunder. The
Department may require copies of such records as deemed necessary consistent with the files section of
this subchapter.

(b) All inspection reports will be sent to the agency director, license owner, and medical director.

(c) A representative of the agency will be with the Department employee during the inspection.

[Source: Amended and renumbered from 310:641-3-90 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-3-55. Notice of violation

(a) A violation of the Act or this Chapter is ground for the Department to issue a written order, sent via
certified mail, citing the violation, affording the agency an opportunity to demonstrate compliance, and
indicating the time no less than fifteen (15) days after receipt of the notice in which any needed correction
shall be made. The fifteen-day notice period may be reduced as, in the opinion of the Department, may be
necessary to render an order of compliance reasonably effectual.

(b) Unless the Department specifies a reduced period, within thirty (30) days after receipt of the notice of
violation, the agency shall submit to the Department a written demonstration of compliance and/or plan of



correction.
(c) A plan of correction shall include at least the following:

(1) When the correction was or will be completed;

(2) How the correction was or will be made;

(3) What measures will prevent a recurrence; and

(4) Who will be accountable to ensure future compliance.
(d) The Department shall ensure that the agency is afforded due process in accordance with the Procedures
of the State Department of Health, Oklahoma Administrative Code, Title 310, Chapter 2, and the
Administrative Procedures Act, Title 75 O.S. Section 250 et seq.
(e) Violations found by the Department which require immediate correction shall be handled in compliance
with Title 75 of the Oklahoma Statutes, Section 314.1 and the Oklahoma Administrative Code, Title 310,
Chapter 2, specifically 310:2-21-23.

[Source: Amended and renumbered from 310:641-3-91 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-3-57. Emergency medical services regions

(a) Region(s), established pursuant to Section 1-2503 (21) and (22) of the Act shall not be recognized,
without Department approval for this purpose. Pursuant to Title 74, O.S., Section 1006, of the "Interlocal
Cooperation Act" (relating to Approval of Agreements), the Department shall exercise authority granted to
approve or disapprove all matters within its jurisdiction, in addition to and in substitution for the
requirement of submission to and approval by the Attorney General.

(b) The Department shall recognize regions, which comply with the law and this Chapter.

(c) Any regional emergency medical services system shall provide the name of the regional medical
director, copies of regional standards, rules, and transport.

[Source: Amended and renumbered from 310:641-3-110 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-3-59. Operational protocols
(a) Authorized emergency vehicles of licensed ambulance services shall adhere to the requirements of Title
47 O.S. Section 1-101 et seq. (the "Motor Vehicle Code") for all vehicle operations.
(b) There is a required duty to act within the licensed service area upon acceptance of an ambulance
service license. All licensed ambulance services shall respond appropriately; consistent with the level of
licensure when called for emergency service, regardless of the patient's ability to pay. Non-emergency
interfacility transfers are exempt from the statutory duty to act.
(c) If the ambulance service can not physically respond within the limits of "The Ambulance Services
District" Act, then the ambulance service called has a duty to immediately call for mutual aid from a
neighboring licensed ambulance service.
(d) If an ambulance service receives a call for an emergency which is in the licensed service area of
another licensed ambulance service, the ambulance service called has a responsibility to immediately
contact the licensed ambulance service with that licensed service area.
(1) If the emergency is in an area that is not within a licensed service area, the service that received
the call will contact the closest ambulance to the call.
(2) Any licensed service that receives a call in an area that is outside of a licensed service area shall
report the event to Emergency Systems within the Department.
(3) The Department will report the event to the county commissioners of the county where the call
occurred.
(e) Mutual aid plans between licensed ambulance services and surrounding licensed or certified emergency
medical services providers shall be developed and placed in the service files for inspection. Plans will be
periodically reviewed to ensure accuracy and completeness. Licensed ambulance services shall provide
mutual aid, if the capability exists without jeopardizing the primary service area.
(f) An ambulance service requesting an air ambulance shall;
(1) call the closest air ambulance to the location of the scene, or
(2) call the air ambulance service the patient or the patient family chooses to utilize.



[Source: Amended at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]
PART 13. SANITATION

310:641-3-60. Sanitation requirements [AMENDED AND RENUMBERED TO 310:641-3-25]

[Source: Amended and renumbered to 310:641-3-25 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-3-61. Transfer protocols

(a) Department approved medical and trauma triage, transport, and transfer protocols shall adhere to the

principle of delivering time-sensitive medical and trauma patients to appropriate facilities as outlined by

the regional advisory boards and the Department approved protocols.

(b) Specific triage, transport, and transfer protocols or destination protocols shall be developed by medical

control for the region, area, and/or local service and submitted to the Department for approval.

(c) Each agency shall designate the receiving facility(ies) that are within their reasonable service range.
(1) An agency may still transport to facilities outside of the reasonable service range on a case by
case basis.

(2) Repeated transports to facilities that are outside of the agency's reasonable range will require
modifications to the designated receiving facility list maintained at the Department with the
agency's approved protocols.

(d) Triage, transport and transfer protocols approved by the Department shall include the following

requirements:

(1) medical and trauma non- emergency transports shall be transported to the facility of the
patient's choice, if within reasonable service range,
(2) emergency, non-injury related, non-life threatening transports shall be transported to the facility
of the patient's choice, if within reasonable service range,
(3) emergency, injury related transports shall adhere to the Oklahoma Triage, Transport, and
Transfer Guidelines as authorized in 63 O.S. 1-2530.3 and shall ensure that patients are delivered
to the most appropriate classified hospital, either within their region or contiguous regions,
(4) Severely injured patients as described in the Oklahoma Triage, Transport, and Transfer
Guidelines as authorized in 63 O.S. 1-2530.3 shall be transported to a hospital classified at Level I
or II for trauma and emergency operative services unless a Level III facility that is identified within
a regional plan is capable of providing definitive care. If time and distance factors are detrimental
to patient outcomes, patients shall be transported to the closest appropriate hospital in accordance
with the State approved regional trauma plan.
(5) Stable patients at risk for severe injury or with minor-to-moderate injury as described in the
Oklahoma Triage, Transport, and Transfer Guidelines shall be transported to the closest appropriate
facility. These patients may be transported to the hospital of the patient's or patients'
legalrepresentative's choice consistent with regional guidelines.
(6) Emergency, life threatening, non-injury transports shall be to the nearest facility that can
provide evaluation and stabilization appropriate to the patient's condition.
(7) Transports or transfers from a pre-hospital setting that occur as a result of a physician order
shall be transported to the facility ordered by the physician except when:

(A) the patient or the patient's guardian chooses a different facility;

(B) the patient condition changes, and going to a different facility is in the best interest of

the patient;

(C) the receiving facility's ability to receive that patient has changed,

(D) the facility is not within a reasonable range of the agency; or

(E) the Trauma Referral Center requests a change in destination or presents reasonable

options for a destination.

(e) In counties with populations of 300,000 or more and their contiguous communities, injury related

transports shall be directed and coordinated by the trauma transfer and referral center for the region.

(1) All ambulance services providing pre-hospital emergency services in these regions shall contact
the trauma transfer and referral center at intervals determined by the Department to register the
transport of an injured patient to a hospital.



(2) All ambulance services transporting injured patients on a pre-hospital basis from areas outside
the region to hospitals in the region shall contact the trauma transfer and referral center before
entering the region. The trauma transfer and referral center shall direct the ambulance to the
appropriate hospital based on the regional plan, the severity of the injury, and the capacity status of
the hospitals in the region.
(3) All ambulance services transferring injured patients from hospitals outside the region to
hospitals in the region shall contact the trauma transfer and referral center before entering the
region to advise the center of the patient transfer. The center shall maintain a record of the transfer
for regional continuous quality improvement activities.
(f) The patient has a right to refuse transport.
(g) Each ambulance service shall ensure that the care of each patient is transferred appropriately to the
receiving facility's licensed staff. The transfer of care will include verbal and written reports summarizing
the assessment and treatment of the patient by the ambulance service.
(h) All licensed ambulance services are required to participate in the regional and statewide systems of care
established through statute and administered by the Department to ensure patients are transported to the
appropriate facility in a timely manner to receive appropriate care.

[Source: Amended and renumbered from 310:641-3-130 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-3-63. Ambulance service files
(a) All required records for licensure will be maintained for a minimum of three years.
(b) Each licensed ambulance service shall maintain electronic or paper records about the operation,
maintenance, and such other required documents, at the business office. These files shall be available for
review by the Department, during normal work hours. Files which shall be maintained include the
following:
(1) Patient care records:
(A) At the time a patient is transported to a receiving facility, the following information
will be, at a minimum, provided to the facility staff members at the time the patient(s) are
accepted:
(1) personal information such as name, date of birth, and address;
(11) patient assessment with medical history;
(ii1) medical interventions and patient responses to interventions;
(iv) any known allergies;
(v) other information from the medical history that would impact the patient
outcomes if not immediately provided.
(B) A signature of the receiving facility health care staff member will be obtained to show
the above information and the patient was received.
(2) A complete copy of the patient care report shall be sent to the receiving facility within twenty-
four (24) hours of the hospital receiving the patient.
(3) Completed patient care reports shall contain demographic, administrative, legal, medical,
community health and public information required by the Department through the OKEMSIS Data
Dictionary;
(4) all run reports and patient care information shall be considered confidential.
(5) all licensed agencies shall maintain records on the maintenance, and regular inspections of each
vehicle.
(A) Each vehicle must be inspected and a detailed equipment checklist completed after
each call, or on a daily basis, whichever is less frequent; and
(B) documentation that shows routine vehicle maintenance for each vehicle as required by
vehicle manufacture recommendations,
(6) all licensed agencies shall maintain a credential or licensure file for licensed and certified
emergency medical personnel employed by or associated with the service that includes:
(A) Oklahoma license and certification;
(B) Basic Life Support certification or documentation of BLS cognitive objectives and
psychomotor skills that meets or exceeds American Heart Association standards, and



approved by the medical director ;
(C) Advanced Cardiac Life Support certification or documentation of BLS cognitive
objectives and psychomotor skills that meets or exceeds American Heart Association
Standards as applicable for advanced licensure level(s) and approved by the medical
director;
(D) Incident Command System or National Incident Management Systems training at the
100, 200, and 700 levels or their equivalent;
(E) verification of an Emergency Vehicle Operations Course or other agency approved
defensive driving course;
(F) contain a list or other credentialing document that defines or describes the medical
director authorized procedures, equipment and medications for each certified or licensed
member employed or associated with the agency; and
(G) a copy of the medical director credentials will be maintained at the agency.
(7) The electronic or paper copies of the licenses and credentials described in this section shall be
kept separate from other personnel records to ensure confidentiality of records that do not pertain
to the documents relating to patient care.
(8) Copies of staffing patterns, schedules, or staffing reports which indicate the ambulance service
is maintaining twenty four (24) hour coverage, at the highest level of license;
(9) Copies of in-service training and continuing education records;
(10) Copies of the ambulance service:
(A) operational policies, guidelines, or employee handbook;
(B) medical protocols;
(C) a list of the patient care equipment that is carried on any "Class E" unit(s) will be part
of the standard operating procedure or guideline manual and;
(D) OSHA and/or Department of Labor exposure plan, policies, or guidelines.
(c) A log of each request for service received and/or initiated, to include the:
(1) Disposition of the request and the reason for declining the request, if applicable;
(2) the patient care report number;
(3) date of request;
(4) patient care report times as required by the OKEMSIS data dictionary;
(5) location of the incident;
(6) nature of the call;
(7) Such other documents which may be determined necessary by the Department.
(d) Documentation that verifies an ongoing, physician involved quality assurance program.
(e) Such other documents which may be determined necessary by the Department. Such documents can
only be required after a thorough, reasonable, and appropriate notification by the Department to the
services and agencies.
(f) The standardized data set and an electronic submission standard for EMS data as developed by the
Department shall be mandatory for each licensed ambulance service. Reports of the EMS data standard
shall be forwarded to the Department by the last business day of the following month. Exceptions to the
monthly reporting requirements shall be granted only by the Department, in writing.
(g) Review and the disclosure of information contained in the ambulance service files shall be confidential,
except for information which pertains to the requirements for license, certification, or investigation issued
by the Department.
(h) Department representatives shall have prompt access to files, records and property as necessary to
appropriately survey the provider. Refusal to allow access by representatives of Department to records,
equipment or property may result in summary suspension of licensure by the Commissioner of Health.
(1) All information submitted and/or maintained in files for review shall be accurate and consistent with
Department requirements.

[Source: Amended at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]

310:641-3-65. Sole source ordinances



(a) An ambulance service which operates as a sole source provider established by EMS regions, ambulance
service districts or municipalities shall file with the Department a copy of the ordinance or regulation and a
copy of the contract to operate as a sole source provider. This requirement shall be retroactive and includes
all established sole source ambulance services.

(b) An ambulance service which operates as a sole source provider for a "region" as established pursuant to
the Oklahoma Interlocal Cooperation Act (Title 74, Section 1001 et seq.) shall file, with the Department, a
copy of the interlocal agreement and any ordinance or other regulations or contract or agreement
established by the region for ambulance service provision.

(c) Violation of contracts established herein may be cause for enforcement action by the Department.

[Source: Amended and renumbered from 310:641-3-170 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-3-67. Suspension, revocation, probation, or non-renewal of a license
(a) The Department may suspend or revoke a license, and/or fine or place on probation a license or
licensee for the following:
(1) violations of any of the provision of the Oklahoma Statutes, the Act or this chapter;
(2) permitting, aiding or abetting in any illegal act in connection with the ambulance service;
(3) failure to provide emergency service to any person, unless a vehicle and/or personnel is not
available, and failure to summon mutual aid;
(4) conduct of any practice that is detrimental to the welfare of the patient or potential users of the
service;
(5) failure to operate the service on a twenty four (24) hour basis,
(6) placing a vehicle into service before it is properly inspected, approved and permitted by the
Department;
(7) failure to comply with a written order issued by the Department within the time frame specified
by the Department;
(8) engaging in any act which is designed or intended to hinder, impede or obstruct the
investigation of any matter governed by the Act, by any lawful authority;
(9) an ambulance service who fails to renew their Oklahoma license within the time frame and
other requirements as specified in these rules, shall be considered an expired or lapsed licensee,
and therefore no longer licensed as an ambulance service in the State of Oklahoma.;
(10) a misleading, deceptive, false, or fraudulent advertisement or other representation in the
conduct of the profession or occupation;
(11) offering, giving, or promising anything of value or benefit, as defined in Oklahoma Statutes or
Department policy to a Federal, state, or local governmental official for the purpose of influencing
the employee or official to circumvent a Federal, state, or local law, rule, or ordinance governing
the licensee's profession or occupations;
(12) interference with an investigation or disciplinary proceeding by willful misrepresentation of
facts, by the use of threats or harassment against or inducement to a client or witness to prevent
them from providing evidence in a disciplinary proceeding or other legal action, or by use of
threats or harassment against or inducement to a person to prevent or attempt to prevent a
disciplinary proceeding or other legal action from being filed, prosecuted, or completed; or
(13) failure to report the unprofessional conduct or non-compliance of regulations by individually
licensed and certified personnel as defined in this this Chapter.
(b) No person, company, governmental entity or trust authority may operate an ambulance service or
emergency medical response agency except in accordance with Title 63, Section 1-2501, et seq., and the
rules as promulgated by the State Board. The Commissioner, District Attorney of the county wherein a
violation occurs, or the Attorney General of this State, shall have the authority to enforce provisions of the
law.
(c) A license/certificate/permit holder or applicant, in connection with a license application or an
investigation conducted by the Department pursuant to this rule shall not:
(1) knowingly make a false statement of material fact;
(2) fail to disclose a fact necessary to correct a misapprehension known by the licensee to have
arisen in the application or the matter under investigation; or



(3) fail to respond to a demand for information made by the Department or any designated
representative thereof.
(d) If in the course of an investigation the Department determines that a license/certificate/permit holder or
applicant has engaged in conduct that is detrimental to the health, safety, or welfare of the public, and
which conduct necessitates immediate action to prevent further harm, the Commissioner may order a
summary suspension of the license/certificate/permit holder's license, certificate, or permit respectively. A
presumption of imminent harm to the public shall exist if the Department determines probable cause exists
if an agency fails to provide emergency service to any person, unless a vehicle and/or personnel is not
available, and failure to summon mutual aid, or there is conduct of any practice that is detrimental to the
welfare of the patient or potential users of the service;
(e) In addition to any other penalties, a civil fine of not more than one hundred dollars ($100.00) per
violation per day may be assessed, for violations of the Act or OAC 310:641.

[Source: Amended and renumbered from 310:641-3-190 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]
PART 15. INTRAVENOUS SOLUTIONS [REVOKED]

310:641-3-70. Storage of intravenous solutions [ AMENDED AND RENUMBERED TO 310:641-3-
26]

[Source: Amended and renumbered to 310:641-3-26 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]
PART 17. CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES [REVOKED]

310:641-3-80. Authority to carry controlled substances on a vehicle [ AMENDED AND
RENUMBERED TO 310:641-3-51]

[Source: Amended and renumbered to 310:641-3-51 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]
PART 19. INSPECTION, CORRECTION, ACTIONS [REVOKED]

310:641-3-90. Inspections [AMENDED AND RENUMBERED TO 310:641-3-53]
[Source: Amended and renumbered to 310:641-3-53 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]
310:641-3-91. Correction orders [AMENDED AND RENUMBERED TO 310:641-3-55]

[Source: Amended and renumbered to 310:641-3-55 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]
PART 21. WATER AMBULANCES [REVOKED]

310:641-3-100. Water ambulances [REVOKED]

[Source: Revoked at 23 Ok Reg 2386, eff 6-25-06]
PART 23. EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES REGIONS [REVOKED]

310:641-3-110. Emergency medical services regions [AMENDED AND RENUMBERED TO 310:641-
3-57]

[Source: Amended and renumbered to 310:641-3-57 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]
PART 25. OPERATIONAL PROTOCOLS [REVOKED]

310:641-3-120. Operational protocols [AMENDED AND RENUMBERED TO 310:641-3-59]

[Source: Amended and renumbered to 310:641-3-59 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]
PART 27. TRANSFER PROTOCOLS [REVOKED]

310:641-3-130. Transfer protocols [AMENDED AND RENUMBERED TO 310:641-3-61]



[Source: Amended and renumbered to 310:641-3-61 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]
PART 29. SUBSCRIPTION PROGRAMS [REVOKED]

310:641-3-140. Subscription program [REVOKED]

[Source: Revoked at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]
PART 31. CERTIFIED EMERGENCY MEDICAL RESPONSE AGENCIES [REVOKED]

310:641-3-150. Certified emergency medical response agencies AMENDED AND RENUMBERED
TO 310:641-15-2]

[Source: Amended and renumbered to 310:641-15-2 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]
PART 33. SERVICE AND AGENCY FILES [REVOKED]

310:641-3-160. Ambulance service, emergency medical response agency and stretcher aid van files
[AMENDED AND RENUMBERED TO 310:641-3-63]

[Source: Amended and renumbered to 310:641-3-63 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]
PART 35. SOLE SOURCE [REVOKED)]

310:641-3-170. Sole source ordinances [AMENDED AND RENUMBERED TO 310:641-3-65]

[Source: Amended and renumbered to 310:641-3-65 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]
PART 37. REGIONAL SYSTEM [REVOKED]

310:641-3-180. Regional emergency medical services system [REVOKED]

[Source: Revoked at 23 Ok Reg 2386, eff 6-25-06]
PART 39. ENFORCEMENT ACTION [REVOKED]

310:641-3-190. Suspension, revocation, probation, or non-renewal of a license [AMENDED AND
RENUMBERED TO 310:641-3-67]

[Source: Amended and renumbered to 310:641-3-67 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]
PART 41. SPECIAL PROVISIONS [REVOKED]

310:641-3-200. Repealer [REVOKED]

[Source: Revoked at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-3-201. Severance [REVOKED]

[Source: Revoked at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-3-202. Effective date [REVOKED)]

[Source: Revoked at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]
SUBCHAPTER 5. PERSONNEL LICENSES AND CERTIFICATION

PART 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS

310:641-5-1. Purpose

The rules of this Subchapter are promulgated to: Establish minimum standards for the issuance and
renewal of certification and/or licensing of emergency medical care personnel; Provide the standards for
the enforcement of the provision of the "Emergency Response Systems Development Act" and these rules.



[Source: Amended at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-5-2. Definitions [REVOKED)]

[Source: Revoked at 17 Ok Reg 2948, eft 7-13-00]
PART 3. EMERGENCY MEDICAL PERSONNEL LICENSES

310:641-5-10. License requirement

(a) No person may be employed, volunteer, present themselves, or perform as a certified or licensed
emergency medical personnel at any level in Oklahoma without a valid certification or license from the
Department.

(b) While on duty, emergency medical personnel shall wear an agency identifiable uniform or agency
specific picture identification.

(c) While on duty, emergency medical personnel shall have an electronic or paper copy of their
certification or license on their person or unit.

(d) Emergency medical personnel shall present their certification or license when asked by a representative
of the Department.

(e) An individual may only possess one Oklahoma certification or license at any one time. When a level
change occurs, the previous certification or license is no longer valid at the time the new license is issued
by the Department.

[Source: Amended at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-5-11. License and certification qualifications
(a) Emergency medical personnel while on duty will have a copy of their certification or license.
(b) Persons applying for initial certification or license shall meet the requirements for qualification,
application, and procedure as follows:
(1) Emergency Medical Responder certification:
(A) Applicant shall be at least eighteen (18) years of age.
(B) Applicant shall submit the following:
(1) An appropriate State application form specifying the level of certification, true,
correct, and complete information as to eligibility and character,
(11) A signed "Affidavit of Lawful Presence" form,
(C) Completion of a Department approved Emergency Medical Responder course,
(D) successful completion of a National Registry practical skills examination administered
by the approved training program or agency,
(E) successful completion of a written examination from either:
(1) National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians (NREMT), or
(i1) Oklahoma Department of Career and Technology Education.
(F) First responders or Emergency Medical Responders trained in a Department approved
course prior to January 1, 2000 will be required to obtain a current Emergency Medical
Responder certification by September 30, 2017 by providing to the Department the
following:
(1) verification of refresher/transition course completion every two years since
March 31, 2012,
(i1) signed "Affidavit of Lawful Presence",
(iii) verification of a practical exam of EMR skill administered during a refresher or
transition course after March 31, 2012.
(G) A fee of ten ($10.00) dollars for the line of duty death benefit as detailed in the Act.
(H) The Department shall maintain a registry of all qualified Emergency Medical
Responders.
(2) Emergency Medical Technician, or EMT:
(A) Applicant shall be at least eighteen (18) years of age,
(B) Applicant shall submit the following:



(1) an appropriate State application form specifying the level of licensure, true,
correct, and complete information as to eligibility and character, and
(1) a signed "Affidavit of Lawful Presence",
(111) successful completion of an NREMT EMT psycho-motor exam,
(iv) successful completion of an NREMT EMT cognitive exam,
(v) submission to the Department a copy of the applicants NREMT EMT
certification,
(vi) a license fee of Seventy-five ($75.00) dollars for licensure and an additional ten
($10.00) dollars for the line of duty death benefit as detailed in the Act. Fees are
non- refundable except if the application is rejected.
(3) Advanced EMT and Paramedic:
(A) Applicant shall be at least eighteen (18) years of age,
(B) the applicant shall submit the following:
(1) an appropriate State application form specifying true, correct, and complete
information as to eligibility and character,
(i1) a signed "Affidavit of Lawful Presence",
(ii1) submission of the applicant's NREMT certification after completion of the
NREMT cognitive and psychomotor examinations.
(I) The Department shall conduct or oversee the NREMT psycho-motor
examination for the Advanced EMT and Paramedic using Department
approved evaluators.
(IT) AEMT candidates are required to complete and pass the endotracheal
intubation exam prior to licensure.
(iv) The fee for the psycho-motor examination(s) determined by the Department,
testing site, or the testing vendor for the Department.
(v) The initial license fee for Advanced EMT applicants and Paramedic applicants
is seventy-five ($75.00) dollars. The fees shall be submitted with the application.
Fees shall be in an acceptable form and made payable to the Oklahoma State
Department of Health. An additional ten ($10.00) fee is required for the line of duty
death benefit detailed in the Act. Fees are non-refundable except if the application
is rejected.
(c) Initial licensure and certification will be from the date of issue through the second June 30 after the
initial date. Subsequent licensure and certification periods will be for two years, expiring on June 30.
(d) The Department shall ensure oversight of the AEMT and Paramedic practical skills examinations
conducted within the State.
(e) Any certification or license application submitted to the Department under this subchapter may be
denied on the basis of a felony conviction, adjudication, or plea of guilty or nolo contender for any of the
following offenses:
(1) assault, battery, or assault and battery with a dangerous weapon; aggravated assault and battery;
(2) murder or attempted murder; manslaughter, except involuntary manslaughter;
(3) rape, incest, or sodomy; indecent exposure and indecent exhibition; pandering;
(4) child abuse; abuse, neglect, or financial exploitation of any person entrusted to his care or
possession;
(5) burglary in the first or second degree; robbery in the first or second degree; robbery or
attempted robbery with a dangerous weapon, or imitation firearm,;
(6) arson, substance abuse, or any such other conviction, adjudication, or plea of guilty or nolo
contendere, or circumstances which in the opinion of the Department would render the applicant
unfit to provide emergency medical care to the public;
(7) Each decision shall be determined on a case-by-case basis.
(f) A license application may be denied on the basis of any falsification. Application for initial licensure
pursuant to the Act shall constitute authorization for an investigation by the Department.
(g) Candidates for initial Oklahoma licensure shall successfully complete the NREMT certification
examinations. Practical and written examinations shall adhere to current policies of NREMT and the



Department. Candidates shall demonstrate competency in all required skills. The Department reserves the
right to review and require additional practical examination of any candidate.

(h) An applicant may request a review of adverse decisions, made within this section, by applying in
writing within thirty (30) calendar days after the notice of rejection. Review, by the Department, shall be
held in accordance with the Administrative Procedures Act.

[Source: Amended at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]

310:641-5-11.1. Military reciprocity certification and license qualifications
(a) Emergency medical personnel while on duty will have a copy of their certification or license.
(b) Persons applying for a Military Reciprocity Certification or License shall submit an application to the
Department using Department approved forms.
(c) Persons applying for shall meet the requirements for qualification, application, and procedure as
follows:
(1) Emergency Medical Responder certification:
(A) Applicant shall be at least eighteen (18) years of age.
(B) Applicant shall submit the following documentation:
(1) A copy of their orders or their spouses orders, their honorable discharge to
Oklahoma, or other evidence of their affiliation with the Department of Defense
and their requirement to serve within the State of Oklahoma.
(i1) Documentation showing that the applicant is Certified or Licensed in another
State or Territory as an Emergency Medical Responder.
(111) A signed "Affidavit of Lawful Presence" form.
(iv) Documentation describing the scope of practice authorized by the State issuing
the certification or license as an Emergency Medical Responder.
(2) Emergency Medical Technician, or EMT:
(A) Applicant shall be at least eighteen (18) years of age,
(B) Applicant shall submit the following documentation:
(1) A copy of their orders or their spouses orders, their honorable discharge to
Oklahoma, or other evidence of their affiliation with the Department of Defense
and their requirement to serve within the State of Oklahoma.
(i) Documentation showing that the applicant is Certified or Licensed in another
State or Territory as an Emergency Medical Technician.
(111) A signed "Affidavit of Lawful Presence",
(iv) Documentation describing the scope of practice authorized by the State issuing
the certification or license as an Emergency Medical Technician.
(3) Intermediate
(A) Applicant shall be at least eighteen (18) years of age,
(B) Applicant shall submit the following documentation:
(1) A copy of their orders or their spouses orders, their honorable discharge to
Oklahoma, or other evidence of their affiliation with the Department of Defense
and their requirement to serve within the State of Oklahoma.
(i1) Documentation showing that the applicant is Certified or Licensed in another
State or Territory as an Intermediate.
(ii1) A signed "Affidavit of Lawful Presence",
(iv) Documentation describing the scope of practice authorized by the State issuing
the certification or license as an Intermediate.
(4) Advanced EMT:
(A) Applicant shall be at least eighteen (18) years of age,
(B) Applicant shall submit the following documentation:
(1) A copy of their orders or their spouses orders, their honorable discharge to
Oklahoma, or other evidence of their affiliation with the Department of Defense
and their requirement to serve within the State of Oklahoma.



(i1) Documentation showing that the applicant is Certified or Licensed in another
State or Territory as an Advanced EMT.
(111) A signed "Affidavit of Lawful Presence",
(iv) Documentation describing the scope of practice authorized by the State issuing
the certification or license as an Advanced EMT.
(5) Paramedic
(A) Applicant shall be at least eighteen (18) years of age,
(B) Applicant shall submit the following documentation:
(1) A copy of their orders or their spouses orders, their honorable discharge to
Oklahoma, or other evidence of their affiliation with the Department of Defense
and their requirement to serve within the State of Oklahoma.
(i) Documentation showing that the applicant is Certified or Licensed in another
State or Territory as an Advanced EMT.
(111) a signed "Affidavit of Lawful Presence",
(iv) Documentation describing the scope of practice authorized by the State issuing
the certification or license as Paramedic.
(d) Initial licensure and certification shall be from the date of issue through the second June 30 after the
initial date.
(e) Any certification or license application submitted to the Department under this subchapter may be
denied on the basis of a felony conviction, adjudication, or plea of guilty or nolo contendere for any of the
following offenses:
(1) assault, battery, or assault and battery with a dangerous weapon; aggravated assault and battery;
(2) murder or attempted murder; manslaughter, except involuntary manslaughter;
(3) rape, incest, or sodomy; indecent exposure and indecent exhibition; pandering;
(4) child abuse; abuse, neglect, or financial exploitation of any person entrusted to his care or
possession;
(5) burglary in the first or second degree; robbery in the first or second degree; robbery or
attempted robbery with a dangerous weapon, or imitation firearm,;
(6) arson, substance abuse, or any such other conviction, adjudication, or plea of guilty or nolo
contendere, or circumstances which in the opinion of the Department would render the applicant
unfit to provide emergency medical care to the public;
(7) Each decision shall be determined on a case-by-case basis.
(f) A license application may be denied on the basis of any falsification. Application for initial licensure
pursuant to the Act shall constitute authorization for an investigation by the Department.
(g) Applicants will be notified in writing of the status of their application. The notification will be
completed by either issuing the certification or license or by providing a denial to the application with an
explanation of the denial and what steps are required to make the application acceptable.
(h) An applicant may request a review of adverse decisions, made within this section, by applying in
writing within thirty (30) calendar days after the notice of rejection. Review, by the Department, shall be
held in accordance with the Administrative Procedures Act.
(1) The Department shall maintain a registry of all qualified Emergency Medical Responders.

[Source: Added at 37 Ok Reg 1423, eft 9-11-20]
310:641-5-12. Personnel license levels [REVOKED)]
[Source: Revoked at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-5-13. Issuance of certification or license

(a) Upon successful completion of the examinations, an Oklahoma certification or license at the respective
level of emergency medical personnel shall be issued. Concurrent registration with the National Registry is
included during the initial license period. NREMT certification shall be maintained by emergency medical
personnel licensed after April 1, 2010. Oklahoma emergency medical personnel licenses will be extended
to meet the new expiration date for a two year transition period. An exception is permitted for Oklahoma



licensed Intermediates that did not test to become AEMTs. When their national certification is not renewed,
they may still retain their Intermediate license subject to Oklahoma requirements for renewal.

(b) The initial expiration date of a license shall coincide with the National Registry expiration date, plus
three (3) months. Subsequent license periods, if a licensee meets renewal requirements, shall be for a two
(2) year period beginning July 1 and continuing through June 30 of the respective expiration year.

(c) A five ($5.00) dollar fee shall be charged for a duplicate license, or license re-issued due to a name or
address change.

[Source: Amended at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-5-13.1. Issuance of a military reciprocity license and certification

(a) Upon successful completion of the application and submission of supporting documentation, a Military
Reciprocity Certification or License shall be issued at the most appropriate Oklahoma Certification or
License level that can be verified.

(b) Initial licensure and certification shall be from the date of issue through the second June 30 after the
initial date.

(c) If the applicant has a current certification from the National Registry of Emergency Medical
Technicians, a Military Reciprocity Certification or License may be provided to the applicant at that
certification same level.

[Source: Added at 37 Ok Reg 1423, eff 9-11-20]

310:641-5-14. Renewal of certification and license requirements

(a) An application for renewal of emergency medical personnel certifications or licenses shall be submitted
to the Department. A notice of expiration for renewal shall be sent to each certificate or license holder no
less than sixty (60) days prior to the expiration date each year. Directions for renewal will be made
available by the Department.

(b) Certificate and license holders are solely responsible for meeting all requirements for renewal.

(c) Applications for renewal shall be completed using Department approved procedures and forms.

(d) Incorrect or incomplete documentation shall be cause for rejection.

(e) Specific renewal requirements are detailed in in this subchapter.

[Source: Amended at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-5-14.1. Renewal requirements for non-NREMT certified licensees [AMENDED AND
RENUMBERED TO 310:641-5-19]

[Source: Amended and renumbered to 310:641-5-19 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-5-15. Expired certification and license

(a) Any certification or license holder who fails to renew their Oklahoma emergency medical responder
certification, or emergency medical personnel license, within the required time frame shall be considered
to have an expired certification or license, and therefore no longer certified or licensed in the State of
Oklahoma.

(b) Certifications and licenses that are expired may be renewed within the grace period without penalty.
Within this thirty day period, the certificate or license holder may operate within their scope of practice.
(c) Requests for an extension due to hardships and unforeseen circumstances must be submitted to the
Department in writing. Expiration date extensions may be provided without penalty and may be provided
by the Department for a period not to exceed ninety (90) days after the expiration date.

(d) Licenses may not be renewed after ninety (90) days.

(e) An applicant may request a review of adverse decisions made within this section by applying in writing
within thirty (30) calendar days after the notice of rejection. Review by the Department shall be held in
accordance with the Administrative Procedures Act otherwise the decision shall be considered final to both
parties.



(f) Pursuant to 59 O.S. Section 4100.6 (relating to automatic extensions of professional licenses and
certifications), certified and licensed personnel whose certificates or licenses expired while serving on
orders for military are automatically extended without penalty while the licensee is on active military duty.
Any person on active military duty has one year from the date of discharge to renew the license.

[Source: Amended at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-5-16. Inactive status [REVOKED)]
[Source: Amended at 20 Ok Reg 2368, eff 7-11-03]

310:641-5-17. Lapsed licenses [REVOKED]
[Source: Revoked at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-5-18. Renewal requirements of the Emergency Medical Responder [REVOKED]
[Source: Revoked at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]

310:641-5-19. Renewal requirements for certified and licensed emergency medical personnel
(a) For certified and licensed emergency medical personnel compliant with OAC 310:641-5-15 and
without a current NREMT certification, the following will be submitted to the Department:
(1) a completed EMR, EMT, Intermediate, Advanced EMT, or Paramedic renewal application;
(2) line of duty death benefit fee as defined in 63 O.S. § 1-2505.1, 2, and 3;
(3) renewal fee of:
(A) twenty ($20.00) dollars plus the renewal death benefit fee as detailed in the Act is
required for an EMT renewal;
(B) twenty-five ($25.00) dollars plus the renewal death benefit fee as detailed in the Act is
required for an Intermediate or Advanced EMT renewal,;
(C) thirty ($30.00) dollars plus the renewal death benefit fee as detailed in the Act is
required for a Paramedic renewal; and
(4) documentation showing the completion of specific continuing education courses or classes that
meet or exceed the National Registry National Continued Competency Program guidelines.
(A) EMR applications shall submit 16 hours of continuing;
(B) EMT applicants shall submit 40 hours of continuing education;
(C) Intermediates and Advanced EMT applicants shall submit 50 hours of continuing
education;
(D) Paramedic applicants shall submit 60 hours of continuing education.
(b) All renewing certified and licensed emergency medical personnel shall submit a current CPR
certification or verification of competency that meets or exceeds American Heart Association standards.
(c) The renewing Intermediate, Advanced EMT, and Paramedic shall also submit documentation of skills
review and maintenance verification completed and signed by medical control.
(d) The renewing Paramedic shall also submit a current ACLS certification or verification of ACLS
Compentency that meets or exceeds American Heart Association standards.
(e) Certified and Licensed emergency medical personnel with a current NREMT certification may renew
by submitting:
(1) a completed EMR, EMT, Advanced EMT, or Paramedic renewal application,
(2) submitting the required line of duty death benefit fee as defined in 63 O.S. §§ 1-2505.1, 2, and
3, and
(3) a renewal fee of:
(A) twenty ($20.00) dollars for the Emergency Medical Technician,
(B) twenty-five ($25.00) dollars, for the Intermediate and Advanced EMS renewal fee,
(C) Paramedic renewal fee is thirty ($30.00) dollars, and
(4) a current copy of the applicants NREMT certification.



(f) No more than twelve (12) hours in any one topic is permitted. Continuing education topics include, but
are not limited to:

(1) Airway, respirations, and ventilation;

(2) Cardiovascular;

(3) Trauma;

(4) Medical; and

(5) Operations
(g) Individuals renewing with an inactive NREMT certification will be able to receive an Inactive
Oklahoma Certification or License.

(1) The certification or license will be designated as inactive.

(2) The individuals with an inactive certification or license are not authorized to provide patient

care until the license is converted to a standard certification or license.

(3) The conversion to a standard certification or license requires the applicant to provide the

Department documentation that verifies the applicant possesses an active NREMT certification.
(h) Individuals renewing their Oklahoma Intermediate or Paramedic Oklahoma License without any
NREMT certification and without the Oklahoma ALS skills review and verification may receive an
inactive license.

(1) The certification or license will be designated as inactive.

(2) The individuals with an inactive certification or license are not authorized to provide patient

care until the license is converted to a standard license.

(3) The conversion process to a standard license requires the applicant to provide to the

Department documentation that an agency medical director has verified the applicants ALS skills.
(1) Certified and licensed emergency medical personnel participating in training and education courses
shall be allowed to perform skills determined to be appropriate for the training level of the student with
supervision, as described in 63 O.S. 1-2504 (C) and (D).

[Source: Amended at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]

310:641-5-20. Scope of practice authorized by certification or licensure
(a) The Department shall establish a scope of practice for each certificate and license level.
(b) The medical control physician may limit an individual certificate or license holder's scope of practice.
(c) Certified and licensed emergency medical personnel may perform authorized skills and procedures
when authorized by medical control. When emergency medical personnel are without medical control, the
scope of practice for any level of emergency medical personnel is limited to first aid, CPR, and the use of
the AED.
(d) Certified Emergency Medical Responders may perform to the following level or within this scope of
practice:
(1) patient assessment, including the determination of vital signs, and triage,
(2) oxygen administration and airway management,
(3) basic wound management, including hemorrhage controls to include the use of tourniquets;
treatment of shock,
(4) cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and the use of only adjunctive airway devices and the use
of a semi-automated external defibrillator (SAED),
(5) splinting of suspected fractures;
(6) rescue and extrication procedures,
(7) assistance of patient prescribed medications including sublingual nitroglycerin, epinephrine
auto injector and hand held aerosol inhalers,
(8) administration of agency supplied oral glucose, activated charcoal, aspirin, agency supplied
epinephrine auto injector, albuterol or approved substitute per medical direction, and nasally
administered or atomized naloxone,
(9) such other emergency medical care skills and measures included in the instructional guidelines
adopted by the Department, and,
(10) upon the approval of the Department additional skills may be authorized upon the written
request of a local medical director,



(e) A licensed Emergency Medical Technician may perform to the following level or within this scope of
practice:
(1) all skills listed for the Emergency Medical Responder,
(2) patient assessment, determination of vital signs, diagnostic signs, and triage,
(3) bandaging, splinting, control of hemorrhage, and shock management,
(4) Administration of medications per medical direction and approved by the Department,
(5) maintenance of established intravenous fluids without medications,
(6) CPR, use of adjunctive airway devices to include supraglottic airway devices, and the use of the
AED,
(7) Upon the approval of the Department, additional skills may be authorized upon the written
request of a local medical director.
(f) A licensed Intermediate may perform to the following level or within this scope of practice,
(1) all skills listed within the Emergency Medical Responder and Emergency Medical Technician
scope of practice,
(2) establishment of vascular or intraosseous access for the administration of fluids without
medications. Approved fluids include; lactated ringers, normal saline, %2 normal saline, dextrose
5%, and dextrose 10%,
(3) administration of medications per medical direction and approved by the Department,
(4) venipuncture to obtain blood samples per local medical control,
(5) the use and placement of definitive airway adjuncts for adults, children, and infants,
(6) all other emergency medical care skills and measures included in the instructional guidelines
adopted by the Department which are not specifically listed above, and
(7) Upon the approval of the Department, additional skills may be authorized upon the written
request of a medical director.
(g) A licensed Advanced Emergency Medical Technician may perform to the following level and within
this scope of practice:
(1) all skills listed for the Emergency Medical Responder, Emergency Medical Technician and
Intermediate,
(2) other skills and procedures included in the instructional guidelines adopted by the Department,
and
(3) upon approval of the Department, additional skills may be authorized upon the written request
of the medical director.
(h) A licensed Paramedic may perform to the following level or within this scope of practice:
(1) all skills listed for the other certified or licensed emergency medical personnel
(2) recognitions, interpretation, treatment of cardiac arrhythmias using a cardiac
monitor/defibrillator/external pacemaker,
(3) advanced management of pediatric emergencies, including resuscitation, airway placement, and
medication,
(4) advanced management of obstetric and gynecologic emergency including medication
administration,
(5) advanced interventions of psychiatric patients including medication administration,
(6) all other emergency medical skills and measures included in the instructional guidelines
adopted by the Department, and
(7) upon approval of the Department, additional skills may be authorized upon the written request
of a medical director.
(1) Pursuant to 63 O.S. § 1-502.1, emergency medical personnel shall assist Good Samaritans who may
have been exposed to a communicable disease. This includes, but is not limited to:
(1) Providing OSDH information relating to communicable disease exposure, and
(2) Assistance with completing OSDH approved forms.
(j) Emergency medical personnel may also consult with a Good Samaritan for potential exposures based on
OSDH Guidance.
(k) The Department will provide support to emergency medical personnel through educational material to
ensure evidence based material is available.



[Source: Amended at 37 Ok Reg 1423, eff 9-11-20]

310:641-5-20.1. Scope of practice authorized by military reciprocity certification or licensure

(a) As part of the Military Reciprocity Certification or License Application process, the applicant is
required to submit documentation that details the Scope of Practice for their level that is authorized by the
source state.

(b) The Department will review and compare the source state scope of practice with the Scope of Practice
detailed in O.A.C. 310:641-5-20.

(c) Based on the submitted documentation, the Department will issue a certification or license to the
applicant that most closely matches an OSDH Emergency Personnel certification or license as described in
this subchapter.

[Source: Added at 37 Ok Reg 1423, eff 9-11-20]
PART 5. PROCEDURES AUTHORIZED

310:641-5-30. Standard of care [ AMENDED AND RENUMBERED TO 310:641-5-20]

[Source: Amended and renumbered to 310:641-5-20 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-5-31. Requirement and utilization
(a) Emergency medical personnel, licensed, certified, or otherwise authorized by the act, shall comply with
63 O.S. Section 1-2506, relating to the medical authority to perform medical procedures.
(b) Emergency medical personnel may be utilized by hospitals, health care facilities, ambulance services,
and emergency medical response agencies. Health care facilities may include, but not limited to, nursing
homes, doctor offices or clinics, organized industrial or private health facility services, athletic training
facilities, or any other organized group who may legally render patient care.
(1) While employed or associated with a hospital and/or a health care facility, emergency medical
personnel shall be limited to authorized procedures of a specific written "job description" approved
by a physician.
(2) While employed or associated with a licensed ambulance service or certified emergency
medical response agency, emergency medical personnel may perform medical director authorized
procedures not to exceed the level of license or certification without Department approval.
(c) Certified and licensed emergency medical personnel associated or employed at agencies or services
shall have an authorized procedure list.
(1) The list is to define the medications, procedures, and protocols a certified and licensed person
has been authorized to perform at a specific agency or service by the medical director.
(2) With medical control approval, the authorized procedure list will enable a certified or licensed
agency at a lower level to utilize higher level personnel within their scope of practice,
(3) The medical control physician has the authority to limit the authorized procedures without
Department approval. The authorized procedure list is to be used to document the limitations on the
individual's scope of practice at the agency or service.
(4) The authorized procedure list, which establishes the individual protocols of each certified or
licensed employee or associate at an agency or service, shall be maintained at the agency or
service.
(d) When certified or licensed emergency medical personnel are asked to perform or intercede in events
while not on duty with their agency or facility, and without medical control, their authorized scope of
practice is limited to basic first aid, CPR, and the use of an AED.

[Source: Amended and renumbered from 310:641-5-50 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-5-33. Certification and licensure enforcement actions
(a) The Department may revoke, suspend, place on probation, fine, or deny any license or certificate, or
renewal of any license or certificate for the following:

(1) Violations of any provision of Oklahoma statutes, the Act, or this Chapter;



(2) permitting, aiding, abetting, or conspiring with a person to violate or circumvent a law relating
to licensure or certification;

(3) fraud, misrepresentation, deception, or concealment of a material fact in applying for or
assisting in securing a license or license renewal or in taking an examination required for licensure;
(4) signing or issuing, in the licensee's professional capacity, a document or statement that the
licensee knows or reasonably ought to know contains a false or misleading statement;

(5) a misleading, deceptive, false, or fraudulent advertisement or other representation in the
conduct of the profession or occupation;

(6) offering, giving, or promising anything of value or benefit, as prohibited in Oklahoma law or
rule, to a Federal, state, or local government employee or official for the purpose of influencing the
employee or official to circumvent a Federal, state, or local law, rule, or ordinance governing the
licensee's profession or occupation;

(7) conviction, adjudication, or plea of guilty or nolo contendere, for an offense involving moral
turpitude, whether a misdemeanor or felony, and whether or not an appeal is pending;

(8) permitting, aiding, or abetting any illegal act;

(9) conduct of any practice that is detrimental to the welfare of the patient or potential users of the
service;

(10) conduct likely to deceive, defraud, or harm the public including, but not limited to, practicing
while subject to a physical or mental condition which renders the licensee unable to safely engage
in activities required of a licensee under this subchapter;

(11) acting in such a manner as to present a danger to public health or safety, or to any patient
including, but not limited to incompetence, negligence, malpractice, or engaging in conduct in the
course of one's practice while suffering from a contagious or infectious disease involving serious
risk to public health without taking adequate precautions;

(12) engaging in any act which is designed or intended to hinder, impede, or obstruct an
investigation of any matter governed by the Act or by lawful authority;

(13) making a false or misleading statement regarding the licensee's skill in connection with the
activities required of a licensee under this subchapter;

(14) use of a false, fraudulent, or deceptive statement, whether written or verbal, in connection with
the activities required of a licensee under this subchapter;

(15) knowingly make a false statement of material fact;

(16) failure to disclose a fact necessary to correct a misapprehension known by the licensee to have
arisen in the application or the matter under investigation;

(17) failure to respond to a demand for information made by the Department or any designated
representative thereof;

(18) interference with an investigation or disciplinary proceeding by willful misrepresentation of
facts, by use of threats or harassment against or inducement to a client or witness to prevent them
from providing evidence in a disciplinary proceeding or other legal action, or by use of threats or
harassment against or inducement to a person to prevent or attempt to prevent a disciplinary
proceeding or other legal action from being filed, prosecuted, or completed;

(19) having been subject to disciplinary action of another state or jurisdiction against a license or
other authorization, based upon acts or conduct by the licensee similar to acts or conduct that
would constitute grounds for disciplinary action. A report from the National Practitioners Database
(NPDB) or a certified copy of the record of the action taken by the other state or jurisdiction is
evidence of unprofessional conduct;

(20) having voluntarily relinquished or surrendered a professional or occupational license,
certificate, or registration in this state or in another state;

(21) having withdrawn an application for licensure, certification, or registration while under
investigation or prior to a determination of the completed application in this state or in another
state or jurisdiction;

(22) failure to practice within the scope of practice of the certificate or license as established by the
Department or by the medical director;

(23) failure to practice within adopted protocols and procedures established and approved by the
Department and the medical director;



(24) failure to practice within the protocols set forth by the medical director and approved by the
Department;
(25) habitual intemperance or excessive use of an addictive drug, alcohol, or other substance to the
extent that the use impairs the user physically or mentally; this provision does not apply to a
licensee who is in compliance with an approved therapeutic regimen under a physicians' care;
(26) filing a complaint with or providing information to the Department which the licensee knows,
or ought to know, is false or misleading. This provision does not apply to any filing of a complaint
or providing information to the board when done in good faith;
(27) failing to report to the Department any adverse judgement or award arising from a medical
liability claim or other unprofessional conduct;
(28) committing any act of sexual abuse, misconduct, or exploitation by the licensee whether or not
related to the practice;
(29) failing to exercise technical competence in carrying out medically authorized skills,
medication administration, or procedures related to their scope of practice;
(30) unauthorized possession of patient care reports, falsifying, or altering patient care reports,
intentionally documenting patient records incorrectly, failing to document patient care records, or
prepare patient care reports,
(31) revealing confidential information obtained as the result of a professional relationship without
the prior consent of the recipient of services except as authorized or required by law;
(32) diversion of a medication for any purpose or a violation of state or Federal laws governing the
administration of medications;
(33) failing as a clinical preceptor or lead instructor, to supervise, manage or train students
practicing under the licensee's supervision, according to:
(A) scope of practice,
(B) generally accepted standards of patient care,
(C) board approved instructional guidelines,
(D) protocols, policies, and procedures,
(34) willfully harassing, abusing, or intimidating a patient or student, either physically or verbally;
(35) practicing as an emergency medical professional at any level without a current, active
Oklahoma certification or license;
(36) failing to comply with administrative orders, to include probation, suspension, or revocation
orders;
(37) failure to comply with a term, condition, or limitation of a certificate or license by final order
of the Department;
(38) any other act, whether specifically enumerated or not, that in fact constitutes unprofessional
conduct;
(39) failing to report to the Department the unprofessional conduct or noncompliance of
regulations of other certified or licensed emergency medical providers;
(40) conduct that does not meet the generally accepted standards of practice, which may be, but not
required to be, supported by malpractice judgements, or tort judgements; and
(41) Failing to report the institution of or final action on a malpractice action, including a final
decision on appeal, against the licensee or of an action against the licensee by a:
(A) peer review committee;
(B) professional association; or
(C) local, state, Federal, territorial, provincial, or tribal government.
(b) Any license or certificate issued by the Department may voluntarily be surrendered at any time during
the license period for any reason by the license/certificate holder. The voluntary surrender of a license or
certificate does not preclude the Department's authority to complete any pending action against said
license/certificate holder. A surrendered license/certificate shall be treated as if revoked by the Department.
(c) The Department may require a one (1) year period from the date of revocation before the license /
certificate holder may apply for a license or certificate from the Department.
(d) If in the course of an investigation the Department determines that a license/certificate/permit holder or
applicant has engaged in conduct that is detrimental to the health, safety, or welfare of the public, and
which conduct necessitates immediate action to prevent further harm, the Commissioner may order a



summary suspension of the license/certificate/permit holder's license, certificate, or permit respectively. A
presumption of imminent harm to the public shall exist if the Department determines probable cause for
conduct of any practice that is detrimental to the welfare of the patient or potential users of the service
exists.

(e) In addition to any other penalties, a civil fine of not more than one hundred ($100.00) dollars per
violation per day may be assessed, for violations of the Act or this Chapter.

[Source: Amended at 37 Ok Reg 1423, eff 9-11-20]
PART 7. IN-SERVICE INSTRUCTION PROGRAM [REVOKED]

310:641-5-40. Requirements for advanced/cardiac [REVOKED)]

[Source: Revoked at 21 Ok Reg 2755, eff 7-12-04]
PART 9. MEDICAL CONTROL [REVOKED]

310:641-5-50. Requirement and utilization [AMENDED AND RENUMBERED TO 310:641-5-31]

[Source: Amended and renumbered to 310:641-5-31 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]
PART 11. EMERGENCY MEDICAL PERSONNEL CERTIFICATION [REVOKED]

310:641-5-60. Emergency medical technician - defibrillation [REVOKED]
[Source: Revoked at 17 Ok Reg 2948, eff 7-13-00]

310:641-5-61. Emergency medical responder [AMENDED AND RENUMBERED TO 310:641-5- 18]
[Source: Amended and renumbered to 310:641-5-18 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-5-61.1. First responder defibrillation [REVOKED]
[Source: Revoked at 18 Ok Reg 2501, eff 6-25-01]

310:641-5-62. Other certification [REVOKED]

[Source: Revoked at 21 Ok Reg 2755, eff 7-12-04]
PART 13. RECIPROCITY [REVOKED]

310:641-5-70. Reciprocity [REVOKED)]

[Source: Revoked at 24 Ok Reg 1991, eff 6-25-07]
PART 15. ENFORCEMENT ACTIONS [REVOKED]

310:641-5-80. Enforcement actions [AMENDED AND RENUMBERED TO 310:641-5-33]

[Source: Amended and renumbered to 310:641-5-33 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]
PART 17. SPECIAL PROVISIONS [REVOKED]

310:641-5-90. Severance [REVOKED)]
[Source: Revoked at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]
310:641-5-91. Repealer [REVOKED]

[Source: Revoked at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]



310:641-5-92. Effective date [REVOKED]

[Source: Revoked at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]
SUBCHAPTER 7. TRAINING PROGRAMS

PART 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS

310:641-7-1. Purpose

The purpose of this subchapter is to establish minimum requirements for emergency medical
services that includes:

(1) initial and ongoing education and training programs;

(2) instructor and educator qualifications;

(3) evaluation, quality assurance and quality improvement.

[Source: Amended at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]

310:641-7-2. Definitions [REVOKED]

[Source: Revoked at 18 Ok Reg 2501, eff 6-25-01]
PART 3. TRAINING PROGRAMS

310:641-7-10. Training and education programs
(a) All programs shall be in compliance with the requirements of this Subchapter.
(b) Each program shall submit to the Department an application for approval to conduct emergency
medical services training. The application shall be on forms provided by the Department. Programs must
be currently certified to teach EMS related in Oklahoma before beginning courses.
(c) Training program applicants may apply to become certified for the following levels:
(1) Emergency Medical Responder,
(2) Emergency Medical Technician,
(3) Advanced Emergency Medical Technician, and
(4) Paramedic.
(d) A separate certificate will be issued for each training level.
(e) Approved training programs shall use a quality assurance process that is approved by the Department.

[Source: Amended at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]

310:641-7-11. Training program applications
(a) The application process shall be completed by the applicant through the established process. The
information submitted to the Department shall include but is not be limited to, the following:
(1) name of the training program, address, telephone number, email and fax number;
(2) levels of training that the program anticipates being able to provide;
(3) the name of the Program Director and a curriculum vitae;
(4) the name of the Course Coordinator and curriculum vitae or resume that includes address,
telephone number, fax number and an electronic mail address;
(5) the name of the Medical Director, a curriculum vitae or resume which includes address,
telephone number, fax number, and an electronic-mail address, a current copy of their Oklahoma
State medical license, and a current copy of their Oklahoma Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous
Drugs registration;
(6) a copy of the student grievance and appeal policy;
(7) list of all instructors and individual resume for each with copies of required documentation of
instructor qualifications;
(8) of all current agreements for clinical experience locations required to conduct courses;
(9) of inventories of equipment and supplies;
(10) course plans (syllabi) and curriculum objectives for the course; and
(11) site applications for additional sites of instruction with required attachments.



(b) Department personnel may make site visits, inspections or observations, to determine the training
program's ability to conduct emergency medical services training in accordance with the Act and rules.
(c) Certified training programs will have a plan or policy in place to address a sudden lapse of medical
direction to ensure coverage when a medical director is not available.
(1) The Department shall be notified the next business day of any lapse or change of medical
direction by the respective program. If the agency has made arrangements for a back-up medical
director or an immediate replacement, then a lapse has not occurred.
(2) In the event of a lapse in medical direction, in that a medical director is not available, the
training program will cease instruction of students until the program is able to implement their
policy for a substitute or find a replacement for their medical director.
(d) minimum attendance policy, and
(e) for EMR and EMT programs, the name of the National Registry Coordinator.

[Source: Amended at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]

310:641-7-12. Training program renewal
(a) Training programs shall submit an application for renewal, at least sixty (60) days prior to the
expiration of their certificate on forms provided by the Department.
(b) In addition to the renewal application, the following documentation will be submitted to the
Department with the renewal application:
(1) changes in information pertaining to the program director, course coordinator, and medical
director;
(2) copies of current clinical agreements;
(3) current equipment and supply inventory;
(4) changes to emergency medical services instructors affiliated with the training program;
(5) current training site locations;
(6) previous three years of benchmark data to include:
(A) NREMT cumulative pass rates in three attempts, and
(B) student retention based on the program policies; and
(7) any other pertinent information requested by the Department.

[Source: Amended at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]

310:641-7-13. Training program responsibilities
(a) Each training program sponsoring emergency medical services training shall be responsible for:
(1) course completion based on Oklahoma instructional guidelines, and
(2) respond to and resolve student complaints and grievances.
(b) Each training program shall issue a course completion certificate and/or course transcript to each
student successfully completing an approved course. The completion documentation will include:
(1) program representative name,
(2) course authorization number,
(3) type of course, and
(4) completion dates.
(c) The minimum course attendance will be based on the training programs policy.
(d) The student ratio for lab activities will be one (1) instructor to ten (10) students.
(e) Records for each course offered shall be maintained by the training program for at least three (3) years.
Records shall include at a minimum:
(1) attendance records,
(2) clinical experience summaries,
(3) student evaluations and grades,
(4) a record of lab assistants and their documentation of qualifications, and
(5) all lab documentation for the course and National Registry practical examinations.
(6) National Registry practical examination skill sheets are required for Emergency Medical
Responder and Emergency Medical Technician courses only.



(f) Each training program shall ensure that all Department required equipment is in good, safe, and
operational condition.
(1) The equipment and supplies for courses must be dedicated for training purposes,
(2) Equipment and supplies used on live participants must meet manufacturer guidelines and
recommendations;
(3) Equipment shall be available for inspection by Department representatives at any time during a
regularly scheduled class, and
(4) Sufficient equipment quantities shall be made available for each course conducted.
(g) Each training program shall ensure that a qualified preceptor supervises each student during scheduled
clinical experiences.
(h) Each training program shall administer a final written and practical examination for each course and
provide National Registry's practical examinations for both Emergency Medical Responder and
Emergency Medical Technician courses after course completion.
(1) Following successful completion of all components of the course each EMR and EMT training program
must provide a National Registry psychomotor examination.
(j) The program shall require instructors to follow the Department approved course syllabus, use lesson
plans, and provide instruction for all course objectives.
(k) For all courses which require a practical examination, the training program shall follow the National
Registry Practical Examination Standards established within the educational guidelines as published by the
Department.

[Source: Amended at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]

310:641-7-14. Training and education program initial and ongoing approval

(a) Any application for approval submitted by an applicant pursuant to the Act shall constitute
authorization for any inspection or investigation by the Department.

(b) A training program in compliance with all requirements shall be issued a training program certificate by
the Department expiring the second June 30 after the certification date. Subsequent certifications will be
valid for two (2) years.

(c) The Department may conduct quality management visits to any training program. Visits may include,
but not be limited to class visits, instructor evaluations, student surveys, review or required records, and
visits to clinical sites.

[Source: Amended at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]

310:641-7-14.1. Denial of a training program renewal

A training program renewal application may be denied for programs that fail to maintain a
minimum pass rate on the cognitive exam that is within:

(1) 20% of National Registry three (3) year average, or

(2) a minimum of 50% course retention as defined by the training program.

[Source: Added at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]

310:641-7-15. Course approval
(a) Each training program shall submit a written course application to the Department on forms provided
by the Department. The Department may approve course requests that do not fully meet course application
requirements if non-approval would be detrimental to the public.
(b) The course application shall be submitted at least thirty (30) days prior to the course start date with
exceptions at the Department discretion and shall include, but not be limited to:
(1) Course information including type of course, location, start and end date, class session days and
times, course coordinator, instructors, and final practical examination date, and time and location as
required;
(2) Course outline including date and time, topic, curriculum division and section number,
instructor and location if different than those listed on the application for each class session, and



(3) A list of locations and site coordinator for each location, if multiple locations via distance
learning technology are used;
(c) Each training program conducting emergency medical services training and education shall use the
Department approved course guidelines.
(d) Each training program shall ensure that course participants have access to a CPR, PALS, PEPP, and/or
ACLS instructors that meet or exceed AHA standards.
(e) For each course conducted by a training program, rosters reflecting the students participating in a given
course shall be submitted to the Department under the following guidelines:
(1) An initial student roster within twenty-one (21) days of the course start date. Amendments to
the initial student roster may be made after the twenty-one (21) day requirement only with
Department approval. In no case will a student be accepted on a final student roster that does not
appear on an initial student roster for that course.
(2) A final student roster within twenty-one (21) calendar days of the course end date. This roster
shall identify students who have successfully completed all course requirements, withdrawn from
the course, failed the course, or whose class work was incomplete;
(3) Amendments to the final student roster for incomplete course objectives may be made after the
twenty-one (21) day requirement only with Department approval. An amended final student roster
will be accepted after ninety (90) calendar days of the course ending date with Department
approval. A request for Department approval shall include a description of the circumstances
requiring additional time.
(f) The Department may invalidate all or any portion of a course conducted where a violation of the Act or
rules has been substantiated.

[Source: Amended at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]

310:641-7-16. Curriculum

The Department shall provide curricula and instructional guidelines based on the National Highway
Traffic Safety Administration National Emergency Medical Services Education Standards of 2020 for
Emergency Medical Responder, Emergency Medical Technician, Intermediate, Advanced Emergency
Medical Technicians, and Paramedics initial, refresher, and transitional courses.

[Source: Amended at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]

310:641-7-17. Notice of violation
(a) A violation of the Act or this Chapter is ground for the Department to issue a written order, sent via
certified mail, citing the violation, affording the training program or instructor an opportunity to
demonstrate compliance, and indicating the time no less than fifteen (15) days after receipt of the notice in
which any needed correction shall be made. The fifteen-day notice period may be reduced as, in the
opinion of the Department, may be necessary to render an order of compliance reasonably effectual.
(b) Unless the Department specifies a reduced period, within thirty (30) days after receipt of the notice of
violation, the training program or instructor shall submit to the Department a written demonstration of
compliance and/or plan of correction.
(c) A plan of correction shall include at least the following:

(1) When the correction was or will be completed;

(2) How the correction was or will be made;

(3) What measures will prevent a recurrence; and

(4) Who will be accountable to ensure future compliance.
(d) The Department shall ensure that the training program or instructor is afforded due process in
accordance with the Procedures of the State Department of Health, Oklahoma Administrative Code, Title
310, Chapter 2, and the Administrative Procedures Act, Title 75 O.S. Section 250 et seq.
(e) Violations found by the Department which require immediate correction shall be handled in compliance
with Title 75 of the Oklahoma Statutes, Section 314.1 and the Oklahoma Administrative Code, Title 310,
Chapter 2, specifically 310:2-21-23.



[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]
PART 5. INSTRUCTOR QUALIFICATIONS

310:641-7-20. Instructor requirements
(a) A registry of approved emergency medical services instructors shall be maintained by the Department.
Each instructor candidate shall submit to the Department an application for initial instructor certification.
The application shall be on forms provided by the Department and accompanied by current documentation
of qualification. This application shall constitute authorization for any inspection or investigation by the
Department. The initial period for instructor certification will be concurrent with current Oklahoma
Emergency Medical Personnel certification or licensure. The initial renewal requirement will be pro-rated
based on the remaining time to the expiration date.
(1) Qualifications for a Level 1 and Level II instructor certification include:
(A) A resume or letter documenting two (2) years of direct field experience in emergency
medical services within the previous five (5) years which meets or exceeds the level of
training being taught;
(B)
Successful completion of a Department approved EMS Instructor Training Course or Fire
Service Instructor I and/or II, with the EMS Instructor Training Bridge (ITC) Course or
equivalent within the previous two (2) years. Applicants with credentials greater than two
year old will need to provide documentation of classroom or instructor experience totaling
eight (8) hours annually from the date their initial credential(s) was issued, or complete a
sixteen (16 hour instructor refresher to update their credential(s);
(C) Current state certification or licensure; and
(D) within three (3) years of the effective date of this regulation, the instructor identified as
the lead instructor on a course authorization form of an initial paramedic course at an
accredited program must possess a minimum of an associate's degree.
(2) To teach, a qualified instructor must have a letter from the director and medical director of a
certified first response agency or ambulance service or the coordinator of an approved training
institution, documenting aftiliation. Level 1 instructors can teach at training institutions, but will be
required to renew as Level 2 instructors.
(b) Emergency Medical Service Lab Instructor.
(1) An individual file for each qualified Lab Instructor shall be maintained by each training
program, licensed ambulance service, or certified emergency medical response agency including
documentation of qualification.
(2) Qualifications for lab assistants include:
(A)
Two (2) years of current experience in medical services which meets or exceeds the level of
training being assisted or evaluated; and
(B) Any certification required for the skill being assisted or evaluated.
(c) Emergency Medical Service Level 3 Instructor certification.
(1) Instructor Training Courses (ITC) and Instructor Refresher Courses (IRC) shall be taught by a
state certified Level 3 Instructor.
(2) An application for a Level 3 Instructor shall be submitted on forms provided by the Department
and accompanied by current documentation of qualification.
(3) Qualifications for a Level 3 Instructor include:
(A) Affiliation with an approved training program
(B) Current Oklahoma licensure as an EMT or higher.
(C) Five (5) years experience as an EMS field provider.
(D) Current approval as an Oklahoma EMS Instructor
(E) Completion of the NHTSA/DOT EMS Instructor Training Course;
(F) Complete a minimum of 500 hours of didactic training as the lead or primary instructor
in initial EMT, AEMT, or Paramedic courses; and
(G) Attendance at all mandatory meetings with the Department and other Instructor
Educators.



(4) Level 3 instructor must maintain EMS instructor certification(s). A registry of approved
emergency medical services instructor educators shall be maintained by the Department.

[Source: Amended at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]

310:641-7-21. Instructor and instructor educator renewal
(a) Instructors and instructor educators shall submit an application for renewal every two (2) years.
(b) Each renewal will include verification of instructor continuing education or refresher course.
(1) Level linstructors are required to submit eight (8) hours of continuing education or refresher
course hours.
(2) Level 2 and 3 instructors are required to submit sixteen (16) hours of continuing education or
refresher course hours.
(c) Instructor continuing education may consist of, but not be limited to:
(1) technology and software utilized in instruction and tracking student activities,
(2) psycho-motor exam evaluator,
(3) objective and evaluation writing,
(4) curriculum review and utilization,
(5) classroom management,
(6) instructional theory and application,
(7) teaching initial, refresher, and continuing education classes and courses for emergency medical
professionals,
(8) courses, classes, and workshops approved by the Department,
(d) Instructors are limited to a maximum of four (4) hours of actual didactic, psycho-motor, or affective
domain classes in any one area or topic.
(e) Level 3 instructors providing the continuing education hours as a refresher course shall submit a course
authorization request for approval.
(f) The Department may deny, refuse to renew, revoke, suspend, or place on probation any instructor or
instructor educator for reasons which include, but are not limited to:
(1) Failure to attend Department required workshops or mandatory Department meetings for EMS
instructor educators;
(2) Failure to follow Department rules;
(3) Failure to maintain professional license or certification qualifications;
(4) Falsification of any training document;
(5) Failure to maintain professional conduct at all times when providing EMS instruction;
(6) Failure to obtain sixteen (16) hours of instructor continuing education during the two (2) year
certification period for EMS instructors or to complete a Department approved EMS Instructor
Refresher.
(g) This application shall constitute authorization for any inspection or investigation by the Department.
(h) An instructor's certification expiration date is concurrent with their Oklahoma Emergency Medical
Personnel Certification or License expiration date. For the initial renewal of an instructor certification, any
continuing education renewal requirements will be pro-rata based on the next expiration date.

[Source: Amended at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]

310:641-7-21.1. Instructor and instructor educator re-entry requirements

(a) If expired more than two (2) years, the applicant must complete a new Department approved Instructor
Training Course (ITC) and reapply as an initial candidate for EMS Instructor.

(b) If less than two (2) years, the applicant must complete a Instructor Training Course Refresher.

[Source: Added at 23 Ok Reg 2386, eff 6-25-06]
310:641-7-22. Early defibrillation instructor requirements [REVOKED)]

[Source: Revoked at 17 Ok Reg 2948, cff 7-13-00]



310:641-7-23. Early defibrillation master trainers [REVOKED]|

[Source: Revoked at 17 Ok Reg 2948, eff 7-13-00]

310:641-7-24. Training manager authorization
(a) Licensed ambulance services and certified emergency medical response agencies shall be authorized to
conduct training based upon the need for training and continuing education activities. This agency supplied
training is limited to refresher courses, emergency medical responder courses, continuing education, and
other training courses as designated by the Department.
(b) Ambulance services and emergency medical response agencies must use Level 1, 2, or 3 instructors to
either provide and/or oversee the training. A guest presenter may be used provided an approved instructor
is present and responsible for the training session.
(c) An attendance policy or statement shall be sent with course authorization requests for approval by the
Department.
(1) Attendance shall be maintained at the agency for three years.
(2) Attendance records will be provided when requested to the Department or to agencies to verify
activities.
(d) The Department may attend any training or educational activity to ensure compliance.
(e) The Department may invalidate all or any portion of training conducted if a violation of the Act or rules
has been substantiated.

[Source: Amended at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]

310:641-7-25. Training program, instructor, and course records and files
(a) All required records will be maintained for a minimum of three years.
(b) Each training program shall maintain electronic or paper records at the business office. The files shall
be available for review by the Department during normal business hours.
(¢) The records to be maintained, based on level and type of instruction include:
(1) Clinical agreements,
(2) student handbook,
(3) course authorization requests and approvals,
(4) initial, amended, and final rosters,
(5) attendance records,
(6) psycho-motor exam guides,
(7) instructor credential file containing the licenses, certifications, training courses, and continuing
education required to maintain instructor certification,
(8) course syllabi or course schedules
(9) instructional guidelines and course objectives, and
(10) agreements for support at off-campus sites.
(11) A student portfolio or file will be maintained to reflect the work completed by the student to
include classroom evaluations from the cognitive, psycho-motor, and affective learning domains.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eft 9-11-16]

310:641-7-29. Suspension, revocation, probation, or non-renewal of an approved training program
or instructor
(a) The Department may suspend, revoke, fine, or place on probation an instructor, training program, or
agency for the following:
(1) violations of any provision of Oklahoma Statutes, the Act, or regulations promulgated by the
Board;
(2) permitting, aiding, or abetting in any illegal act in connection with a program or agency,
(3) conduct of any practice that is detrimental to the welfare of a patient or user of the services;
(4) failure to comply with a written order issued by the Department within the time frame specified
by the Department;



(5) engaging in any act which is designed or intended to hinder, impede, or obstruct an
investigation by the Department,
(6) a program that fails to renew their certification within the time frame as specified in this
Chapter shall be considered as expired and therefore no longer certified as a training program in
Oklahoma.
(7) failing as a clinical preceptor or instructor to supervise, manage, or train students under their
instruction, regarding and according to:
(A) scope of practice;
(B) generally accepted standards of patient care;
(C) U.S. DOT instructional guidelines;
(D) protocols, policies, and procedures.
(8) willfully harassing, abusing, or intimidating a patient or student,
(9) misleading, deceptive, false, or fraudulent advertisement or other representation in the conduct
of the profession or occupation,
(10) offering, giving, or promising anything of value (as defined in Oklahoma statutes or
Department policy) to a Federal, state, or local government employee or official for the purpose of
influencing the employee or official to circumvent a Federal, state, or local law, rule, or ordinance
governing the licensee's profession or occupation;
(11) interfering with an investigation or disciplinary proceeding by willful misrepresentation of
facts, by the use of threats or harassment against, or inducement to a client or witness to prevent
them from providing evidence in a disciplinary proceeding or other legal action, or by use of
threats or harassment against or inducement to a person to prevent or attempt to prevent a
disciplinary proceeding or other legal action from being filed, prosecuted, or completed,
(12) failure to report the unprofessional conduct or non-compliance of regulation of individually
licensed and certified personnel as defined in this Chapter of regulation.
(b) No person, company, governmental entity or trust authority may operate a training program except in
accordance with 63 O.S. Section 1-2501 et, seq., and the regulations as promulgated by the Board. The
Commissioner, District Attorney of the county wherein a violation occurs, or the Attorney General of this
state, shall have the authority to enforce provisions of the law.
(c) A license/certificate/permit holder or applicant, in connection with a license application or an
investigation conducted by the Department pursuant to this Chapter shall not:
(1) knowingly make a false statement of material fact;
(2) fail to disclose a fact necessary to correct a misapprehension known by the licensee to have
arisen in the application or the matter under investigation; or
(3) fail to respond to a demand for information made by the Department or any designated
representative thereof.
(d) If in the course of an investigation the Department determines that the license/certificate/permit holder
or applicant has engaged in conduct that is detrimental to the health, safety, or welfare of the public, and
which necessitates immediate action to prevent further harm, the Commissioner may order a summary
suspension of the license/certificate/permit holder's license, certificate, or permit respectively held. A
presumption of imminent harm to the public shall exist if the Department determines probable cause for
any conduct that is detrimental to the welfare of the patient or potential users of the service exists;
(e) In addition to any other penalties, a civil fine of not more than one hundred ($100.00) dollars per
violation per day may be assessed, for violations of the Act or OAC 310:641.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]
PART 7. IN-SERVICE INSTRUCTION PROGRAM |[REVOKED]

310:641-7-30. Authorization [AMENDED AND RENUMBERED TO 310:641-7-24]

[Source: Amended and renumbered to 310:641-7-24 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-7-31. Qualifications and approval [REVOKED]



[Source: Revoked at 18 Ok Reg 2501, eff 6-25-01]
PART 9. APPEALS [REVOKED]

310:641-7-40. Adverse actions [REVOKED)]

[Source: Revoked at 17 Ok Reg 2948, eff 7-13-00]
PART 11. SPECIAL PROVISIONS [REVOKED]

310:641-7-50. Severance [REVOKED)]
[Source: Revoked at 18 Ok Reg 2501, eff 6-25-01]
310:641-7-51. Repealer [REVOKED)]
[Source: Revoked at 33 Ok Reg 1529, cff 9-11-16]
310:641-7-52. Effective date [REVOKED]
[Source: Revoked at 17 Ok Reg 2948, eff 7-13-00]
310:641-7-53. Paramedic curriculum [AMENDED AND RENUMBERED TO 310:641-7-16]

[Source: Amended and renumbered to 310:641-7-16 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]
PART 13. SEMI-AUTOMATED EXTERNAL DEFIBRILLATOR TRAINING

310:641-7-60. Approved program providers [REVOKED]
[Source: Revoked at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]

310:641-7-61. Approved course directors and trainers

To be subject to 76 O.S. § 5A, the Department requires course directors and trainers to complete
cardiopulmonary resuscitation training from the American Red Cross, American Heart Association,
National Safety Council, or any other similar course that is approved by the Department.

[Source: Amended at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]
SUBCHAPTER 9. TRAUMA TRANSFER AND REFERRAL CENTERS

PART 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS

310:641-9-1. Purpose
The rules of this subchapter are promulgated to establish standards for certification of trauma
transfer and referral centers.

[Source: Added at 22 Ok Reg 2418, eff 7-11-05]
PART 2. CERTIFICATION

310:641-9-2. Certification required

No person, partnership, company, governmental authority, or other legal entity including those
established by Oklahoma Constitutional authority or trust authority shall operate, advertise or hold
themselves out as providing emergency medical trauma transfer and referral center services without first
obtaining a certificate from the Department.

[Source: Added at 22 Ok Reg 2418, eff 7-11-05]

310:641-9-3. Application
(a) The applicant shall complete an application form approved by the Department to apply for a certificate.



(b) The application shall contain, but not be limited to, the following:
(1) A description of proposed trauma, transfer and referral center operations, detailing how
transfers will be processed within the region and how transfers into and out of the region will be
facilitated;
(2) A staffing plan and roster including an estimate of call volume and distribution;
(3) A plan for supplemental training for trauma, transfer and referral center staff;
(4) An endorsement from the physician who is providing medical control for the center;
(5) A plan that identifies methods of communication with each emergency medical service and
hospital that provides trauma care or transport within the region and/or transfers patients into or out
of the region;
(6) The methods of data collection, confidential storage, retrieval, and reporting of requested
information related to trauma transports and transfers to the Medical Audit Committee, Department
and Commissioner of Health;
(7) A copy of the medical protocols used to triage and identify the level of trauma care needed for
each patient; and
(8) A continuous quality improvement plan.
(c) The Department shall approve, identify the application as incomplete or deny the application within
thirty (30) days after submittal by the applicant.

[Source: Added at 22 Ok Reg 2418, eff 7-11-05]

310:641-9-4. Issuance of certification
(a) A certificate shall be issued to each center found to be compliant with Department requirements and
shall be valid for a period of two years following the date of issuance.
(b) The certificate shall be issued to the legal operating entity for the service area given in the application.
(c) A sole provider determination for any region may be made by the Department after consideration of the
following factors:

(1) The needs of the region and state for trauma transfer and referral direction and facilitation;

(2) The ability of the provider to provide adequate direction and facilitation; and,

(3) The current availability of a trauma, transfer and referral center in the region.
(d) A certificate shall be valid for the legal operating entity making application and is not assignable or
transferable.

[Source: Added at 22 Ok Reg 2418, eft 7-11-05]

310:641-9-5. Certificate renewal

(a) At least sixty (60) days prior to the expiration of their certificate, a certified trauma transfer and referral
center shall reapply for a renewal certificate using forms approved by the Department.

(b) The certified center shall identify any changes in operations from the original application.

(c) The Department shall revaluate, renew or deny the renewal certification based on the center's
compliance with Department requirements for certification.

[Source: Added at 22 Ok Reg 2418, eft 7-11-05]

310:641-9-6. Transfer and referral center standards

(a) Staff. Each center shall have adequate numbers of staff to immediately respond to all calls for trauma
transfers and referrals. The center shall also have a plan to activate additional staff for peak loads, regional
emergencies or disasters.

(b) Medical direction. Each center shall have a qualified physician medical director who holds a current,
unrestricted, Medical Doctor (M.D.) or Doctor of Osteopathy (D.O.) license for Oklahoma. The physician
medical director shall provide medical oversight for center operations, approve triage and transfer
protocols, and participate in quality improvement activities. The medical director shall be routinely
available for consultation with center staff.



(c) Administration. The governing body for each center shall appoint an administrator who shall be
responsible for center operations.
(d) Staff training. Training for staff shall include at least the following Department approved courses:
(1) Emergency Medical Dispatch Training;
(2) Trauma, triage, and transfer training covering current Oklahoma guidelines; and,
(3) A training course on use of Department supported software designed to identify hospital
capability and capacity for all Oklahoma hospitals.
(e) Equipment. Each center shall maintain adequate equipment to facilitate center operations and
communicate with all emergency medical service providers and hospitals. Each center shall have working
communications equipment including a toll-free phone service; radios with available frequencies to
communicate with fire, emergency medical providers, and hospitals; and, computer equipment with high-
speed Internet access for immediate electronic communications.
(f) Records. Records of all trauma transfers shall be maintained in an electronic format approved by the
Department. The center shall also maintain voice recordings of all phone and radio transmissions for a
period of at least two (2) years. Records of patient transfer shall be confidential and shall only be used for
quality improvement activities or for reports to the Medical Audit Committee and the Commissioner of
Health.

[Source: Added at 22 Ok Reg 2418, eft 7-11-05]

310:641-9-7. Revocation
The Department may revoke or suspend any trauma transfer and referral center certificate at any
time for failure to comply with requirements.

[Source: Added at 22 Ok Reg 2418, eff 7-11-05]
SUBCHAPTER 11. SPECIALTY CARE AMBULANCE SERVICE

310:641-11-1. Purpose

(a) Subchapter 11 of this Chapter incorporates the authorization, licensure, and the minimum requirements
for operating a specialty care ambulance service that exceeds the training and equipment for a paramedic
service and that responds solely to interfacility requests for service with appropriately trained, certified,
and licensed personnel, and

(b) provide standards for the enforcement of the provisions of the Act and this Chapter.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eft 9-11-16]

310:641-11-2. License required [REVOKED)]

[Source: Revoked at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]

310:641-11-3. Issuance of a specialty care ambulance license

(a) The Department shall have sole discretion to approve or deny an application for a specialty care
ambulance service license based on the ability of the applicant to meet the requirements of this Chapter.
(b) A specialty care transport (SCT) is the interfacility transportation of a critically injured or ill patient by
a ground or air ambulance vehicle, including the provision of medically necessary supplies and services, at
a level of service beyond the scope of the Paramedic. SCT is necessary when a patient's condition requires
ongoing care that must be furnished by one or more health professionals in an appropriate specialty area,
for example emergency or critical care nursing, emergency medicine, respiratory care, cardiovascular care
or a Paramedic with additional training.

(c) Any specialty care ambulance service licensed prior to the effective date of this Chapter shall remain in
effect for the period of license issuance, except that all such specialty care ambulance services shall be
subject to the Act and rules which otherwise pertain, including the requirement for renewal. At renewal, the
agency must be fully compliant with all applicable regulations within this Chapter of regulation.

(d) The license is not transferable or assignable.



(e) The initial license period shall expire the second June 30th, following the date of issue. Subsequent
renewal periods shall be twenty-four (24) months, or two (2) years.
(f) The specialty care license is limited to hospital to hospital transports of patients requiring care beyond
the scope of practice of Paramedics, as identified in the application to include:

(1) medication formulary;

(2) patient care equipment;

(3) treatment protocol(s); and

(4) applicants will provide documentation that the medication, equipment, and treatment protocols

are specific to the type or types of patients identified in the application.
(g) The original, or a copy of the original, license shall be posted in a conspicuous place in the principal
business office. If an office or other public place is not available, then the license shall be available to
anyone requesting to see the license during regular business hours.

[Source: Amended and renumbered from 310:641-3-42 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-11-4. Renewal of a specialty care ambulance license
(a) The Department shall provide to all licensed specialty care ambulance services a "Survey/Renewal
Form" each December. This form shall be considered and utilized as a renewal application, if due. The
"Survey/Renewal Form" along with proof of current workers' compensation and liability insurance shall be
returned to the Department by January 31st each year.
(1) Upon receipt of a complete and correct renewal application, a renewal fee statement shall be
mailed by the Department to each licensee in need of renewal.
(2) A non-refundable fee for the renewal of an ambulance service license shall be one hundred
dollars ($100.00), fifty dollars ($50.00) for each substation, plus twenty dollars ($20.00) for each
vehicle in excess of two (2).
(3) An ambulance service license shall be renewed if:
(A) The ambulance service has applied for such renewal;
(B) The ambulance service has no outstanding deficiencies or is in need of correction as
may be identified during inspection of the service, and,
(C) The proper fee has been received by the Department.
(b) An ambulance service license, if not renewed by midnight June 30 of the expiration year, shall be
considered non-renewed.
(1) A grace period of thirty (30) days is permitted under 63 O.S. Section 1-1702.
(2) Thereafter a new application shall be required for the continuation of any such license, and the
applicant shall be subject to initial application procedures. An extension may be granted by the
Department for the purpose of renewal, subject to a determination by the Department of the
following:
(A) the safety, need, and well-being of the public and general populace to be served by the
ambulance service; and
(B) the availability of personnel, equipment, and the financial ability of the applicant to
meet the minimum standards of emergency medical services law.

[Source: Amended and renumbered from 310:641-3-45 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-11-5. Denial for an initial license

(a) A specialty care ambulance license application may be denied for any of the following reasons:
(1) A felony conviction, adjudication, or plea of guilty or nolo contendere of any person, member
of the firm, partnership, corporation, or the person designated to supervise the service; to include,
but not be limited to, fraud, grand larceny, child abuse, sexual offense(s), drug offense(s), or a
conviction, adjudication, or plea of guilty or nolo contendere which might otherwise have a bearing
on the operation of the service;
(2) Falsification of Department required information;
(3) Ownership, management, or administration by principals of an entity whose license has been
revoked; and



(4) Licensure or re-licensure may not be in the best interest of the public as determined by the
Department.
(b) An applicant shall be notified in writing within sixty (60) days from the date the Department receives a
complete application of the granting or denial of a license. In the event of a denial, the specific reason(s)
shall be noted, and an indication of the corrective action necessary to obtain a license or renewal shall be
given, if applicable. A license application may be re-submitted, but each resubmission shall be considered
an initial application.

[Source: Amended and renumbered from 310:641-3-46 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-11-6. Denial of an application for renewal of license
(a) A license application for renewal may be denied for any of the following:
(1) the failure to meet standards set forth by statute or rule,
(2) a felony conviction, adjudication, or plea of guilty or nolo contendere of any person, member of
the firm, partnership, corporation, or the person designated to manage the service to include, but
not limited to fraud, grand larceny, child abuse, sexual offense(s), or a conviction, adjudication, or
plea of guilty or nolo contendere which might otherwise have a bearing on the operation of the
service,
(3) outstanding notice of violation that has not been addressed with an acceptable plan of
correction,
(4) insufficient financial resources,
(5) falsification of Department required information,
(6) ownership, management, or administration by principles of an entity whose ambulance service
license has been revoked,
(7) re-licensure may not be in the best interest of the public as determined by the Department,
(b) An applicant shall be notified in writing within sixty (60) days from the date the Department receives a
complete renewal application of the granting or denial of a renewed license. In the event of a denial, the
specific reason(s) shall be noted, and an indication of the corrective action necessary to obtain a renewed
license shall be given, if applicable. A license application may be resubmitted, but each re-submission shall
be considered an initial application.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-11-7. Severance of action, amendment, and re-instatement

(a) The issuance or renewal of a license after notice of a violation(s) has been given shall not constitute a
waiver by the Department of its power to rely on the violation(s) for subsequent license revocation or other
enforcement action which may arise out of the notice of violation(s).

(b) Any change in the name of the service, level, service area, addition of substation, or type of specialty
care provided service shall necessitate an application to amend the license and shall be accompanied by a
fee of one hundred dollars ($100.00).

(c) Changing or moving the location of a substation requires written notification to the Department.

(d) If an existing license is placed on probation or suspension, a fee of one hundred ($100.00) dollars, in
addition to any other provision of the action, shall be submitted prior to re-instatement of the license to full
privilege.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-11-8. Personnel

(a) Each licensed specialty care ambulance service shall be staffed in accordance with the agency's policy

and standards.
(1) The additional training required by the Act for licensed emergency medical personnel to
conduct specialty care transports will be beyond the scope of practice of an Oklahoma licensed
Paramedic.



(2) All Oklahoma licensed Paramedics that have completed training beyond the scope of practice
of a Paramedic for the purposes of specialty care transport shall be registered with the Department.
(b) Any changes in staffing patterns after initial licensing shall require prior written approval by the
Department.
(c) In addition to the staffing requirement for patient care providers, each specialty care ambulance service
shall have drivers licensed at the Emergency Medical Technician licensure level and have completed an
emergency vehicle operator course within 120 days of employment. The drivers will complete an
emergency vehicle operator course refresher every two years. The agency will maintain records showing
competency in vehicle operations.
(d) Each specialty care ambulance service will maintain training records demonstrating competency in
medical skills, patient handling, and medical equipment.

[Source: Amended and renumbered from 310:641-3-43 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-11-9. Specialty care ground vehicles

Specialty care ground vehicles shall conform t0310:641-3-20, except for specifications of medical
and extrication equipment required for ground ambulance vehicles. If a specialty care service has the need
to utilize a vehicle for ground ambulance other than the310:641-3-20 compliant vehicle, a written waiver
may be granted upon request with the application. A determination for this exception shall be made by the
Department.

[Source: Amended and renumbered from 310:641-3-44 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-11-10. General provisions for ground specialty care transport vehicles
(a) Authorized emergency vehicles of licensed ambulance services shall comply at all times with the
applicable requirements of Title 47, the Oklahoma Motor Vehicle Code to include audio and visual
warning indicators.
(b) Authorized specialty care emergency vehicles shall be in good mechanical and serviceable condition at
all times, so as not to be hazardous to the patient(s) or crewmembers. If, in the determination of the
Department, a vehicle does not meet this requirement, it may be removed from service until repairs are
made.
(c) Authorized specialty care emergency vehicles of licensed ambulance services shall be tested for interior
carbon monoxide, in a manner acceptable to the Department. Carbon monoxide levels of more than ten
parts per million (10ppm) shall be considered in excess and shall render the vehicle "out of compliance".
Vehicles shall be removed from service if carbon monoxide levels exceed fifty parts per million (50ppm)
and until repairs are made to reduce the amounts of carbon monoxide below ten (10ppm) parts per million.
(d) Authorized specialty care emergency vehicles of licensed specialty care ambulance services utilized for
the provision of patient care shall be equipped with communication equipment (e.g. two-way radio
utilizing VHF frequency 155.3400) which shall provide voice contact with the emergency department of
the area and other hospitals outside of the area. Acceptable frequencies shall be approved and consistent
with the Statewide Interoperability Governing Body communication plan, as adopted under the rules of the
Federal Communications Commission (FCC). No paging shall be allowed on these designated medical
frequencies. Encoder numbers for Oklahoma hospitals and approval of frequencies may be obtained by
contacting the Division.
(e) Authorized specialty care emergency vehicles of licensed specialty care ambulance services shall have
a permit and/or inspection decal affixed or provided by the Department. These decals shall be placed in the
lower left corner of a rear window unless it shall be impossible or impractical to utilize this area.
(f) The following permit classifications of vehicle permits shall be recognized as authorized emergency
vehicles of ambulance services:
(1) "Temporary Permit" may be affixed by the agency and will be valid for ten (10) business days.
The temporary permit will be sent to the agency by the Department in the event the vehicle cannot
be inspected by Department personnel within three (3) days of the Department receiving
notification that a vehicle is ready for inspection.
(A) To receive a temporary permit, the agency will send to the Department:



(1) a completed Department inspection form,;
(i1) pictures of the interior and exterior of the vehicle;
(i11) copies or pictures of the vehicle tag;
(1v) copies or pictures of the insurance verification.
(B) Upon approval of the documentation, a temporary permit will be sent to the agency.
(C) Prior to the expiration of the temporary permit, the agency will make arrangements
with the Department to ensure a complete inspection is conducted by the Department for
the purpose of affixing a class "A" permit to the vehicle.
(2) Class "A" permit shall be affixed to an ambulance in compliance with all applicable standards.
Emergency and non-emergency ambulance patients may be transported in class "A" ambulances.
(3) Class "B" permit shall be affixed to an ambulance in compliance with manufacturing,
communication, safety, and Title 47 of Oklahoma Statutes requirements. Class "B" vehicles shall
have the required medical equipment on board when placed in-service to respond to emergency
calls or transport any ambulance patients.
(g) When a vehicle is sold or removed from service, the agency will notify the Department on an approved
form, remove the permit, and return the form and permit to the Department within ten (10) days.
(h) A vehicle with any of the following deficiencies or malfunctions may not be used for any patient
transports:
(1) inadequate sanitation, including the presence of contamination by blood and or bodily fluids;
(2) inoperable heater or air conditioner as detailed within the vehicle manufacturing standards and
specifications;
(3) inoperable AED or defibrillator;
(4) tires that do not meet Oklahoma Statutes Title 47, Chapter 12 requirements;
(5) inoperable emergency lighting or siren;
(6) inoperable oxygen system or less than 200 psi in onboard oxygen system;
(7) both portable and vehicle suction apparatus are inoperable;
(8) carbon monoxide levels greater than fifty (50) parts per million;
(9) lapse of vehicle liability insurance;
(10) lapse of worker compensation insurance;
(11) inability to affix a class "A" or "B" permit on an existing permitted vehicle;
(12) vehicle that does not comply with statutory safety equipment found in Title 47.
(1) If such violation is not or cannot be corrected immediately, any affected vehicle shall be removed from
service and the ambulance permit shall be removed until such time the vehicle is compliant and has been
re- inspected and permitted by the Department.
(j) Any patient care equipment and supplies carried on an ambulance that is not on the approved equipment
list will need Department approval through the protocol approval process.
(k) All lighting, both interior and exterior, shall be fully operational, including lens caps.
(1) All designated seating positions in the patient compartment shall be equipped with functioning safety
restraint systems appropriate for each type of seating configuration.
(m) All oxygen tanks, (portable and onboard) shall be secured within brackets compliant with the
specification of the manufacture standards.
(n) Each vehicle shall not have any structural or functional defects that may adversely affect the patient,
personnel, or the safe operation of the vehicle to include: windshield wipers, steering systems, brakes,
seatbelts, and interior or exterior compartment doors and latches.
(o) Each permitted vehicle shall have an accessible copy (electronic or paper) of the agencies approved
protocols.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-11-11. Specialty care air ambulance aircraft

(a) An air ambulance aircraft may be fixed wing, single or multi-engine; or rotary wing, single or multi-
engine.

(b) Operations of the aircraft shall be under the appropriate provisions of the Federal Aviation Regulations
(FARs).



(c) The interior of the patient compartment of their aircraft shall have the capability of being climate
controlled to avoid adverse effects on patients and medical personnel on board by a means other than flight
operations and flying to an altitude.
(d) The aircraft design and configuration shall not compromise patient stability in loading, unloading, or
in- flight operation to include:
(1) the aircraft shall have an entry that allows loading and unloading without excessive
maneuvering (no more than 45 degrees about the lateral axis and 30 degrees about the longitudinal
axis) of the patient and does not compromise functioning of monitoring systems, intravenous lines,
and manual or mechanical ventilation;
(2) a minimum of one stretcher shall be provided that can be carried to the patient;
(3) aircraft stretchers and the means of securing it in-flight must be consistent with applicable
Supplemental Type Certificates (STCs).
(4) the type and model of stretcher indicates the maximum gross weight allowed (inclusive of
patient and equipment) as labeled on the stretcher;
(5) the stretcher shall be large enough to carry an American adult male .
(6) the stretcher shall be sturdy and rigid enough that it can support cardiopulmonary resuscitation.
If a backboard or equivalent device is required to achieve this, such device will be readily
available;
(7) the head of the stretcher is capable of being elevated at least 30 degrees for patient care and
comfort;
(8) if the ambulance stretcher is floor supported by its own wheels, there is a mechanism to secure
it in position under all conditions. These restraints permit quick attachment and detachment for
patient transfer.
(e) Patients transported by air will be restrained with a minimum of three straps, including shoulder straps,
which must comply with FAA regulations. The following additional requirements shall apply to achieve
patient stability:
(1) patients less than 60 pounds (27kg) shall be provided with an appropriately sized restraining
device (for patient's height and weight) which is further secured by a locking device. All patients
less than 40 pounds must be secured in a five-point safety strap device that allows good access to
the patient from all sides and permits the patient's head to be raised at least 30 degrees. Velcro
straps are not encouraged for use on pediatric devices;
(2) if a car seat is used, it shall have an FAA approved sticker;
(3) there shall be some type of restraining device within the isolette to protect the infant in the
event of air turbulence.
(f) A supplemental lighting system shall be installed in the aircraft/ambulance in which standard lighting is
insufficient for patient care, and a self-contained lighting system powered by a battery pack or portable
light with a battery source must be available.
(g) An electric power outlet shall be provided with an inverter or appropriate power source of sufficient
output to meet the requirements of the complete specialized equipment packages without compromising
the operation of any other system or equipment. A back-up power source to enable use of equipment may
be provided by an extra battery of appropriate voltage and capacity.
(h) There shall be access and necessary space to ensure any onboard patient's airway is maintained and to
provide adequate ventilatory support from the secured, seat-belted position of medical transport personnel.
(1) Medical transport personnel shall be able to determine if medical oxygen is on in the patient care area.
(1) Each gas outlet shall be clearly marked for identification.
(2) Oxygen flow shall be capable of being started and stopped at or near the oxygen source from
inside the aircraft.
(3) The following indicators shall be accessible to medical transport personnel while en route:
(A) quantity of oxygen remaining; and
(B) measurement of liter flow.
(j) A variety of medical oxygen delivery devices consistent with the service's medical protocols shall be
available.
(k) An appropriately secured portable medical oxygen tank with a delivery device shall be carried on the
aircraft. Portable medical oxygen tank may not be secured between patient's legs while the aircraft is in



motion.
(1) There shall be a back-up source of medical oxygen sufficient to allow completion of the transport in the
event the main system fails. For air transports, this back-up source can be the required portable tank as
long as the portable tank is accessible in the patient care area during flight.
(m) Storage of oxygen shall comply with applicable standards.
(n) Oxygen flow meters and outlets shall be located to prevent injury to medical transport personnel to the
extent possible.
(o) In the event the licensee will be utilizing a substitute aircraft not previously permitted by the
Department for a period of more than five (5) days, the licensee shall notify the Department to have the
aircraft inspected and permitted by the Department.
(1) Licensees with a substitute aircraft utilized for periods of five (5) days or less, the licensee shall
complete an agency specific equipment log documenting the transfer of all required equipment
onto the substitute aircraft at the time of transfer.
(2) The agency will maintain documentation of the transfer in accordance with OAC 310:641-13-
21 Air ambulance service records and files.
(p) Any vehicle initially placed in service after a purchase, lease, contract and/or refurbish shall be
inspected, approved, and permitted by the Department as detailed within this section of OAC 310:641
Subchapter 11.

[Source: Amended at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]

310:641-11-12. Equipment for specialty care transport vehicles (air and ground)
(a) The tampering, modification, or removal of the manufacturer's expiration date is prohibited.
(b) Licensed specialty care ambulance services shall ensure that all recalled, outdated, misbranded,
adulterated, or deteriorated fluids, supplies, and medications are removed from ambulances immediately.
(c) The medical control physician will authorize all equipment and medications placed on the units for
patient care.
(1) The authorized equipment and medications will be detailed on a unit checklist and will match
the equipment and supplies with detailed defined minimums needed to treat patients in the manner
in the agency approved protocols. The checklist will also meet the requirements described in the
ambulance file section of this subchapter.
(2) The medications authorized by the medical director will be detailed on the unit checklist to
include the number, weight, and volume of the medication containers.
(d) At a minimum, the following equipment and supplies will be present on each specialty care unit when
transported specialty care patients:
(1) age and size appropriate oropharyngeal and nasopharyngeal airways, single wrapped for
sanitation purposes;
(2) functioning portable suction device with age and size appropriate tubing and tips;
(3) age and size appropriate bag-valve-mask resuscitators;
(4) portable (secured in each vehicle) and wall mounted oxygen sets, with age and size appropriate
tubing cannulas and masks;
(5) spare portable oxygen cylinder, secured to manufacturing specifications;
(6) Bandaging materials to include:
(A) two (2) burn sheets clean wrapped and marked in plastic bag that need not be sterile.
(B) fifty (50) sterile 4"x4" dressings.
(C) six (6) sterile 6"x8" or 8"x10" dressings.
(D) ten (10) roller bandages, 2" or larger.
(E) four (4) rolls of tape (minimum of one (1") inch width).
(F) four (4) sterile occlusive dressings, 3" x 8" or larger.
(G) four (4) triangular bandages.
(H) one (1) pair of bandage scissors.
(7) Fracture immobilization devices to include:
(A) one (1) adult and one (1) pediatric traction splint or equivalent device capable of adult
and pediatric application.



(B) two (2) upper and two (2) lower extremity splints in adult and pediatric sizes.
(C) short spine board or vest type immobilizer, including straps and accessories as
described within the agency protocols.
(D) two (2)adult and one (1) pediatric size long spine board including straps and head
immobilization devices.
(E) two (2) rigid or adjustable extrication collars in large, medium, small adult sizes, and
pediatric sizes for children ages 2 years or older and one (1) infant collar. Collars shall not
be foam or fiber filled.
(8) Miscellaneous medical equipment to include:
(A) one (1) infant, one (1) child, two (2) adult, and one (1) extra-large blood pressure cuffs;
(B) stethoscope, one (1) adult and one (1) pediatric sizes.
(C) obstetrical kit with towels, 4"x4" dressing, umbilical tape, bulb syringe, cord cutting
device, clamps, sterile gloves, aluminum foil, and blanket.
(D) universal communicable disease precaution equipment including gloves, mask,
goggles, gown, and other universal precautions.
(E) blood-glucose measurement equipment per medical direction and Department approval.
(F) CPAP per medical direction and Department approval.
(9) Other mandatory equipment to include:
(A) Two (2) appropriately labeled or designated waste receptacles for:
(1) waste that is contaminated by bodily fluids or potentially hazardous infectious
waste, and
(i1) waste that does not present a biological hazard, such as plastic or paper
products that are not contaminated.
(B) two way radio communication equipment utilizing VHF frequency 155.3400 as
detailed in this Chapter and through the Statewide Interoperability Governing Body.
(C) one (1) sturdy, lightweight, all-level cot for the primary patient that is compliant with
the vehicle manufacturing standards in place at the time of purchase.
(D) at least three (3) strap type restraining devices (chest, hip, and knee), and compliant
shoulder harness shall be provided per stretcher, cot, and litter (not less than two (2")
inches wide, nylon, easily removable for cleaning, two (2) piece assembly with quick
release buckles).
(E) electronic or paper patient care run reports.
(F) two (2) fire extinguishers; one (1) in the cab of the unit, and one in the patient
compartment of the vehicle each mounted in a manner that allows for quick release and is
compliant with the ambulance manufactures building standards. Each extinguisher is to be
dry powder, ABC, and a minimum of five (5) pounds.
(G) two (2) operable flashlights;
(H) all ambulance equipment and supplies shall be maintained in accordance with
sanitation requirements in this Chapter. Additionally, sterility shall be maintained on all
sterile packaged items.
(I) digital or strip type thermometer and single use probes.
(J) six (6) instant cold packs.
(K) one (1) length/weight based drug dose chart or tape.
(L) @ minimum of two (2) DOT approved reflective vests.
(M) As approved by local medical direction, a child restraint system or equipment for
pediatric patients, as provided under the limits of the agency license.
(e) All assessment and medical equipment utilized for patient care will be maintained in accordance with
the manufactures guidelines. Documentation will be maintained at the agency showing that periodic tests,
maintenance, and calibration are being conducted in accordance with the manufactures requirements.
These types of equipment include, but are not limited to, gurneys or stretchers, suction devices, pulse
oximetry, glucometers, capnography monitors, end-tidal co2 monitors, CPAP/BiPAP devices, ventilators,
and blood pressure monitors.

[Source: Amended at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]



310:641-11-13. Specialty care medical control requirement
(a) Each specialty care ambulance service licensed in Oklahoma that initiates and responds to interfacility
calls within the state shall have a physician medical director who is a fully licensed, non-restricted Doctor
of Medicine (M.D.) or a Doctor of Osteopathy (D.O.) by the State of Oklahoma.
(b) Licensed ambulance services will have a plan or policy that describes how the agency will address a
sudden lapse of medical direction, such as a back-up medical director, that is used to ensure coverage when
the medical director is not available.
(1) The Department shall be notified the next business day of any lapse or change of medical
direction by the respective agency. If the agency has made arrangements for a back-up medical
director or an immediate replacement, then a lapse has not occurred.
(2) In the event of a lapse in medical direction; in that, there is no a medical director providing the
authority for medical interventions for an agency's certified and licensed personnel, the agency
will, pursuant to O.S. Section 63-1-2506:
(A) cease all operations involving patient care, and
(B) implement mutual aid plans to ensure requests for service receive responses until the
agency is able to implement their plan or policy for substitution or back-up medical
direction.
(c) The medical director shall:
(1) be accessible, knowledgeable, and actively involved in quality assurance and the educational
activities of the agency's personnel and supervise a quality assurance (QA) program by either direct
involvement or appropriate designation and surveillance of the responsible designee(s). The
appointment of a designee does not absolve the medical director of their responsibility of providing
oversight.
(2) Provide a written statement to the Department, which includes:
(A) an agreement to provide medical direction and establish treatment protocols and the
agency specific scope of practice for all certified and licensed agency personnel,
(B) the physician's primary practice address or home address if the physician does not have
a practice, and email address(es);
(C) an OBNDD registrant number or appropriate state equivalent as appropriate;
(D) current Oklahoma medical license;
(E) appropriate training and experience in the types of patients the service will be
transporting. Training may include board training and appropriate certifications or
supplemental training;
(F) the agency's on-line and/or off line specific licensure level medical protocols with
medication formulary for patient care techniques. Protocols shall include medication to be
used, treatment modalities for patient care procedures, and appropriate security procedures
for controlled dangerous substances;
(G) attendance or demonstrated participation in:
(1) medical director training provided by the Department subject to the availability
of funding. Verification of attendance or participation will be maintained at the
agency; and
(i1) one hour of continuing education specific to providing medical oversight to
EMS providers and agencies each year, provided by the Department subject to the
availability of funding.
(H) A physician may be the medical director for more than one (1) service.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-11-14. Specialty care agency sanitation requirements
The following shall apply regarding sanitation standards for all specialty care ambulance services
facilities, vehicles, and personnel:
(1) the interior of the vehicle and the equipment within the vehicle shall be sanitary, secured and
maintained in good working order at all times;



(2) the exterior of the vehicle shall be clean and maintained in good working order to ensure the
vehicle can operate safely and in accordance with applicable sections of Title 47 of the Oklahoma
Statutes;

(3) linen shall be changed after each patient is transported; and bagged and stored in an outside or
separate compartment;

(4) clean linen, blankets, washcloths, and hand-towels shall be stored in a closed interior cabinet
free of dirt and debris;

(5) freshly laundered linen or disposable linen shall be used on the cots and pillows and changed
between patients;

(6) pillows and mattresses shall be kept clean and in good repair and any repairs made to pillows,
mattresses, and padded seats shall be permanent;

(7) soiled linen shall be placed in a closed container that deters accidental exposure. Any linen
which is suspected of being contaminated with bodily fluids or other potentially hazardous
infectious waste shall be placed in appropriately marked or designated closed container for
disposal;

(8) contaminated disposable supplies shall be placed in appropriately marked or designated
containers in a manner that deters accidental exposure.

(9) exterior and interior surfaces of vehicles shall be cleaned routinely;

(10) blankets and hand towels used in any vehicle shall be clean;

(11) implements inserted into the patient's nose or mouth shall be single-service wrapped and
properly stored and handled. When multi-use items are utilized, the local health care facilities
should be consulted for instructions in sanitation and handling of such items;

(12) when a vehicle has been utilized to transport a patient(s) known to the operator to have a
communicable disease the vehicle shall be cleansed and all contact surfaces shall be washed with
soap and water and appropriate disinfectant. The vehicle should be placed "out of service" until a
thorough cleansing is conducted;

(13) all storage spaces used for storage of linens, equipment, medical supplies, and other supplies
at the base station shall be kept clean;

(14) personnel shall be clean, especially hands and fingernails, and well groomed. Clothing worn
by personnel shall be clean. The licensee shall provide in each vehicle a means of hand washing for
the attendants;

(15) the oxygen humidifier(s) shall be single use;

(16) All medications, supplies, and sterile equipment with expiration dates shall be current;

(17) Expired medications, supplies, and sterile equipment shall be discarded appropriately.
Tampering, removing, or altering expiration dates on medications, supplies, and equipment is
prohibited;

(18) The station facility, ambulance bays, living quarters, and office areas shall be clean, orderly,
and free of safety and health hazards;

(19) Specialty care ambulance vehicles and service facilities shall be free of any evidence of use of
lighted or smokeless tobacco products except in designated smoking areas consistent with the
provisions of 310:641-1-4.

[Source: Amended at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]

310:641-11-15. Storage of intravenous solutions

(a) Medication and vascular fluid shall be stored in a manner that complies with manufacturer and FDA
standards.

(b) Each agency shall maintain medications in a manner that deters theft and diversion of all medications.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eft 9-11-16]

310:641-11-16. Specialty care service authority to carry controlled substances on a vehicle
(a) An ambulance service, with personnel licensed to utilize such, is hereby authorized to carry a limited
supply of controlled substances, secured and stored in a manner that is compliant with State and Federal



statutes and regulations. The utilization, procurement, and accountability of such drugs shall be supervised
by medical control for the service. An inventory shall be kept and signed according to the requirements of
the Oklahoma Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs (OBNDD), and the United States Department of
Justice Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA). Each responsible medical director shall maintain a copy
of their OBNDD certificate to the Department for this purpose.

(b) Any loss or deficiency which occurs in the utilization, procurement, and accountability of controlled
substances shall be reported the OBNDD and DEA through their procedures and requirements and to the
Department, within ten (10) working days.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-11-17. Inspections

(a) The Department shall conduct unannounced inspections of every licensed specialty care ambulance
service. Inspection may include a review of any requirements of the Act and rules promulgated thereunder.
The Department may require copies of such records as deemed necessary consistent with the files section
of this sub chapter.

(b) All inspection reports will be sent to the agency director, license owner, and medical director.

(c) A representative of the agency will be with the Department employee during the inspection.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eft 9-11-16]

310:641-11-18. Speciality care notice of violation
(a) A violation of the Act or this Chapter is ground for the Department to issue a written order, sent via
certified mail, citing the violation, affording the agency an opportunity to demonstrate compliance, and
indicating the time no less than fifteen (15) days after receipt of the notice in which any needed correction
shall be made. The fifteen-day notice period may be reduced as, in the opinion of the Department, may be
necessary to render an order of compliance reasonably effectual.
(b) Unless the Department specifies a reduced period, within thirty (30) days after receipt of the notice of
violation, the agency shall submit to the Department a written demonstration of compliance and/or plan of
correction.
(c) A plan of correction shall include at least the following:

(1) When the correction was or will be completed;

(2) How the correction was or will be made;

(3) What measures will prevent a recurrence; and

(4) Who will be accountable to ensure future compliance.
(d) The Department shall ensure that the agency is afforded due process in accordance with the Procedures
of the State Department of Health, Oklahoma Administrative Code, Title 310, Chapter 2, and the
Administrative Procedures Act, Title 75 O.S. Section 250 et seq.
(e) Violations found by the Department which require immediate correction shall be handled in compliance
with Title 75 of the Oklahoma Statutes, Section 314.1 and the Oklahoma Administrative Code, Title 310,
Chapter 2, specifically 310:2-21-23.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eft 9-11-16]

310:641-11-19. Emergency medical services regions

(a) Regions established pursuant to Section 1-2503 (21) and (22) of Title 63 shall not be recognized
without Department approval for this purpose. Pursuant to Title 74, O.S., Section 1006, of the "Interlocal
Cooperation Act" (relating to Approval of Agreements), the Department shall exercise authority granted to
approve or disapprove all matters within its jurisdiction, in addition to and in substitution for the
requirement of submission to and approval by the Attorney General.

(b) The Department shall recognize regions which comply with the law and this Chapter.

(c) Any regional emergency medical services system shall provide the name of the regional medical
director, copies of regional standards, rules, and transport protocols established for the regional emergency
medical services system to the Department.



[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-11-20. Operational protocols

(a) Authorized emergency vehicles of licensed ambulance services shall adhere to the requirements of Title
47 O.S. Section 1-101 et seq. ("Motor Vehicle Code") for all vehicle operations.

(b) When a facility requests a specialty care transport, the specialty care agency will provide an accurate
estimated time of arrival and ensure the patient needs will be able to be met for the service being requested.
(c) Mutual aid plan(s), regarding interfacility transports only, with licensed services shall be developed and
placed in the agency files for inspection. Plans will be periodically reviewed to ensure accuracy and
completeness. Licensed specialty care agencies shall provide mutual aid, if the agency has the capability
and if the requested activity is within the licensure requirements.

[Source: Amended at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]

310:641-11-21. Transfer protocols

(a) As the specialty care license is limited to interfacility transfers only for specific patients, the agency
shall designate as part of their protocols, the destinations to which the agency will transport to, and which
facilities are within a reasonable distance.

(b) All specialty care agencies transferring patients from hospitals outside regions seven and eight to
hospitals in those regions shall contact the Department approved referral center in accordance with the
regional and state plans. The center shall maintain a record of the transfers for regional continuous quality
improvement activities.

(c) Each patient or legal guardian of a patient has the right to refuse treatment or transportation from a
specialty care agency.

(d) Each specialty care agency shall ensure that the care of each patient is transferred appropriately to the
receiving facility's licensed staff. The transfer of care will include verbal and written reports summarizing
the assessment and treatment of the patient by the ambulance service.

(e) All specialty care agencies are required to participate in the regional and statewide systems established
through statute and administered by the Department to ensure patients are transported to the appropriate
facility in a timely manner to receive appropriate care.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eft 9-11-16]

310:641-11-22. Specialty care ambulance service records and files
(a) All required records for licensure will be maintained for a minimum of three (3) years.
(b) Each licensed specialty care ambulance service shall maintain electronic or paper records about the
operation, maintenance, and such other required documents at the business office. These files shall be
available for review by the Department during normal work hours. Files which shall be maintained include
the following:
(1) Patient care records:
(A) at the time a patient is transported to a receiving facility, the following information will
be, at a minimum provided to the facility staff members at the time the patient is accepted:
(1) personal information such as name, date of birth, and address;
(i1) patient assessment with medical history;
(ii1) medical interventions and patient responses to interventions;
(iv) any known allergies; and
(v) other information from the medical history that would impact the patient
outcomes if not immediately provided.
(B) A signature of the receiving facility health care staff member will be obtained to show
the above information and the patient were received.
(2) A complete copy of the patient care report shall be sent to the receiving facility within twenty-
four (24) hours of the hospital receiving the patient.
(3) Completed patient care reports shall contain demographic, administrative, legal, medical,
community health, and patient care information required by the Department through the OKEMSIS



Data Dictionary.
(4) All run reports and patient care information shall be considered confidential.
(c) All licensed agencies shall maintain electronic or paper records on the maintenance, and regular
inspections of each vehicle.
(1) Each vehicle must be inspected and a detailed equipment checklist completed after each call, or
on a daily basis, whichever is less frequent, and
(2) documentation that shows routine vehicle maintenance for each vehicle as required by vehicle
manufacture recommendations,
(d) All licensed agencies shall maintain a licensure or credential file for licensed and certified emergency
medical personnel employed by or associated with the service to include:
(1) Oklahoma license and certification,
(2) Basic Life Support certification, or documentation of BLS cognitive objectives and
psychomotor skills that meets or exceeds American Heart Association standards, and approved by
the medical director;
(3) Advanced Cardiac Life Support certification or documentation of BLS cognitive objectives and
psychomotor skills that meets or exceeds American Heart Association Standards, as approved by
the medical director if applicable for the license level,
(4) Incident Command System or National Incident Management Systems training at the 100, 200,
and 700 levels or their equivalent,
(5) verification of an Emergency Vehicle Operations Course or other agency approved defensive
driving course,
(6) contain a list or other credentialing document that defines or describes the medical director
authorized procedures, equipment, and medications for each certified or licensed member
employed or associated with the agency, and
(7) a copy of the medical director credentials will be maintained at the agency.
(e) The electronic or paper copies of the licenses and credentials described in this section shall be kept
separate from other personnel records to ensure confidentiality of records that do not pertain to the
documents relating to patient care.
(f) Copies of staffing patterns, schedules, or staffing reports which indicate the ambulance service is
maintaining twenty four (24) hour coverage at the highest level of license;
(g) Copies of in-service training and continuing education records.
(h) Copies of the ambulance service:
(1) operational policies, guidelines, or employee handbook;
(2) a list of the patient care equipment that is carried on any "Class E" unit(s) will be part of the
standard operating procedure or guideline manual,
(3) medical protocols; and
(4) OSHA and/or Department of Labor exposure plan, policies, or guidelines.
(1) A log of each request for service received and/or initiated, to include the:
(1) disposition of the request and the reason for declining the request if applicable,
(2) patient care report number,
(3) date of request,
(4) patient care report times as required in the OKEMSIS Data Dictionary,
(5) location of the incident, and
(6) nature of the call.
(j) Documentation that verifies an ongoing, physician involved quality assurance program.
(k) Such other documents which may be determined necessary by the Department. Such documents can
only be required after a thorough, reasonable, and appropriate notification by the Department to the
services and agencies.
(I) The standardized data set and an electronic submission standard for EMS data as developed by the
Department shall be mandatory for each licensed ambulance service. Reports of the EMS data standard
shall be forwarded to the Department by the last business day of the following month. Exceptions to the
monthly reporting requirements shall be granted only by the Department, in writing.
(m) Review and the disclosure of information contained in the ambulance service files shall be
confidential, except for information which pertains to the requirements for license, certification, or



investigation issued by the Department.

(n) Department representatives shall have prompt access to files, records, and property as necessary to
appropriately survey the provider. Refusal to allow access by representatives of Department to records,
equipment, or property may result in summary suspension of licensure by the Commissioner of Health.
(o) All information submitted and/or maintained in files for review shall be accurate and consistent with
Department requirements.

(p) A representative of the agency will be present during the record review.

[Source: Amended at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]

310:641-11-23. Sole source ordinances

(a) A specialty care ambulance service which operates as a sole source provider established by EMS
regions, ambulance service districts or municipalities shall file with the Department a copy of the
ordinance or regulation and a copy of the contract to operate as a sole source provider. This requirement
shall be retroactive and includes all established sole source ambulance services.

(b) A specialty care ambulance service which operates as a sole source provider for a "region" as
established pursuant to the Oklahoma Interlocal Cooperation Act (Title 74, Section 1001, et seq.), shall file
with the Department a copy of the interlocal agreement and any ordinance or other regulations or contract
or agreement established by the region for ambulance service provision.

(c) Violation of contracts established herein may be cause for enforcement action by the Department.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-11-24. Suspension, revocation, probation, or non-renewal of a licensee
(a) The Department may suspend or revoke a license and/or fine or place on probation a license or licensee
for the following:
(1) violations of any of the provision of the Oklahoma Statutes, the Act or this chapter;
(2) permitting, aiding or abetting in any illegal act in connection with the ambulance service;
(3) conduct of any practice that is detrimental to the welfare of the patient or potential users of the
service;
(4) placing a vehicle into service before it is properly inspected, approved, and permitted by the
Department;
(5) failure to comply with a written order issued by the Department within the time frame specified
by the Department;
(6) engaging in any act which is designed or intended to hinder, impede, or obstruct the
investigation of any matter governed by the Act or by any lawful authority;
(7) an ambulance service who fails to renew their Oklahoma license within the time frame and
other requirements as specified in these rules shall be considered an expired or lapsed licensee and
therefore no longer licensed as an ambulance service in the State of Oklahoma;
(8) a misleading, deceptive, false, or fraudulent advertisement or other representation in the
conduct of the profession or occupation;
(9) offering, giving, promising anything of value or benefit, as defined in Oklahoma Statutes or
Department Policy to a Federal, state, or local governmental official for the purpose of influencing
the employee or official to circumvent a Federal, state, or local law, rule, or ordinance governing
the licensee's profession or occupations;
(10) interference with an investigation or disciplinary proceeding by willful misrepresentation of
facts, by the use of threats or harassment against or inducement to a client or witness to prevent
them from providing evidence in a disciplinary proceeding or other legal action, or by use of
threats or harassment against or inducement to a person to prevent or attempt to prevent a
disciplinary proceeding or other legal action from being filed, prosecuted, or completed;
(11) failure to report the unprofessional conduct or non-compliance of regulations by individually
licensed and certified personnel as defined in this this Chapter.
(b) No person, company, governmental entity or trust authority may operate an ambulance service or
emergency medical response agency except in accordance with the Act and the rules as promulgated by the



State Board. The Commissioner, District Attorney of the county wherein a violation occurs, or the Attorney
General of this State, shall have the authority to enforce provisions of the law.
(c) A license/certificate/permit holder or applicant, in connection with a license application or an
investigation conducted by the Department pursuant to this rule shall not:
(1) knowingly make a false statement of material fact;
(2) fail to disclose a fact necessary to correct a misapprehension known by the licensee to have
arisen in the application or the matter under investigation; or
(3) fail to respond to a demand for information made by the Department or any designated
representative thereof.
(d) If in the course of an investigation the Department determines that a license/certificate/permit holder or
applicant has engaged in conduct that is detrimental to the health, safety, or welfare of the public, and
which conduct necessitates immediate action to prevent further harm, the Commissioner may order a
summary suspension of the license/certificate/permit holder's license, certificate, or permit respectively.
(e) In addition to any other penalties, a civil fine of not more than one hundred ($100.00) dollars per
violation per day may be assessed, for violations of the Act or OAC 310:641.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]
SUBCHAPTER 13. AIR AMBULANCE SERVICE

310:641-13-1. Purpose
The purpose of this Subchapter is to:
(1) incorporate the authorization, licensure, and minimum requirements for operating a fixed wing
or rotor wing Air Ambulance Service, and
(2) provide standards for the enforcement of the provisions of the Act and this Chapter.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eft 9-11-16]

310:641-13-2. License required [REVOKED]

[Source: Revoked at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]

310:641-13-3. Issuance of an air ambulance license
(a) The Department shall have sole discretion to approve or deny an application for an air ambulance
service license based on the ability of the applicant to meet the requirements of this Chapter.
(b) Any air ambulance service licensed prior to the effective date of these amendments to this Chapter shall
remain in effect for the period of license issuance, except that all such air ambulance services shall be
subject to the Act and rules which otherwise pertain including the requirement for renewal. At renewal, the
agency must be fully compliant with all applicable regulations within this Chapter of regulation.
(c) The license is not transferable or assignable.
(d) A air ambulance license may be issued for Paramedic life support or for Specialty Care.
(1) Paramedic life support means that the air ambulance vehicles are equipped with the minimum
Paramedic equipment and staffed with at least one Paramedic on each request for service and may
respond to both pre-hospital requests and interfacility transfers.
(2) Specialty care means the air ambulance service vehicles are equipped with the appropriate
equipment and staff for each request for interfacility transfers within their licensure limits.
(3) Air ambulances providing Paramedic and Specialty care services are required to have both
types of licenses.
(4) Air ambulances providing specialty care shall meet or exceed specialty care regulations as well
as air ambulance regulations.
(e) The initial license period shall expire the second June 30 following the date of issue. Subsequent
renewal periods shall be twenty-four (24) months, or two (2) years.
(f) The original. or a copy of the original, license shall be posted in a conspicuous place in the principal
business office. If an office or other public place is not available, then the license shall be available to
anyone requesting to see the license during regular business hours.



[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-13-4. Renewal of an air ambulance license
(a) The Department shall provide to all air ambulance services a "Survey/Renewal Form" in December
each year. This form shall be considered and utilized as a renewal application if due. The "Survey/Renewal
Form" along with proof of current workers' compensation and liability insurance shall be returned to the
Department by January 31st each year.
(1) Upon receipt of a complete and correct renewal application, a renewal fee statement shall be
mailed by the Department to each licensee in need of renewal.
(2) A non-refundable fee for the renewal of an specialty care air ambulance service license shall be
one hundred dollars ($100.00), fifty dollars ($50.00) for each substation, plus twenty dollars
($20.00) for each vehicle in excess of two (2).
(3) An air ambulance service license shall be renewed if:
(A) the air ambulance service has applied for such renewal;
(B) the air ambulance service has no outstanding deficiencies or is not in need of correction
as may be identified during inspection of the service, and;
(C) The proper fee has been received by the Department.
(b) An ambulance service license, if not renewed by midnight June 30 of the expiration year shall be
considered non-renewed.
(1) A grace period of thirty (30) days is permitted under 63 O.S. Section 1-1702.
(2) Thereafter a new application shall be required for the continuation of any such license, and the
applicant shall be subject to initial application procedures. An extension may be granted by the
Department for the purpose of renewal subject to a determination by the Department of the
following:
(A) The safety, need, and well-being of the public and general populace to be served by the
ambulance service; and
(B) The availability of personnel, equipment, and the financial ability of the applicant to
meet the minimum standards of emergency medical services law.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-13-5. Denial for an initial license
(a) An air ambulance license application may be denied for any of the following reasons:
(1) A felony conviction, adjudication, or plea of guilty or nolo contendere of any person, member
of the firm, partnership, corporation, or the person designated to supervise the service; to include,
but not be limited to, fraud, grand larceny, child abuse, sexual offense(s), drug offense(s), or a
conviction which might otherwise have a bearing on the operation of the service;
(2) Falsification of Department required information;
(3) Ownership, management, or administration by principals of an entity whose license has been
revoked; and
(4) Licensure may not be in the best interest of the public as determined by the Department.
(b) An applicant shall be notified in writing within sixty (60) days from the date the Department receives a
complete application of the granting or denial of a license. In the event of a denial, the specific reason(s)
shall be noted, and an indication of the corrective action necessary to obtain a license or renewal shall be
given if applicable. A license application may be re-submitted, but each resubmission shall be considered
an initial application.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eft 9-11-16]

310:641-13-6. Denial of an air ambulance application for renewal

(a) Any air ambulance license application for renewal may be denied for any of the following:
(1) the failure to meet standards set forth by statute or rule,
(2) a felony conviction, adjudication, or plea of guilty or nolo contendere of any person, member of
the firm, partnership, corporation, or the person designated to manage the service to include, but



not limited to fraud, grand larceny, child abuse, sexual offense(s), or a conviction, adjudication, or

plea of guilty or nolo contendere which might otherwise have a bearing on the operation of the

service,

(3) outstanding notice of violation that has not been addressed with an acceptable plan of

correction,

(4) insufficient financial resources,

(5) falsification of Department required information,

(6) ownership, management, or administration by principals of an entity whose ambulance service

license has been revoked,

(7) re-licensure may not be in the best interest of the public as determined by the Department,
(b) An applicant shall be notified in writing within sixty (60) days from the date the Department receives a
complete renewal application of the granting or denial of a renewed license. In the event of a denial, the
specific reason(s) shall be noted, and an indication of the corrective action necessary to obtain a renewed
license shall be given, if applicable. A license application may be resubmitted, but each re-submission shall
be considered an initial application.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-13-7. Severance of action, amendment, and re-instatement

(a) The issuance or renewal of a license after notice of a violation(s) has been given shall not constitute a
waiver by the Department of its power to rely on the violation(s) for subsequent license revocation or other
enforcement action which may arise out of the notice of violation(s).

(b) Any change in the name of the service, level, service area, or addition or removal of substation shall
necessitate an application to amend the license and shall be accompanied by a fee of one hundred dollars
($100.00).

(c) Changing or moving the location of a substation requires written notification to the Department.

(d) If an existing license is placed on probation or suspension, a fee of one hundred ($100.00) dollars, in
addition to any other provision of the action, shall be submitted prior to re-instatement of the license to full
privilege.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-13-8. Air ambulance medical staffing
(a) Each air ambulance flight originating in Oklahoma shall have, as a minimum, one of the following
aeromedical crew member attending the patient:
(1) a physician licensed to practice in the State of Oklahoma. This crew member should at a
minimum be competent in the principles supported in Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS),
Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS), Pediatric Education for the Prehospital Professional
(PEPP), Advanced Trauma Life Support (ATLS), altitude physiology, and on-board treatment
modalities.
(2) a registered nurse licensed to practice in the State of Oklahoma. This crew member should at a
minimum be competent in clinical principles of care related to critical care modalities, such as
obstetrics, neonatology, pediatrics, burns, cardiology, neurosurgery, toxicology and infectious
disease specialties, the principles of ATLS, altitude physiology, training appropriate to mission
profile, and aviation communications.
(3) a Paramedic licensed to practice in the State of Oklahoma. This crew member should at a
minimum be competent in altitude physiology, ACLS, PALS, PEPP and Pre-hospital Trauma Life
Support (PHTLS) or equivalent as approved by the Department.
(b) Aeromedical crew members are required to participate in continuing education training for, but not
limited to, the following: altitude physiology, emergency medical services and aviation communications,
use of patient care equipment, protocol and procedure review and legal aspects of air transportation.
(1) Didactic continuing education shall include an annual review of:
(A) hazardous materials recognition and response.
(B) human factors - crew resource management



(C) infection control
(D) State EMS rules regarding ground and air transport.
(E) Stress recognition and management.
(2) Appropriate continuing education shall be developed and documented on an annual basis and
must include:
(A) critical care (adult, pediatric, neonatal).
(B) emergency / trauma care.
(C) invasive procedure labs.
(D) emergency obstetrics
(E) prehospital scene transports.
(c) Scene or pre-hospital transports of air ambulance service shall have as a minimum, one aeromedical
crew member licensed as a Paramedic.

[Source: Amended and renumbered from 310:641-3-34 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-13-9. Air ambulance vehicle
(a) An air ambulance vehicle (aircraft) may be fixed wing, single or multi-engine, or rotary wing, single or
multi-engine.
(b) Operations of the aircraft shall be under the appropriate provisions of the Federal Aviation Regulations
(FAR) within 14 CFR, Part 1 et seq.
(c) The interior of the patient compartment of their aircraft shall have the capability of being climate
controlled to avoid adverse effects on patients and medical personnel on board by a means other than flight
operations and flying to an altitude.
(d) The aircraft design and configuration shall not compromise patient stability in loading, unloading or in-
flight operations.
(1) The aircraft shall have an entry that allows loading and unloading without excessive
maneuvering (no more than 45 degrees about the lateral axis and 30 degrees about the longitudinal
axis) of the patient, and does not compromise functioning of monitoring systems, intravenous lines,
and manual or mechanical ventilation.
(2) A minimum of one stretcher shall be provided that can be carried to the patient.
(3) Aircraft stretchers and the means of securing it in-flight must be consistent with FAR's.
(4) The type and model of stretcher indicates the maximum gross weight allowed (inclusive of
patient and equipment) as labeled on the stretcher.
(5) The stretcher shall be large enough to carry an American adult male.
(6) The stretcher shall be sturdy and rigid enough that it can support cardiopulmonary resuscitation.
If a backboard or equivalent device is required to achieve this, such device will be readily
available.
(7) The head of the stretcher is capable of being elevated at least 30 degrees for patient care and
comfort.
(8) If the ambulance stretcher is floor supported by its own wheels, there is a mechanism to secure
it in position under all conditions. These restraints permit quick attachment and detachment for
patient transfer.
(e) Patients transported by air will be restrained with a minimum of three straps, including shoulder straps
that must comply with FAA regulations. The following additional requirements shall apply to achieve
patient stability.
(1) Patients less than 60 pounds (27kg) shall be provided with an appropriately sized restraining
device (for patient's height and weight) which is further secured by a locking device. All patients
less than 40 pounds must be secured in a five-point safety strap device that allows good access to
the patient from all sides and permits the patient's head to be raised at least 30 degrees. Velcro
straps are not encouraged for use on pediatric devices.
(2) If a car seat is used, it shall have an FAA approved sticker.
(3) There shall be some type of restraining device within the isolette to protect the infant in the
event of air turbulence.



(f) A Supplemental lighting system shall be installed in the aircraft in which standard lighting is
insufficient for patient care and a self-contained lighting system powered by a battery pack or portable
light with a battery source must be available.
(g) Medical transport personnel shall be able to determine if medical oxygen is on the patient care area.
(1) Each gas outlet shall be clearly marked for identification.
(2) Oxygen flow shall be capable of being started and stopped at or near the oxygen source from
inside the aircraft.
(3) The following indicators shall be accessible to medical transport personnel while en route:
(A) Quantity of oxygen remaining.
(B) Measurement of liter flow.
(h) A variety of medical oxygen delivery devices consistent with the service's medical protocols shall be
available.
(1) An appropriately secured portable medical oxygen tank with a delivery device shall be carried on the
aircraft. Portable medical oxygen tank may not be secured between patient's legs while the aircraft is in
motion.
(j) There shall be a back-up source of medical oxygen sufficient to allow completion of the transport in the
event the main system fails. For air transports, this back-up source can be the required portable tank as
long as the portable tank is accessible in the patient care area during flight.
(k) Storage of oxygen shall comply with applicable OSHA standards within 29 CFR, Part 19 D.
(1) Oxygen flow meters and outlets shall be located to prevent injury to medical transport personnel to the
extent possible.
(m) In the event the licensee will be utilizing a substitute aircraft not previously permitted by the
Department for a period of more than five (5) days, the licensee shall notify the Department to have the
aircraft inspected and permitted by the Department.
(1) Licensees with a substitute aircraft utilized for periods of five (5) days or less, the licensee shall
complete an agency specific equipment log documenting the transfer of all required equipment
onto the substitute aircraft at the time of transfer.
(2) The agency will maintain documentation of the transfer in accordance with 310:641-13-21 Air
ambulance service records and files.
(n) Any vehicle initially placed in service after a purchase, lease, contract and/or refurbish shall be
inspected, approved, and permitted by the Department as detailed within this section of 310:641
Subchapter 13.

[Source: Amended at 37 Ok Reg 1423, eff 9-11-20]

310:641-13-10. Air ambulance equipment
(a) Medical control shall determine the patient's needs and level of care required when deciding what
equipment shall be aboard each flight and the type of aircraft required for transport. Equipment kits, cases
and/or packs which are carried on any given flight shall be available for the following categories: trauma,
cardiac, burn, toxicologic, pediatric, neonatal, and obstetrics.
(b) controlled substances shall be in a locked system and kept in a manner consistent with Federal and
States requirements and applicable sections of this Chapter.
(c) storage of medications shall allow for protection from extreme temperature changes if environment
deems it necessary.
(d) The following medical equipment shall be required to be on board every aircraft certified by the
Department for air medical services:
(1) readily available IV supplies and fluids, readily available;
(2) hangers or hooks to secure IV solutions in place and equipment to provide high flow fluids if
needed. Glass IV containers shall not be used unless required by specific medications and properly
secured;
(3) a minimum of three (3) I'V infusion pumps immediately available for critical care transports;
(4) accessible medications, consistent with the service's medical protocols;
(5) a cardiac monitor, defibrillator and external pacemaker shall be secured and positioned so that
displays are visible. Two (2) extra batteries or a power source shall be available for cardiac monitor



/ defibrillator or external pacemaker (adult and pediatric);

(6) laryngoscope and tracheal intubation supplies, to include laryngoscope blades, bag-valve-mask,

and oxygen supplies, including PEEP valves; appropriate for ages and potential needs of patient

transported;

(7) a mechanical ventilator appropriate for critical care transports;

(8) two (2) suction units, one of which is portable and both of which are capable of delivering

adequate suction to clear the airway with wide bore (1/4") tubing and rigid and soft suction

catheters for adults, children, and infants;

(9) pulse oximetry with adult and pediatric capability;

(10) continuous waveform capnography monitoring capabilities and equipment;

(11) automatic blood pressure device;

(12) devices for decompressing a pneumothorax and performing an emergency cricothyroidotomys;

(13) doppler stethoscope;

(14) continuous/bi level positive airway pressure device as allowed by protocol; and

(15) arterial line blood pressure monitoring as allowed by protocol.
(e) All medical equipment (including specialized equipment) and supplies shall be secured according to
FAR's.
(f) All assessment and medical equipment utilized for patient care will be maintained in accordance with
the manufacturer's guidelines. Documentation will be maintained by the agency, and made available to the
Department upon request, showing the periodic tests, maintenance, and calibration are being conducted in
accordance with manufacturer's requirements. Equipment shall include, but not be limited to, stretcher or
gurney, suction devices, pulse oximetry, glucometers, end-tidal CO2, and capnography monitors,
CPAP/BIPAP devices, ventilators, and blood pressure monitors.

[Source: Amended at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]

310:641-13-11. Air medical director
(a) An air medical director shall be a physician, fully licensed to practice in the State of Oklahoma, with a
background in flight medicine, pre-hospital and/or emergency medicine. The physician shall know the
aircraft limitations for in-flight patient care.
(b) An air ambulance service based in another state may have as its air medical director a physician who is
not licensed to practice in the State of Oklahoma but is fully licensed in good standing in the home state of
the air ambulance service. The air medical director shall meet all other qualifications listed in this
subchapter.
(c) Licensed air ambulance services will have a plan or policy describing how the agency will address a
sudden lapse of medical direction, such as a back-up medical director, that is used to ensure coverage when
a physician is not available.
(d) The Department shall be notified the next business day of any lapse or change of medical direction by
air ambulance service. If the agency has made arrangements for a back-up medical director or an
immediate replacement, then no lapse has occurred.
(e) In the event of a lapse in medical direction, in that, there is not a medical director providing the
authority for the agency's licensed personnel, the agency will, pursuant to 63 O.S. Section 1-2506, relating
to the medical authority to perform medical procedures
(1) cease all operations involving patient care,
(2) implement mutual aid plans to ensure requests for service receive responses until the agency is
able to implement their plan or policy for a substitute or back-up medical director.
(f) The air ambulance service medical director shall:
(1) Attend or demonstrate participation in:
(A) medical director training provided by the Department subject to the availability of
funding. Verification of attendance or participation will be maintained at the agency;
(B) one hour of continuing education specific to providing medical oversight to EMS
providers and agencies each year, provided by the Department subject to the availability of
funding.



(2) demonstrate appropriate training and experience in adult and pediatric emergency medical
services, which may include pediatric, adult, and trauma life support courses or equivalency.
Training and experience may also include appropriate board training.
(3) be accessible, knowledgeable, and actively involved in quality assurance and the educational
activities of the agency's personnel and supervise a quality assurance (QA) program by either direct
involvement or appropriate designation and surveillance of the responsible designee(s). The
appointment of a designee does not absolve the medical director of their responsibility for
providing oversight.
(4) Each air ambulance quality assurance policy shall include, but not be limited to:
(A) patient care interventions to ensure appropriate patient care,
(B) policy to review air ambulance utilization,
(C) policy to review airway management,
(D) policy to review cardiac arrest management,
(E) other reports not specifically identified,
(F) a process to prove internal and external feedback of quality assurance findings.
(5) Provide a written statement to the Department, which includes:
(A) an agreement to provide medical direction and establish treatment protocols and the
agency specific scope of practice for all certified and licensed agency personnel,
(B) the physician's primary practice address or home address if the physician does not have
a practice, and email address(es);
(C) an OBNDD registrant number or appropriate state equivalent, as appropriate;
(D) current Oklahoma medical license;
(E) demonstrate appropriate training and experience in the types of patients the service will
be transporting. Demonstrated training may include board training and appropriate
certifications or supplemental training.
(F) Develop on-line and off-line specific medical protocols with medication formulary for
patientcare techniques. Protocols shall include medication to be used, treatment modalities
for patient care procedures, and appropriate security procedures for controlled dangerous
substances;
(g) A physician may be the medical director for more than one (1) service.

[Source: Amended and renumbered from 310:641-3-35 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-13-12. Operational protocols
(a) Air ambulance medical services shall be maintained to provide medical treatment, stability, and
transportation to ambulance patients within the capability and capacity of the medical crew and aircraft.
(b) Patient related policies and procedures will be maintained at the agency. Documentation reflecting crew
training on policies and procedures shall be maintained.
(c) A written policy shall be utilized for rapid patient loading and unloading if practiced.
(d) A written protocol shall be developed and in place to address the combative patient.
(1) Physical and/or chemical restraints shall be available and used for combative patients who
potentially endanger himself, the personnel or the aircraft.
(2) The written protocol shall address refusal to transport patients, family members or others who
may be considered a threat to the safety of the transport personnel.
(e) A list of contaminated materials, which could pose a threat to the medical transport team or render
transport inappropriate, shall be readily available.
(f) The LZ or aircraft operational area shall be a safe distance to avoid any downwind danger when
approaching or departing.
(g) Each air ambulance service shall have a policy regarding patient screening and under what conditions a
request for service would be declined or not accepted.
(h) Air ambulance services are not required to meet the duty to act statutory requirements or have 24/7
resource availability.
(1) Air ambulances shall operate within a statewide emergency medical response system coordinating pre-
hospital and interfacility responses with the appropriate local emergency resources through:



(1) the use of the state designated resource status reporting and communication tool to show near
real- time availability by using global positioning satellite systems to show where aircraft are
located at the time of the request, and
(2) coordination with ground personnel to ensure the timeliest response to the patient via radio or
telephone contact.
(j) Air medical utilization protocols shall be developed and submitted to the Department for review and
approval.

[Source: Amended and renumbered from 310:641-3-36 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-13-13. Communications
(a) All air ambulance aircraft shall have radio capability to communicate air to ground, air to air, and
ground to air. The aircraft communication system will include two-way communications:
(1) with physician(s) who are responsible for directing patient care in transit, and
(2) with ground personnel who coordinate the transfer of the patient by surface transportation.
(b) The aircraft shall:
(1) have the capability to communicate between the medical attendant and pilot, and
(2) be in compliance with the Oklahoma State Interoperability Governing Body, and provide
documentation that the aircraft can communicate with hospitals utilizing VHF frequency 155.3400.
(c) All communications equipment used for transmitting patient care information shall be maintained in
full operating condition and in good repair. Ambulance communications equipment shall be capable of
transmitting and receiving clear and understandable voice communications to and from the base station at a
reasonable distance. Radios on aircraft shall be capable of transmitting and receiving the following traffic:
(1) Medical direction.
(2) Communication Center.
(3) EMS and law enforcement agencies.
(d) The medical team shall be able to communicate with each other during flight.
(e) A communication specialist shall be assigned to receive and coordinate all requests for the medical
transport service. Training of the designated person shall be commensurate with the scope of responsibility
and include:
(1) EMT certification, or the equivalent in knowledge or experience which minimally includes:
(2) medical terminology,
(3) knowledge of EMS - roles and responsibilities of the various levels of training,
(4) state and local regulations regarding EMS,
(5) familiarization with equipment used in the field setting,
(6) knowledge of Oklahoma State EMS Rules,
(7) types of radio frequency bands used in EMS systems,
(8) a knowledge of the hazardous materials response and recognition procedure using appropriate
reference materials, and
(9) stress recognition and management.
(f) Aircraft shall communicate, when possible, with ground units securing unprepared landing sites prior to
landing.
(g) A record of contact shall include, but not be limited to:
(1) time of call;
(2) name and phone number of requesting agency;
(3) age, diagnosis or mechanism of injury;
(4) referring and receiving physician and facilities (for interfacility requests); as per policy of the
medical transport service.
(5) verification of acceptance of patient and verification of bed availability by referring physician
and facility.
(6) destination airport, refueling stops (if necessary) location of transportation exchange and hours
of operation;
(7) ground transportation coordination at sending and receiving areas;
(8) time of dispatch (time crew notified flight is a go approved, post pilot OK's flight approval);



(9) time depart base (time of lift-off or other site);
(10) number and names of persons on board;
(11) amount of fuel on board;
(12) estimated time of arrival (ETA);
(13) pertinent landing zone information;
(14) time arrive location;
(15) time helicopter arrives at landing zone or helipad;
(16) time depart location;
(17) time helicopter lifts off from landing zone or helipad;
(18) time arrive destination;
(19) time depart destination;
(20) time arrive base; and
(21) time aborted.
(h) The communication center shall contain the following:
(1) At least one dedicated phone line for the medical transport service;
(2) A system for recording all incoming and outgoing telephone and radio transmissions regarding
patient care with time recording and playback capabilities. Recordings are to be kept for three (3)
years.
(3) capability to immediately notify the medical transport team and on-line medical direction
(through radio, pager, telephone, etc.);
(4) a status board with information about pre-scheduled flights/patient transports, the medical
transport team on duty, weather, and maintenance status;
(5) aircraft service area maps and navigation charts shall be readily available.
(1) Each air ambulance service shall have in place a protocol to insure no delay in aircraft response.
(1) The air ambulance service shall provide to the caller a point of origin and an accurate ETA.
(2) In such cases where a delay is anticipated, the air ambulance service called has a responsibility
to notify the caller and assist in referral to another licensed ambulance service.
(j) The air ambulance service shall be integrated with and communicate with other public safety agencies,
including ground emergency service providers. This shall include participation in regional quality
improvement reviews, regional disaster planning, and mass casualty incident drills to include an integrated
response to terrorist events.
(k) Air ambulances will provide to ground agencies and receiving facilities post event reviews, feedback,
or information for the purposes of improving performance or safety.

[Source: Amended and renumbered from 310:641-3-37 at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-13-14. Air ambulance sanitation requirements
The following shall apply regarding sanitation standards for all air ambulance services facilities,
vehicles, and personnel:
(1) the interior of the vehicle and the equipment within the vehicle shall be sanitary and maintained
in good working order at all times;
(2) linen shall be changed after each patient is transported and bagged and stored in an outside or
separate compartment;
(3) clean linen, blankets, washcloths, and hand-towels shall be stored in a closed interior cabinet
free of dirt and debris,
(4) freshly laundered linen or disposable linen shall be used on the cots and pillows and changed
between patients;
(5) pillows and mattresses shall be kept clean and in good repair and any repairs made to pillows,
mattresses, and padded seats shall be permanent;
(6) soiled linen shall be placed in a container that deters accidental exposure. Any linen which is
suspected of being contaminated with bodily fluids or other potentially hazardous infectious waste
shall be placed in an appropriately marked closed container disposal;
(7) contaminated disposable supplies shall be placed in an appropriately marked or designated
container in a manner that deters accidental exposure;



(8) interior surfaces of vehicles shall be cleaned routinely;

(9) blankets and hand towels used in any vehicle shall be clean;

(10) implements inserted into the patient's nose or mouth shall be single-service wrapped and
properly stored and handled. When multi-use items are utilized, the local health care facilities
should be consulted for instructions in sanitation and handling of such items;

(11) when a vehicle has been utilized to transport a patient(s) known to the operator to have a
communicable disease the vehicle shall be cleansed and all contact surfaces shall be washed with
soap and water and appropriate disinfectant. The vehicle should be placed "out of service" until a
thorough cleansing is conducted, and;

(12) all storage spaces used for storage of linens, equipment, medical supplies, and other supplies
at the base station shall be kept clean;

(13) personnel shall be clean, especially hands and fingernails, and well groomed. Clothing worn
by personnel shall be clean. The licensee shall provide in each vehicle a means of hand washing for
the attendants;

(14) the oxygen humidifier(s) shall be single use;

(15) all medications, supplies, and sterile equipment with expiration dates shall be current;

(16) expired medications, supplies, and sterile equipment shall be discarded appropriately.
Tampering, removing, or altering expiration dates on medications, supplies, and equipment is
prohibited;

(17) the station facility, ambulance bays, living quarters, and office areas shall be clean, orderly,
and free of safety and health hazards;

(18) air ambulance vehicles and service facilities shall be free of any evidence of use of lighted or
smokeless tobacco products except in designated smoking areas, consistent with the provisions of
310:641-1-4.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-13-15. Storage of intravenous solutions

(a) Medication and vascular fluid shall be stored in a manner that complies with manufacturer and FDA
standards.

(b) Each agency shall maintain medications in a manner that deters theft and diversion of all medications.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-13-16. Air ambulance service authority to carry controlled substances on a vehicle

(a) An air ambulance service, with personnel licensed to utilize such, is hereby authorized to carry a
limited supply of controlled substances secured and stored in a manner that is compliant with State and
Federal statutes and regulations. The utilization, procurement, and accountability of such drugs shall be
supervised by medical control for the service. An inventory shall be kept and signed according to the
requirement of the Oklahoma Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs (OBNDD) and the United States
Department of Justice Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA). Each responsible medical director shall
maintain a copy of their OBNDD certificate to the Department for this purpose.

(b) Any loss or deficiency which occurs in the utilization, procurement, and accountability of controlled
substances shall be reported the OBNDD and DEA through their procedures and requirements and to the
Department within ten (10) working days.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eft 9-11-16]

310:641-13-17. Air ambulance inspections

(a) The Department shall conduct unannounced inspections of every licensed air ambulance service.
Inspection may include a review of any requirements of the Act and rules promulgated thereunder. The
Department may require copies of such records as deemed necessary consistent with the files section of
this sub chapter.

(b) All inspection reports will be sent to the agency director, license owner, and medical director.



(c) A representative of the agency will be with the Department employee during the inspection.
[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eft 9-11-16]

310:641-13-18. Air ambulance notice of violation
(a) A violation of the Act or this Chapter is ground for the Department to issue a written order, sent via
certified mail, citing the violation, affording the air ambulance an opportunity to demonstrate compliance,
and indicating the time no less than fifteen (15) days after receipt of the notice in which any needed
correction shall be made. The fifteen-day notice period may be reduced as, in the opinion of the
Department, may be necessary to render an order of compliance reasonably effectual.
(b) Unless the Department specifies a reduced period, within thirty (30) days after receipt of the notice of
violation, the air ambulance shall submit to the Department a written demonstration of compliance and/or
plan of correction.
(c) A plan of correction shall include at least the following:

(1) When the correction was or will be completed;

(2) How the correction was or will be made;

(3) What measures will prevent a recurrence; and

(4) Who will be accountable to ensure future compliance.
(d) The Department shall ensure that the air ambulance is afforded due process in accordance with the
Procedures of the State Department of Health, Oklahoma Administrative Code, Title 310, Chapter 2, and
the Administrative Procedures Act, Title 75 O.S. Section 250 et seq.
(e) Violations found by the Department which require immediate correction shall be handled in compliance
with Title 75 of the Oklahoma Statutes, Section 314.1 and the Oklahoma Administrative Code, Title 310,
Chapter 2, specifically 310:2-21-23.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eft 9-11-16]

310:641-13-19. Emergency medical services regions [REVOKED)]

[Source: Revoked at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]

310:641-13-20. Air Ambulance triage, transport and transfer protocols
(a) Medical and trauma Department approved triage, transport, and transfer protocols or destination
protocols shall adhere to the principle of delivering time sensitive medical and trauma patients to
appropriate facilities as outlined by the regional advisory boards and Department approved protocols.
(b) Specific triage, transport, and transfer protocols or destination protocols shall be developed by
medicalcontrol for the region, area, or local service and submitted to the Department for approval.
(c) Each patient or legal guardian of a patient has the right to refuse treatment or transportation from an air
ambulance agency.
(d) Each air ambulance agency shall ensure that the care of each patient is transferred appropriately to the
receiving facility's licensed staff. The transfer of care will include verbal and written reports summarizing
the assessment and treatment of the patient by the ambulance service.
(e) All air ambulance agencies are required to participate in the regional and statewide systems, established
through statute and administered by the Department, to ensure the patients are transported to the
appropriate facility in a timely manner to receive appropriate care.
(f) Each agency shall designate the receiving facilities that are within their reasonable service range.
(1) An air agency may still transport to facilities outside of the reasonable service range on a case
by case basis.
(2) Repeated transports to facilities that are outside of the agency's reasonable range will require
modifications to the designated receiving facility list maintained at the Department with the
agency's approved protocols.
(g) Triage, transport and transfer protocols approved by the Department shall include the following
requirements:



(1) medical and traumatic non-emergency transports shall be transported to the facility of the
patient's choice if within reasonable service range;
(2) emergency, non-injury related, non-life threatening transports shall be transported to the facility
of the patient's choice if within reasonable service range;
(3) emergency, injury-related transports shall adhere to the Oklahoma Triage, Transport, and
Transfer Guidelines approved by the Oklahoma Trauma and Emergency Response Advisory
Council and shall ensure that patients are delivered to the most appropriate classified hospital
either within their region or contiguous regions;
(4) severely injured patients as described in the Oklahoma Triage, Transport, and Transfer
Guidelines shall be transported to a hospital classified at Level I or II for trauma and emergency
operative services unless time and distance factors are detrimental to patient care. These patients
shall be transported to the next highest level trauma and emergency operative service classified
hospital, unless a Department approved regional plan has been developed; in which case the
regional plan shall be followed;
(5) stable patients at risk for severe injury or with minor-to-moderate injury as described in the
Oklahoma Triage, Transport, and Transfer Guidelines shall be transported to the closest appropriate
facility. These patients may be transported to the hospital of the patient's or patients legal
representative's choice consistent with regional guidelines;
(6) emergency, life threatening, non-injury transports shall be to the nearest facility that can
provide evaluation and stabilization appropriate to the patient's condition;
(7) transports or transfers from a pre-hospital setting that occur as a result of a physician order shall
be transported to the facility ordered by the physician except when:
(A) the patient or the patient's guardian chooses a different facility,
(B) the patient condition changes, and going to a different facility is in the best interest of
the patient,
(C) the receiving facility's ability to receive that patient has changed,
(D) the facility is not within a reasonable range of the agency,
(E) the Trauma Referral Center requests a change in destination or presents reasonable
options for a destination.
(h) In counties with populations of 300,000 or more and their contiguous communities, injury related
transports shall be directed and coordinated by the trauma transfer and referral center for the region.
(1) All air ambulance services providing pre-hospital emergency services in these regions shall
contact the trauma transfer and referral center at intervals determined by the Department to register
the transport of an injured patient to a hospital.
(2) All air ambulance services transporting injured patients on a pre-hospital basis from areas
outside these regions to hospitals inside these regions shall contact the trauma transfer and referral
center in a timely manner to advise the center of the patient transfer. The center shall maintain a
record of the transfer for regional continuous quality improvement activities.
(3) All air ambulance services transferring injured patients from hospitals outside these regions to
hospitals inside these regions shall contact the trauma transfer and referral center in a timely
manner to advise the center of the patient transfer. The center shall maintain a record of the transfer
for regional continuous quality improvement activities.
(1) Each air ambulance service shall ensure that the care of each patient is transferred appropriately to the
receiving facility's licensed staff. The transfer of care will include verbal and written reports summarizing
the assessment and treatment of the patient by the ambulance service.
(j) All air ambulance services are required to participate in the regional and statewide systems, established
through statute administered by the Department, to ensure patients are transported to the appropriate
facility in a timely manner to receive appropriate care.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-13-21. Air ambulance service records and files
(a) All required records for licensure will be maintained for a minimum of three years.



(b) Each licensed air ambulance service shall maintain electronic or paper records about the operation,
maintenance, and such other required documents at the business office. These files shall be available for
review by the Department during normal work hours. Files which shall be maintained include the
following:
(1) At the time a patient is transported to a receiving facility, the following patient care records will
be, at a minimum, provided to the facility staff members at the time the patient(s) are accepted:
(A) personal information such as name, date of birth, and address,
(B) patient assessment with medical history,
(C) medical interventions and patient responses to interventions,
(D) any known allergies,
(E) other information from the medical history that would impact the patient outcomes if
not immediately provided.
(2) A signature of the receiving facility health care staff member will be obtained to show the
above information and the patient were received.
(3) A complete copy of the patient care report shall be sent to the receiving facility within twenty-
four (24) hours of the hospital receiving the patient.
(4) Completed patient care reports shall contain demographic, administrative, legal, medical,
community health, and patient care information required by the Department through the OKEMSIS
Data Dictionary.
(5) All run reports and patient care information shall be considered confidential.
(c) All licensed air ambulance agencies shall maintain electronic or paper records on the maintenance and
regular inspections of each vehicle. Each vehicle must be inspected and a checklist completed after each
call or on a daily basis, whichever is less frequent.
(d) All licensed air ambulance agencies shall maintain a licensure or credential file for licensed and
certified emergency medical personnel employed by or associated with the service to include:
(1) Oklahoma license and certification,
(2) Basic Life Support certification, or documentation of BLS cognitive objectives and
psychomotor skills that meets or exceeds American Heart Association standards and approved by
the medical director,
(3) Advanced Cardiac Life Support certification, or documentation of BLS cognitive objectives and
psychomotor skills that meets or exceeds American Heart Association Standards and approved by
the medical director, as applicable for advanced licensure levels,
(4) Incident Command System or National Incident Management Systems training at the 100, 200,
and 700 levels or their equivalent,
(5) contain a list or other credentialing document that defines or describes the medical director
authorized procedures, equipment, and medications for each certified or licensed member
employed or associated with the agency,
(6) a copy of the medical director credentials will be maintained at the agency.
(e) The electronic or paper copies of the licenses and credentials described in this section shall be kept
separate from other personnel records to ensure confidentiality of records that do not pertain to the
documents relating to patient care.
(f) All licensed air ambulance agencies shall maintain:
(1) copies of staffing patterns, schedules, or staffing reports which indicate the ambulance service
1s maintaining twenty four (24) hour coverage, at the highest level of license;
(2) copies of in-service training and continuing education records;
(3) copies of the air ambulance services:
(A) operational policies, guidelines, or employee handbook. The standard operating
procedure or guideline manual will include list of the patient care equipment that is carried
on any "Class E" unit(s);
(B) medical protocols; and
(C) OSHA and/or Department of Labor exposure plan, policies, or guidelines.
(4) A log of each request for service received and/or initiated, to include the following:
(A) disposition of the request and the reason for declining the request, if applicable,
(B) the patient care report number,



(C) date of request,
(D) patient care report times as defined in the OKEMSIS Data Dictionary,
(E) location of the incident,
(F) nature of the call;
(5) Documentation that verifies an ongoing, physician-involved quality assurance program.
(6) Such other documents which may be determined necessary by the Department. Such documents
can only be required after a thorough, reasonable, and appropriate notification by the Department
to the services and agencies.
(g) The standardized data set and an electronic submission standard for EMS data as developed by the
Department shall be mandatory for each licensed ambulance service. Reports of the EMS data standard
shall be forwarded to the Department by the last business day of the following month. Exceptions to the
monthly reporting requirements shall be granted only by the Department in writing.
(h) Review and the disclosure of information contained in the ambulance service files shall be confidential
except for information which pertains to the requirements for license, certification, or investigation issued
by the Department.
(1) Department representatives shall have prompt access to files, records, and property as necessary to
appropriately survey the provider. Refusal to allow access by representatives of Department to records,
equipment, or property may result in summary suspension of licensure by the Commissioner of Health.
(j) All information submitted and/or maintained in files for review shall be accurate and consistent with
Department requirements.
(k) A representative of the agency will be present during the record review.

[Source: Amended at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]

310:641-13-22. Air Ambulance Suspension, revocation, probation, or non-renewal of a licensee
(a) The Department may suspend or revoke a license and/or fine or place on probation a license or licensee
for the following:
(1) violations of any of the provision of the Oklahoma Statutes, the Act or this chapter;
(2) permitting, aiding, or abetting in any illegal act in connection with the ambulance service;
(3) conduct of any practice that is detrimental to the welfare of the patient or potential users of the
service;
(4) placing a vehicle into service before it is properly inspected, approved, and permitted by the
Department;
(5) failure to comply with a written order issued by the Department within the time frame specified
by the Department;
(6) engaging in any act which is designed or intended to hinder, impede, or obstruct the
investigation of any matter governed by the Act or by any lawful authority;
(7) an ambulance service who fails to renew their Oklahoma license within the time frame and
other requirements as specified in these rules shall be considered an expired or lapsed licensee and
therefore no longer licensed as an ambulance service in the State of Oklahoma;
(8) a misleading, deceptive, false, or fraudulent advertisement or other representation in the
conduct of the profession or occupation;
(9) offering, giving, or promising anything of value or benefit, as defined in Oklahoma Statutes or
Department policy to a Federal, state, or local governmental official for the purpose of influencing
the employee or official to circumvent a Federal, state, or local law, rule, or ordinance governing
the licensee's profession or occupations;
(10) interference with an investigation or disciplinary proceeding by willful misrepresentation of
facts, by the use of threats or harassment against, or inducement to, a client or witness to prevent
them from providing evidence in a disciplinary proceeding or other legal action, or by use of
threats or harassment against, or inducement to, a person to prevent or attempt to prevent a
disciplinary proceeding or other legal action from being filed, prosecuted, or completed;
(11) failure to report the unprofessional conduct or non-compliance of regulations by individually
licensed and certified personnel as defined in this Chapter.



(b) No person, company, governmental entity or trust authority may operate an ambulance service or
emergency medical response agency except in accordance with the Act and the rules as promulgated by the
State Board. The Commissioner, District Attorney of the county wherein a violation occurs, or the Attorney
General of this State, shall have the authority to enforce provisions of the law.
(c) A license/certificate/permit holder or applicant in connection with a license application or an
investigation conducted by the Department pursuant to this rule shall not:

(1) knowingly make a false statement of material fact;

(2) fail to disclose a fact necessary to correct a misapprehension known by the licensee to have

arisen in the application or the matter under investigation; or

(3) fail to respond to a demand for information made by the Department or any designated

representative thereof.
(d) If in the course of an investigation the Department determines that a license/certificate/permit holder or
applicant has engaged in conduct that is detrimental to the health, safety, or welfare of the public, and
which conduct necessitates immediate action to prevent further harm, the Commissioner may order a
summary suspension of the license/certificate/permit holder's license, certificate, or permit respectively. A
presumption of imminent harm to the public shall exist if the Department determines probable cause for
conduct of any practice that is detrimental to the welfare of the patient or potential users of the service.
(e) In addition to any other penalties, a civil fine of not more than one hundred ($100.00) dollars per
violation per day may be assessed, for violations of the Act or this Chapter.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]
SUBCHAPTER 15. EMERGENCY MEDICAL RESPONSE AGENCY

310:641-15-1. Purpose
The purpose of this Subchapter is to:
(1) incorporate the authorization, licensure, and minimum requirements for operating an
emergency medical response agency, and
(2) provide standards for the enforcement of the provisions of the Act and this Chapter.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eft 9-11-16]

310:641-15-2. Certified pre-hospital emergency medical response agency [REVOKED]

[Source: Revoked at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]

310:641-15-3. Event standby emergency medical response agency application [REVOKED|

[Source: Revoked at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]

310:641-15-4. Issuance of a prehospital emergency medical response agency certification

(a) The Department shall issue a pre-hospital emergency medical response agency certification to
applicants that meet certification requirements.

(b) The certificate shall be issued for the name and service area only.

(c) The certificate is not transferable or assignable.

(d) The initial license period shall expire the second June 30 following the date of issue. Subsequent
renewal periods shall be twenty-four (24) months, or two (2) years.

(e) The original, or a copy of the original certification, shall be posted in a conspicuous place in the
principal business office. If an office or other public place is not available, then the certificate shall be
available to anyone requesting to see certification during regular business hours.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-15-5. Issuance of an event standby emergency medical response agency certification
(a) The Department shall issue an event standby emergency medical response agency certification to
applicants that meet certification requirements:



(b) The certificate shall be issued for the name only.

(c) The certificate is not transferable or assignable.

(d) The initial certification period shall expire the second June 30 following the date of issue. Subsequent
renewal periods shall be twenty-four (24) months, or two (2) years.

(e) The original or a copy of the original certification shall be posted in a conspicuous place in the
principal business office. If an office or other public place is not available then the certificate or a copy
shall be available to anyone requesting to see the certification during regular business hours.

[Source: Amended at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]

310:641-15-6. Renewal of an emergency medical response agency certificate
(a) Each agency shall complete a renewal form in a manner prescribed by the Department. The Department
shall send to all certified emergency medical response agency a "survey/renewal" form in December of
each year.
(1) Upon receipt of a complete and correct renewal application, a renewal fee statement shall be
provided by the Department to each certificate holder due to renew.
(2) A non-refundable fee for the renewal of any emergency medical response agency certification
shall be twenty ($20.00) dollars.
(b) An emergency medical response agency certification shall be renewed if:
(1) the agency has applied for a renewal;
(2) the agency has no outstanding deficiencies in need of correction as may be identified during
inspection of the agency;
(3) the fee has been received by the Department;
(4) the safety, need, and well-being of the public and general populace is best served to by the
renewal of the agency;
(5) the availability of personnel, equipment, and the financial ability of the agency to meet the
minimum standards of the Act and this Chapter;
(6) A certificate that is not renewed by midnight June 30 of the expiration year shall be considered
non- renewed.
(7) A grace period of thirty (30) days is permitted under 63 O.S. Section 1-1702.
(8) Within the grace period the agency may continue to operate without penalty.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-15-7. Denial for an initial emergency medical response agency application
(a) An application may be denied for any of the following reasons:
(1) A felony conviction, adjudication, or plea of guilty or nolo contendere of any person, member
of the firm, partnership, corporation, or the person designated to supervise the service; to include,
but not be limited to, fraud, grand larceny, child abuse, sexual offense(s), drug offense(s), or a
conviction, adjudication, or plea of guilty or nolo contendere which might otherwise have a bearing
on the operation of the service;
(2) Falsification of Department required information;
(3) Ownership, management, or administration by principals of an entity whose license has been
revoked; and
(4) certification may not be in the best interest of the public as determined by the Department.
(b) An applicant shall be notified in writing within sixty (60) days, from the date the Department receives a
complete application, of the granting or denial of a license. In the event of a denial, the specific reason(s)
shall be noted, and an indication of the corrective action necessary to obtain a license or renewal shall be
given if applicable. A license application may be re-submitted, but each resubmission shall be considered
an initial application.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-15-8. Denial of a certificate being renewed



(a) A license application for renewal may be denied for any of the following:
(1) the failure to meet standards set forth by statute or rule,
(2) a felony conviction, adjudication, or plea of guilty or nolo contendere of any person, member of
the firm, partnership, corporation, or the person designated to manage the service to include, but
not limited to fraud, grand larceny, child abuse, sexual offense(s), or a conviction, adjudication, or
plea of guilty or nolo contendere which might otherwise have a bearing on the operation of a
service;
(3) outstanding notice of violation that has not been addressed with an acceptable plan of
correction;
(4) insufficient financial resources;
(5) falsification of Department required information;
(6) ownership, management, or administration by principals of an entity whose certification has
been revoked;
(7) re-certification may not be in the best interest of the public as determined by the Department;
(8) revocation or denial of a governmental letter of support as required for initial certification;
(b) An applicant shall be notified in writing within sixty (60) days, from the date the Department receives a
complete renewal application, of the granting or denial of a renewed license. In the event of a denial, the
specific reason(s) shall be noted, and an indication of the corrective action necessary to obtain a renewed
license shall be given if applicable. A license application may be resubmitted, but each re-submission shall
be considered an initial application.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-15-9. Severance of action, amendment, and re-instatement

(a) The issuance or renewal of a certificate after notice of a violation(s) has been given shall not constitute
a waiver by the Department of its power to rely on the violation(s) for subsequent license revocation or
other enforcement action which may arise out of the notice of violation(s).

(b) Any change in the name of the service, level, service area, addition of substation, or services provided
service shall necessitate an application to amend the certification.

(c) The addition of a substation that expands the service area shall comply with initial certification
requirements such as letters of support and maps of the proposed service area.

(d) Changing or moving the location of a substation requires written notification to the Department.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-15-10. Emergency medical response agency personnel

(a) Emergency medical response agencies shall have at least one person of the responding personnel
providing patient care certified or licensed by the Department.

(b) All drivers that operate emergency vehicles for an agency shall complete an emergency vehicle
operator's course prior to emergency vehicle operations. Emergency vehicle operators shall complete an
emergency vehicle operator's renewal course every two (2) years.

(c) Only emergency personnel authorized by this Act, except for a physician, shall be utilized by any
emergency medical response agency.

(d) Agencies will maintain training records demonstrating competency in medical skills, patient handling,
and emergency vehicle operations for all personnel employed or associated with the agency and utilized
for patient care.

[Source: Amended at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]

310:641-15-11. Prehospital emergency medical response agency equipment

(a) The tampering, modification, or removal of the manufacturer's expiration date is prohibited.

(b) Certified agencies shall ensure that all, recalled, outdated, misbranded, adulterated, or deteriorated
fluids, supplies, and medications are removed from the response vehicles immediately.



(c) The unit checklist will establish the equipment, supplies, and medications for each unit. A list of the
equipment, supplies, and medication will be included in the application. For medications this is to include
the number, weight, and volume of the containers.
(d) At a minimum, the following equipment and supplies will be present on for each emergency medical
response:
(1) one (1) each adult, pediatric, and infant size bag-valve-mask resuscitators;
(2) one (1) complete set of oropharyngeal airways, single wrapped for sanitation purposes;
(3) portable oxygen system with two (2) each oxygen masks in adult, pediatric, and infant sizes;
(4) two (2) adult nasal cannulas;
(5) portable suction device with age and size appropriate tubing and tips;
(6) one (1) bulb syringe with saline drops, sterile, in addition to any bulb syringes in an obstetric
kit;
(7) instant cold packs;
(8) sterile dressing and bandages, to include:
(A) sterile burn sheets,
(B) sterile 4"x4" dressings,
(C) sterile 6"x8" or 8"x10" dressings,
(D) roller bandages, 2" or larger,
(E) rolls of tape (minimum of one (1) inch width),
(F) sterile occlusive dressings, 3" x 8" or larger,
(G) triangular bandages, and
(H) scissors;
(9) blood pressure cuft kit in adult, pediatric, and infant sizes;
(10) obstetrics kit;
(11) blankets;
(12) universal precaution kit for each person attending a patient;
(13) blood-glucose measurement equipment per medical direction and Department approval;
(14) AED with adult and pediatric capability;
(15) adult and pediatric upper and lower extremity splints;
(16) spinal immobilization equipment per medical control authorization;
(17) adult traction splint per medical control authorization and;
(18) patient care reports.
(e) The agency will have the equipment to support the procedures and interventions detailed within the
protocols as authorized by the medical director.
(f) An electronic or paper copy of patient care protocols will be available to responding agency members.
(g) All assessment and medical equipment utilized for patient care will be maintained in accordance with
the manufacturer's guidelines. Documentation will be maintained at the agency showing the periodic tests,
maintenance, and calibration are being conducted in accordance with manufacturer's requirements.
Equipment shall include, but not be limited to suction devices, pulse oximetry, glucometers, end-tidal Co2
and capnography monitors, CPAP/BiPAP devices, ventilators, and blood pressure monitors.

[Source: Amended at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]

310:641-15-12. Event standby emergency medical response agency equipment

(a) The event standby agency will be equipped with the minimum equipment described for pre-hospital
emergency medical response agencies.

(b) In the event the medical control physician does not approve procedures or interventions requiring this
equipment, the minimum equipment list may be modified for the applicant.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eft 9-11-16]

310:641-15-13. Emergency medical response agency medical control requirement
(a) Each certified emergency medical response agency certified in Oklahoma shall have a physician
medical director who is a fully licensed, non-restricted Doctor of Medicine (M.D.) or a Doctor of



Osteopathy (D.O.) by the State of Oklahoma.
(b) Certified emergency medical response agencies will have a plan or policy that describes how the
agency will address a sudden lapse of medical direction, such as a back-up medical director, that is used to
ensure coverage when the medical director is not available.
(1) The Department shall be notified the next business day of any lapse or change of medical
direction by the respective agency. If the agency has made arrangements for a back-up medical
director or an immediate replacement, then a lapse has not occurred.
(2) In the event of a lapse in medical direction, in that, there is no a medical director providing the
authority for medical interventions for an agency's certified and licensed personnel, the agency
will, pursuant to 63 O.S. Section 1-2506 relating to the medical authority to perform medical
procedures:
(A) may respond to a request for service to provide first aid, CPR, and the use of an AED,
and
(B) implement mutual aid plans to ensure requests for service receive responses until the
agency is able to implement their plan or policy for substitution or back-up medical
direction.
(c) The medical director shall:
(1) be accessible, knowledgeable, and actively involved in quality assurance and the educational
activities of the agency's personnel, and supervise a quality assurance (QA) program by either
direct involvement or appropriate designation and surveillance of the responsible designee(s). The
appointment of a designee does not absolve the medical director of their responsibility of providing
oversight.
(2) Provide a written statement to the Department which includes:
(A) an agreement to provide medical direction and establish treatment protocols and the
agency specific scope of practice for all certified and licensed agency personnel,
(B) the physician's primary practice address or home address if the physician does not have
a practice and email address(es);
(C) An agency that only provides care within the Basic Life Support scope of practice, the
medical director shall:
(1) hold a valid, non-restricted medical license,
(i1) not be restricted from obtaining or maintaining OBNDD and DEA registrations
for controlled dangerous substances,
(111) demonstrate appropriate training and experience in adult and pediatric
emergency care. Demonstrated training and experience may include appropriate
board training, basic life support, or pre-hospital trauma life support courses.
(D) An agency that provides Intermediate, Advanced, or Paramedic level interventions by
State approved protocols, the medical director shall:
(1) hold a valid, non-restricted medical license,
(i1) maintain current OBNDD and DEA registrations for controlled dangerous
substances,
(ii1) demonstrate appropriate training and competence in adult and pediatric
emergency medical services, to include pediatric and adult trauma. Demonstrated
training and experience may include completed residency training as well as
relevant work experience with current clinical competency.
(E) demonstrate appropriate training and experience in the types of patients the service will
be treating. Demonstrated training may include board training and appropriate certifications
or supplemental training;
(F) development of on-line or off-line protocols with medication formulary for patient care
techniques. Protocols shall include medication to be used, treatment modalities for patient
care procedures, and appropriate security procedures for controlled dangerous substances;
(3) Attend or demonstrate participation in medical director training provided by the Department
subject to the availability of funding. Verification of attendance or participation will be maintained
at the agency.



(4) Attend or demonstrate participation in one hour of continuing education specific to providing
medical oversight to EMS providers and agencies each year, provided by the Department subject to
the availability of funding.

[Source: Amended at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]

310:641-15-14. Emergency medical response agency operational protocols
(a) Emergency medical response agencies are not licensed or permitted to transport patients.
(b) Emergency medical response agencies do not have a duty to act, as defined within the Act.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-15-15. Emergency medical response agency sanitation requirements
(a) The following shall apply regarding sanitation standards for each emergency medical response agency's
equipment, facilities, vehicles, and personnel:
(1) the interior of the vehicle and the equipment within the vehicle shall be sanitary and maintained
in good working order when in service;
(2) the exterior of the vehicle shall be clean and maintained in good working order to ensure the
vehicle can operate safely and in accordance with applicable sections of Title 47 of the Oklahoma
Statutes;
(3) clean linen, blankets, washcloths, and hand-towels shall be stored in a manner that is free of dirt
and debris,
(4) medical supplies and equipment shall be stored in a safe and secure manner.
(b) soiled linen shall be placed in a closed container which may include plastic bags with ties. Any linen
which is suspected of being contaminated with blood borne pathogens or other infectious disease shall be
placed in a properly marked closed container for cleaning or disposal;
(c) contaminated disposable supplies shall be placed in properly marked appropriately marked or
designated containers in a manner that deters accidental exposure.
(d) Implements inserted into the patient's nose or mouth shall be single-service wrapped and properly
stored and handled. When multi-use items are utilized, the local health care facilities should be consulted
for instructions in sanitation and handling of such items.
(e) Personnel shall be clean, especially hands and fingernails, and well groomed. Clothing worn by
personnel shall be clean. The licensee shall provide in each vehicle a means of hand decontamination for
the attendants.
(f) Oxygen humidifier(s) shall be single use;
(g) All medications, supplies and sterile equipment with expiration dates shall be current.
(h) Expired medications, supplies, and sterile equipment shall be discarded appropriately.
(1) Tampering, removing, or altering expiration dates on medications, supplies, and equipment is
prohibited.
(j) The station facility, ambulance bays, living quarters, and office areas shall be clean, orderly, and free of
safety and health hazards;
(k) All storage spaces used for storage of linens, equipment, medical supplies, and other supplies at the
base station shall be kept clean;
(I) Agency vehicles and facilities shall be free of any evidence of use of lighted or smokeless tobacco
products except in designated smoking areas consistent with the provisions of 310:641-1-4.

[Source: Amended at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]

310:641-15-16. Emergency medical response agency storage of intravenous solutions

(a) Medication and vascular fluid shall be stored in a manner that complies with manufacturer and FDA
standards.

(b) Each agency shall maintain medications in a manner that deters theft and diversion of all medications.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eft 9-11-16]



310:641-15-17. Emergency medical response agency authority to carry controlled substances on a
vehicle

(a) An emergency medical response agency, with personnel licensed to utilize such, is hereby authorized to
carry a limited supply of controlled substances, secured and stored in a manner that is compliant with State
and Federal statutes and regulations. The utilization, procurement, and accountability of such drugs shall
be supervised by medical control for the service. An inventory shall be kept and signed according to the
requirement of the Oklahoma Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs (OBNDD) and the United States
Department of Justice Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA). Each responsible medical director shall
maintain a copy of their OBNDD certificate to the Department for this purpose.

(b) Any loss or deficiency which occurs in the utilization, procurement, or accountability of controlled
substances shall be reported the OBNDD and DEA through their procedures and requirements, and to the
Department, within ten (10) working days.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-15-18. Emergency medical response agency inspections

(a) The Department shall conduct unannounced inspections of every certified emergency medical response
agency. Inspection may include a review of any requirements of the Act and rules promulgated thereunder.
The Department may require copies of such records as deemed necessary consistent with the files section
of this sub chapter.

(b) All inspection reports will be sent to the agency director, certificate owner, and medical director.

(c) A representative of the agency will be with the Department employee during the inspection.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eft 9-11-16]

310:641-15-19. Emergency medical response agency notice of violation
(a) A violation of the Act or this Chapter is ground for the Department to issue a written order, sent via
certified mail, citing the violation, affording the agency an opportunity to demonstrate compliance, and
indicating the time no less than fifteen (15) days after receipt of the notice in which any needed correction
shall be made. The fifteen-day notice period may be reduced as, in the opinion of the Department, may be
necessary to render an order of compliance reasonably effectual.
(b) Unless the Department specifies a reduced period, within thirty (30) days after receipt of the notice of
violation, the agency shall submit to the Department a written demonstration of compliance and/or plan of
correction.
(c) A plan of correction shall include at least the following:

(1) When the correction was or will be completed;

(2) How the correction was or will be made;

(3) What measures will prevent a recurrence; and

(4) Who will be accountable to ensure future compliance.
(d) The Department shall ensure that the agency is afforded due process in accordance with the Procedures
of the State Department of Health, Oklahoma Administrative Code, Title 310, Chapter 2, and the
Administrative Procedures Act, Title 75 O.S. Section 250 et seq.
(e) Violations found by the Department which require immediate correction shall be handled in compliance
with Title 75 of the Oklahoma Statutes, Section 314.1 and the Oklahoma Administrative Code, Title 310,
Chapter 2, specifically 310:2-21-23.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eft 9-11-16]

310:641-15-20. Emergency medical services regions

(a) Regions established pursuant to Section 1-2503 (21) and (22) of the Act, shall not be recognized
without Department approval for this purpose. Pursuant to Title 74, O.S., Section 1006, of the "Interlocal
Cooperation Act" (relating to Approval of Agreements), the Department shall exercise authority granted to
approve or disapprove all matters within its jurisdiction, in addition to and in substitution for the
requirement of submission to and approval by the Attorney General.



(b) The Department shall recognize regions which comply with the law and this Chapter.

(c) Any regional emergency medical services system shall provide the name of the regional medical
director, copies of regional standards, rules, and transport protocols established for the regional emergency
medical services system to the Department.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-15-21. Triage, transport, and transfer protocols
(a) Certified emergency medical response agencies, as part of their protocols, will include:
(1) specific prioritization definitions for medical and trauma patients as defined in regional plans
for statewide systems,
(2) A process for making appropriate transportation choices to include ground and air ambulance
requests,
(3) a quality assurance plan or policy.
(b) Emergency medical response agencies will utilize the regional medical and trauma plans for patient
prioritization and implementation of transport decisions.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-15-22. Emergency medical response agency records and files
(a) All required records for certification will be maintained for a minimum of three (3) years.
(b) Each certified emergency medical response agency shall maintain electronic or paper records about the
operation, maintenance, and such other required documents at the business office. These files shall be
available for review by the Department during normal work hours. Files which shall be maintained include
the following:
(1) Patient care records: At the time a patient care is transferred to an ambulance service, the
following information will be, at a minimum, provided to the ambulance staff members at the time
the patient(s) are accepted:
(A) personal information such as name, date of birth, and address, if known;
(B) patient assessment with history;
(C) medical interventions and patient responses to interventions,
(D) any known allergies; and
(E) other information from the medical history that would impact the patient outcome if not
immediately provided.
(2) Certified emergency medical response agency patient care reports shall contain demographic,
legal, medical, community health, and patient care information as detailed in the OKEMSIS data
dictionary.
(3) All run reports and patient care information shall be considered confidential.
(c) All certified emergency medical response agencies shall:
(1) maintain electronic or paper records on the maintenance and regular inspections of each
vehicle.
(A) Each vehicle must be inspected and a detailed equipment checklist completed after
each call or on a daily basis, whichever is less frequent.
(B) documentation that shows routine vehicle maintenance for each vehicle as required by
vehicle manufacture recommendations,
(C) Event standby agencies will complete a checklist of equipment prior to scheduled
events or duties.
(2) maintain a licensure or credential file for licensed and certified emergency medical personnel
employed by or associated with the service to include:
(3) Oklahoma license and certification,
(4) Basic Life Support certification, or documentation of BLS cognitive objectives and psycho-
motor skills that meets or exceeds American Heart Association standards, and approved by the
medical director;



(5) Advanced Cardiac Life Support certification, or documentation of BLS cognitive objectives and
psycho motor skills that meets or exceeds American Heart Association Standards if applicable for
licensure, and approved by the medical director;
(6) Incident Command System or National Incident Management Systems training at the 100, 200,
and 700 levels or their equivalent,
(7) verification of an emergency vehicle operations course or other agency approved defensive
driving course,
(8) contain a list or other credentialing document that defines or describes the medical director
authorized procedures, equipment, and medications for each certified or licensed member
employed or associated with the agency,
(9) a copy of the medical director credentials will be maintained at the agency.
(d) The electronic or paper copies of the licenses and credentials described in this section shall be kept
separate from other personnel records to ensure confidentiality of records that do not pertain to the
documents relating to patient care.
(e) Copies of in-service training and continuing education records.
(f) Copies of the emergency medical response agency's:
(1) operational policies, guidelines, or employee handbook;
(2) medical protocols;
(3) OSHA and/or Department of Labor exposure plan, policies, or guidelines.
(g) A log of each request for service received and/or initiated to include the:
(1) disposition of the request and the reason for declining the request, if applicable,
(2) the patient care report number,
(3) date of request,
(4) patient care report times,
(5) location of the incident,
(6) transporting ambulance agency name, and
(7) nature of the call,
(h) Documentation that verifies an ongoing, physician involved quality assurance program.
(1) Such other documents which may be determined necessary by the Department. Such documents can
only be required after a thorough, reasonable, and appropriate notification by the Department to the
services and agencies.
(j) The standardized data set and an electronic submission standard for EMS data as developed by the
Department shall be mandatory for each emergency medical response agency. Reports shall be forwarded
to the Department by the last business day of the following month. Exceptions to the monthly reporting
requirements shall be granted only by the Department in writing.
(k) Review and the disclosure of information contained in the certified agency files shall be confidential
except for information which pertains to the requirements for license, certification, or investigation issued
by the Department.
(1) Department representatives shall have prompt access to files, records, and property as necessary to
appropriately survey the provider. Refusal to allow access by representatives of Department to records,
equipment, or property may result in summary suspension of licensure by the Commissioner of Health.
(m) All information submitted and/or maintained in files for review shall be accurate and consistent with
Department requirements.
(n) A representative of the agency will be present during the record review.

[Source: Amended at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]

310:641-15-23. Suspension, revocation, probation, or non-renewal of a certification
(a) The Department may suspend or revoke a certification and/or fine or place on probation a certification
or certificate holder for the following:
(1) violations of any of the provision of the Oklahoma Statutes, the Act or this chapter;
(2) permitting, aiding or abetting in any illegal act in connection with the ambulance service;
(3) conduct of any practice that is detrimental to the welfare of the patient or potential users of the
service;



(4) failure to comply with a written order issued by the Department within the time frame specified
by the Department;
(5) engaging in any act which is designed or intended to hinder, impede, or obstruct the
investigation of any matter governed by the Act or by any lawful authority;
(6) an emergency medical response agency that fails to renew their Oklahoma certification within
the time frame and other requirements as specified in these rules shall be considered an expired or
lapsed licensee and therefore no longer certified as an service in the State of Oklahoma;
(7) a misleading, deceptive, or false, or fraudulent advertisement or other representation in the
conduct of the profession or occupation;
(8) offering, giving, promising anything of value or benefit, as defined in Oklahoma Statutes or
Department Policy to a Federal, state, or local governmental official for the purpose of influencing
the employee or official to circumvent a Federal, state, or local law, rule, or ordinance governing
the licensee's profession or occupations;
(9) interference with an investigation disciplinary proceeding by willful misrepresentation of facts,
by the use of threats or harassment against or inducement to a client or witness to prevent them
from providing evidence in a disciplinary proceeding or other legal action, or by use of threats or
harassment against or inducement to a person to prevent or attempt to prevent a disciplinary
proceeding or other legal action from being filed, prosecuted, or completed;
(10) failure to report the unprofessional conduct or non-compliance of regulations by individually
licensed and certified personnel as defined in this Chapter.
(b) No person, company, governmental entity or trust authority may operate an emergency medical
response agency except in accordance with the Act and the rules as promulgated by the State Board. The
Commissioner, District Attorney of the county wherein a violation occurs, or the Attorney General of this
State, shall have the authority to enforce provisions of the law.
(c) A license/certificate/permit holder or applicant, in connection with a license application or an
investigation conducted by the Department pursuant to this rule shall not:
(1) knowingly make a false statement of material fact;
(2) fail to disclose a fact necessary to correct a misapprehension known by the licensee to have
arisen in the application or the matter under investigation; or
(3) fail to respond to a demand for information made by the Department or any designated
representative thereof.
(d) If in the course of an investigation the Department determines that a license/certificate/permit holder or
applicant has engaged in conduct that is detrimental to the health, safety, or welfare of the public, and
which conduct necessitates immediate action to prevent further harm, the Commissioner may order a
summary suspension of the license/certificate/permit holder's license, certificate, or permit respectively. A
presumption of imminent harm to the public shall exist if the Department determines probable cause for
conduct of any practice that is detrimental to the welfare of the patient or potential users of the service.
(e) In addition to any other penalties, a civil fine of not more than one hundred ($100.00) dollars per
violation per day may be assessed, for violations of the Act or this Chapter.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]
SUBCHAPTER 17. STRETCHER VAN SERVICE

310:641-17-1. Purpose

(a) This Subchapter incorporates the authorization, licensure, and minimum requirements for operating a
Stretcher Van Service that transports passengers that are medically stable, but need to be transported in a
reclining position, and

(b) provide standards for the enforcement of the provisions of the Act and this Chapter.

[Source: Amended at 37 Ok Reg 1423, eff 9-11-20]
310:641-17-2. Stretcher van service license required [REVOKED]

[Source: Revoked at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]



310:641-17-3. Issuance of a stretcher van service license

(a) The Department shall have sole discretion to approve or deny an application for a stretcher van service
license based on the ability of the applicant to meet the requirements of this Chapter.

(b) A license may be issued for a stretcher van service.

(c) The license shall be issued only for the name, service area, and service provided. The license is not
transferable or assignable.

(d) The initial license period shall expire the second June 30th; following the date of issue. Subsequent
renewal periods shall be twenty-four (24) months, or two (2) years.

(e) The original, or a copy of the original, license shall be posted in a conspicuous place in the principal
business office. If an office or other public place is not available, then the license shall be available to
anyone requesting to see the license; during regular business hours.

(f) The stretcher van service is limited to the transportation of stable passengers that can only be
transported in a reclining position. As such, the medical interventions the staff members can provide are
that of first aid, BLS CPR, and AED interventions. Agency supplied medications are prohibited for this
license type.

[Source: Amended at 37 Ok Reg 1423, eff 9-11-20]

310:641-17-4. Renewal of a stretcher van license
(a) The Department shall provide to all licensed stretcher van services a "Survey/Renewal Form" in
December each year. This form shall be considered and utilized as a renewal application if due. The
"Survey/Renewal Form" along with proof of the required types of insurance shall be returned to the
Department by January 3 1st each year.
(1) Upon receipt of a complete and correct renewal application, a renewal fee statement shall be
mailed by the Department to each licensee in need of renewal.
(2) A non-refundable fee for the renewal of a stretcher van service license shall be one hundred
dollars ($100.00), fifty dollars ($50.00) for each substation, plus twenty dollars ($20.00) for each
vehicle in excess of two (2).
(3) A stretcher van service license shall be renewed if:
(A) the service has applied for such renewal;
(B) the service has no outstanding deficiencies or is in need of correction as may be
identified during inspection of the service, and;
(C) the proper fee has been received by the Department.
(b) A stretcher van service license; if not renewed by midnight June 30 of the expiration year, shall be
considered non-renewed.
(1) A grace period of thirty (30) days is permitted under 63 O.S. Section 1-1702.
(2) Thereafter a new application shall be required for the continuation of any such license, and the
applicant shall be subject to initial application procedures. An extension may be granted by the
Department for the purpose of renewal, subject to a determination by the Department of the
following:
(A) the safety, need, and well-being of the public and general populace to be served by the
stretcher van service;
(B) the availability of personnel, equipment, and the financial ability of the applicant to
meet the minimum standards of emergency medical services law;
(C) the number of estimated runs to be made by the stretcher van service;
(D) the desire of the community(ies) to be served.

[Source: Amended at 37 Ok Reg 1423, eff 9-11-20]

310:641-17-5. Denial for an initial stretcher van license

(a) A stretcher van license application may be denied for any of the following reasons:
(1) a felony conviction, adjudication, or plea of guilty or nolo contendere of any person, member of
the firm, partnership, corporation or the person designated to supervise the service; to include, but
not be limited to, fraud, grand larceny, child abuse, sexual offense(s), drug offense(s), or a



conviction, adjudication, or plea of guilty or nolo contendere which might otherwise have a bearing

on the operation of the service;

(2) falsification of Department required information;

(3) ownership, management, or administration by principals of an entity whose license has been

revoked; and

(4) licensure or re-licensure may not be in the best interest of the public as determined by the

Department.
(b) An applicant shall be notified in writing within sixty (60) days from the date the Department receives a
complete application of the granting or denial of a license. In the event of a denial, the specific reason(s)
shall be noted and indications of the corrective action necessary to obtain a license or renewal shall be
given, if applicable. A license application may be re-submitted, but each resubmission shall be considered
an initial application.

[Source: Amended at 37 Ok Reg 1423, eff 9-11-20]

310:641-17-6. Denial of a license being renewed
(a) A license application for renewal may be denied for any of the following:
(1) the failure to meet standards set forth by statute or rule;
(2) a felony conviction, adjudication, or plea of guilty or nolo contendere of any person, member of
the firm, partnership, corporation, or the person designated to manage the service to include, but
not limited to fraud, grand larceny, child abuse, sexual offense(s), or a conviction, adjudication, or
plea of guilty or nolo contendere which might otherwise have a bearing on the operation of a
service;
(3) outstanding notice of violation that has not been addressed with an acceptable plan of
correction;
(4) insufficient financial resources;
(5) falsification of Department required information;
(6) ownership, management, or administration by principles of an entity whose certification has
been revoked;
(7) re-certification may not be in the best interest of the public as determined by the Department;
(8) revocation or denial of a governmental letter of support as required for initial certification;
(b) An applicant shall be notified in writing within sixty (60) days, from the date the Department receives a
complete renewal application, of the granting or denial of a renewed license. In the event of a denial, the
specific reason(s) shall be noted, and an indication of the corrective action necessary to obtain a renewed
license shall be given if applicable. A license application may be resubmitted, but each re-submission shall
be considered an initial application.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-17-7. Severance of action, amendment, and re-instatement

(a) The issuance or renewal of a license after notice of a violation(s) has been given shall not constitute a
waiver by the Department of its power to rely on the violation(s) for subsequent license revocation or other
enforcement action which may arise out of the notice of violation(s).

(b) Any change in the name of the service, level, service area, or the addition of substation, shall
necessitate an application to amend the license and shall be accompanied by a fee of one hundred dollars
($100.00).

(c) Changing or moving the location of a substation requires written notification to the Department.

(d) If an existing license is placed on probation or suspension, a fee of one hundred ($100.00) dollars, in
addition to any other provision of the action, shall be submitted prior to re-instatement of the license to full
privilege.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-17-8. Stretcher van staffing



(a) Each stretcher van service shall be staffed by a minimum of two (2) persons.
(b) The passenger shall be accompanied by a minimum of:
(1) an attendant that has a current Oklahoma Emergency Medical Responder certification and
maintains current BLS certification and
(2) the driver shall hold a valid Oklahoma driver's license, possess a current BLS certification, and
have completed an agency defensive driving course that includes driving a vehicle similar to a
stretcher van.
(c) Under no circumstance during the transport of a stretcher van passenger shall the attendant be less than
an Oklahoma certified Emergency Medical Responder.
(d) Each stretcher van service shall provide to each attendant and driver an orientation designed to
familiarize these individuals with the local and regional emergency medical system and other Oklahoma
public safety resources.
(e) Agencies will maintain training records demonstrating competency in emergency procedures, passenger
handling, and vehicle operations for all personnel utilized by the agency prior to passenger contact or
vehicle operations.

[Source: Amended at 37 Ok Reg 1423, eff 9-11-20]

310:641-17-9. Stretcher van vehicles
(a) A stretcher van vehicle may not be permitted by the Department prior to the submission and approval of
all required documentation, fees, and a Department inspection.
(b) Authorized stretcher van vehicles of licensed services shall be in good mechanical and serviceable
condition at all times, so as to not be hazardous to the passenger(s) or crewmembers. If, in the
determination of the Department, a vehicle does not meet this requirement, it may be removed from service
until repairs are made.
(c) Authorized stretcher van vehicles of licensed services shall be tested for interior carbon monoxide, in a
manner acceptable to the Department. Carbon monoxide levels of more than ten parts per million (10ppm)
shall be considered in excess and shall render the vehicle "out of compliance". Vehicles shall be removed
from service if carbon monoxide levels exceed fifty parts per million (50ppm) and until repairs are made to
reduce the amounts of carbon monoxide below ten parts per million (10ppm).
(d) A class "S" permit shall be affixed to a vehicle in compliance and utilized as a stretcher van vehicle.
(e) Stretcher van vehicles shall place a permit or inspection decal affixed by the Department. These decals
shall be placed in the driver side rear window unless it is impossible or impractical to place in this area.
(f) Stretcher van vehicles are not ambulances, and may not be authorized as emergency vehicles within
Title 47, relating to definitions of emergency vehicles.
(g) Violations that may justify immediate removal of a vehicle permit include:
(1) inadequate sanitation, including the presence of contamination by blood and or bodily fluids,
(2) inoperable heater or air conditioner as detailed within the vehicle manufacturing standards and
specifications,
(3) inoperable AED,
(4) tires that do not meet Oklahoma Statutes Title 47, Chapter 12 requirements,
(5) carbon monoxide levels greater than fifty (50) parts per million,
(6) lapse of vehicle liability insurance,
(7) lapse of worker compensation insurance,
(8) inability to affix a class S" permit to the vehicle,
(9) vehicle that does not comply with statutory safety equipment found in Title 47.
(10) If such violation is not or cannot be corrected immediately, any affected vehicle shall be
removed from service and the ambulance permit shall be removed until such time the vehicle is
compliant and has been re-inspected and permitted by the Department.
(h) The stretcher van vehicle must utilize a stretcher or gurney and locking system that meets or
manufactures standards
(1) Stretcher van vehicles purchased after the effective date of these amendments shall comply with the
following:



(1) a mounted seat with seatbelts for the passenger attendant in the passenger compartment or area

of the vehicle,

(2) mounted cabinets for the purpose of storing supplies and equipment,

(3) mounted and rear loading lights,

(4) the capability to contact 911 should an emergency arise while transporting a passenger, and

(5) display exterior markings identifying the vehicle as a stretcher van and the business name in six

(6) inch letters in a contrasting color on the rear and sides of the vehicle,

(6) brackets or other retaining system for securing oxygen cylinders on the gurney and within the

stretcher van, and

(7) modifications made to stretcher van vehicles after initial testing may require the vehicle to

undergo new AMD 004, 012, and/or 013 standard testing.
(j) A stretcher van shall meet Ambulance Manufacturers Division (AMD) Standards 004, 012, and 013, and
shall pass corresponding safety tests. Stretcher vans must not have functioning emergency lights or sirens.
(k) Documentation of vehicle safety testing or manufacturer certification must be maintained in agency
files.

[Source: Amended at 37 Ok Reg 1423, eff 9-11-20]

310:641-17-10. Equipment for stretcher van vehicles
Each stretcher van vehicle shall carry, at a minimum the following:
(1) body substance isolation kits with gowns, gloves, eye protection, and masks;
(2) latex or equivalent gloves separate from body substance isolation Kits;
(3) extra blankets, sheets, pillow cases;
(4) two (2) five (5) pound fire extinguishers, secured, with one (1) accessible to the driver and one
(1) accessible to the passenger attendant;
(5) one (1) elevating gurney with locking equipment that complies with AMD 004;
(6) an AED with adult and pediatric capabilities if the agency transports pediatric passengers;
(7) if the agency transports children, then the agency is required to provide a child restraint system;
(8) portable and spare oxygen cylinders shall be appropriately secured;
(9) one (1) stretcher mount portable oxygen securing device; and
(10) Stretcher van agencies may carry and provide oxygen and utilize equipment necessary for the
provision of oxygen as prescribed by the physician, excluding agency supplied ventilator
equipment.

[Source: Amended at 37 Ok Reg 1423, eff 9-11-20]

310:641-17-11. Stretcher van medical control

(a) As defined in 63 O.S. § 1-2503, Stretcher van agencies may carry and provide oxygen and utilize any
equipment necessary for the provision of oxygen.

(b) As defined in 63 O.S. § 1-2503, Stretcher van passengers transported in or by Stretcher vans are to be
medically stable, non-emergent, and do not require medical monitoring equipment or assistance during
transport except oxygen.

(c) As defined in 63 O.S. § 1-2503, all passengers transported by stretcher vans must be screened by a
certified medical dispatching protocol approved by the Department.

(d) Passengers that will continue oxygen during their Stretcher van transport will need to have a
prescription or physician order for oxygen. This physician order or prescription completes the requirement
for an agency specific medical director or medical control. This physician order completes the requirement
for certified and licensed agencies and personnel to have medical control as defined in 63 O.S. § 1-2503.

[Source: Amended at 37 Ok Reg 1423, eff 9-11-20]

310:641-17-12. Sanitation requirements
(a) The following shall apply regarding sanitation standards for all stretcher van services facilities,
vehicles, and personnel:



(1) the interior of the vehicle and the equipment within the vehicle shall be sanitary and maintained
in good working order at all times;
(2) the exterior of the vehicle shall be clean and maintained in good working order to ensure the
vehicle can operate safely and in accordance with applicable sections of Title 47 of the Oklahoma
Statutes;
(3) linen shall be changed after each passenger is transported, and the used linen will be bagged
and stored in an outside or separate compartment;
(4) clean linen, blankets, washcloths, and hand-towels shall be stored in a closed interior cabinet
free of dirt and debris;
(5) freshly laundered linen or disposable linen shall be used on the cots and pillows and changed
between passenger;
(6) pillows and mattresses shall be kept clean and in good repair and any repairs made to pillows,
mattresses, and padded seats shall be permanent;
(7) soiled linen shall be placed in a container that deters accidental exposure. Any linen which is
suspected of being contaminated with bodily fluids or other potentially hazardous infectious waste
shall be placed in an appropriately marked closed container for disposal;
(8) contaminated disposable supplies shall be placed in appropriately marked or designated
containers in a manner that deters accidental exposure.
(9) exterior and interior surfaces of vehicles shall be cleaned routinely;
(10) blankets and hand towels used in any vehicle shall be clean;
(11) when a vehicle has been utilized to transport a passenger(s) known to the operator to have a
communicable disease, the vehicle shall be cleansed and all contact surfaces shall be washed with
soap and water and appropriate disinfectant. The vehicle should be placed "out of service" until a
thorough cleansing is conducted,;
(12) all storage spaces used for storage of linens, equipment, medical supplies and other supplies at
the base station shall be kept clean;
(13) personnel shall:

(A) be clean, especially hands and fingernails, and well groomed,

(B) clothing worn by personnel shall be clean;

(C) while on duty, employees shall wear an identifiable uniform or agency specific photo

identification;

(D) The licensee shall provide in each vehicle a means of hand washing for the attendants;
(14) expired supplies and equipment shall be discarded appropriately. Tampering, removing, or
altering expiration dates on medications, supplies, and equipment is prohibited; and
(15) the station facility, ambulance bays, living quarters, and office areas shall be clean, orderly,
and free of safety and health hazards.

(b) Stretcher van vehicles and service facilities shall be free of any evidence of use of lighted or smokeless
tobacco products except in designated smoking areas consistent with the provisions of 310:641-1-4 (c).

[Source: Amended at 37 Ok Reg 1423, eff 9-11-20]

310:641-17-13. Inspections

(a) The Department shall conduct unannounced inspections of every licensed stretcher van service.
Inspection may include a review of any requirements of the Act and rules promulgated thereunder. The
Department may require copies of such records as deemed necessary consistent with the files section of
this subchapter.

(b) All inspection reports will be sent to the agency director and license owner.

(c) A representative of the agency will be with the Department employee during the inspection.

[Source: Amended at 37 Ok Reg 1423, eff 9-11-20]

310:641-17-14. Stretcher van notice of violation
(a) A violation of the Act or this Chapter is ground for the Department to issue a written order, sent via
certified mail, citing the violation, affording the agency an opportunity to demonstrate compliance, and



indicating the time no less than fifteen (15) days after receipt of the notice in which any needed correction
shall be made. The fifteen-day notice period may be reduced as, in the opinion of the Department, may be
necessary to render an order of compliance reasonably effectual.
(b) Unless the Department specifies a reduced period, within thirty (30) days after receipt of the notice of
violation, the agency shall submit to the Department a written demonstration of compliance and/or plan of
correction.
(c) A plan of correction shall include at least the following:

(1) When the correction was or will be completed;

(2) How the correction was or will be made;

(3) What measures will prevent a recurrence; and

(4) Who will be accountable to ensure future compliance.
(d) The Department shall ensure that the agency is afforded due process in accordance with the Procedures
of the State Department of Health, Oklahoma Administrative Code, Title 310, Chapter 2, and the
Administrative Procedures Act, Title 75 O.S. Section 250 et seq.
(e) Violations found by the Department which require immediate correction shall be handled in compliance
with Title 75 of the Oklahoma Statutes, Section 314.1 and the Oklahoma Administrative Code, Title 310,
Chapter 2, specifically 310:2-21-23.

[Source: Amended at 37 Ok Reg 1423, eff 9-11-20]

310:641-17-15. Emergency medical services regions

(a) Regions established pursuant to 63 O.S. Section 1-2503 (21) and (22) shall not be recognized without
Department approval for this purpose. Pursuant to Title 74 O.S. Section 1006, of the "Interlocal
Cooperation Act" (relating to Approval of Agreements), the Department shall exercise authority granted to
approve or disapprove all matters within its jurisdiction, in addition to and in substitution for the
requirement of submission to and approval by the Attorney General.

(b) The Department shall recognize regions which comply with the law and this Chapter.

(c) Any regional emergency medical services system shall provide the name of the regional medical
director, copies of regional standards, rules, and transport protocols established for the regional emergency
medical services system to the Department.

[Source: Added at 33 Ok Reg 1529, eff 9-11-16]

310:641-17-16. Operational protocols
(a) Stretcher van vehicles are to be used for stretcher van passengers only.
(1) Emergency transfers are prohibited.
(2) Stretcher vans are prohibited from conducting passenger transfers or providing transportation
from the pre-hospital setting.
(b) Stretcher van services are limited to providing non-emergency transportation to medically stable,
nonemergent individuals who need to be transported in a reclining position on a stretcher but who do not
require any type of monitoring or administration of medical care.
(c) Passenger supplied medications for self-administration are permitted.
(d) Passenger attendants are limited to first aid, BLS CPR, and AED interventions, and the continuation of
oxygen.
(e) Stretcher vans shall define the days and hours of operation in which transportation is provided.
(f) When a facility requests a stretcher van, the agency will provide an accurate estimated time of arrival
and ensure the passenger needs will be able to be met for the service being requested within the scope of
the licensure capabilities and capacity.
(g) Stretcher van transports may be made to and from any State or Federal Veteran Centers.
(h) When a stretcher vans passenger develops an emergency condition, the service shall:
(1) contact 911 or the local emergency number;
(2) proceed to the closest hospital or to a rendezvous point;
(3) provide appropriate first aid, BLS CPR, and AED interventions; and
(4) submit an incident report to the Department within 48 hours of the incident;



(1) Mutual aid plan(s), regarding interfacility transports only, with licensed services shall be developed and
placed in the agency files for inspection. Plans will be periodically reviewed to ensure accuracy and
completeness. Licensed stretcher vans agencies shall provide mutual aid if the agency has the capability
and if the requested activity is within the licensure requirements.

[Source: Amended at 37 Ok Reg 1423, eff 9-11-20]

310:641-17-17. Transfer protocols

(a) Passengers transported by stretcher van services may originate from a location other than a medical
setting provided the passenger's condition is appropriately screened to ensure the passenger condition is
within the service's licensure capabilities.

(b) Transports that occur between medical facilities will be screened to ensure that any care and treatment
at the sending facility has been discontinued prior to discharge or transport.

(c) Direct admits from a pre-hospital setting or admissions through the emergency room at a receiving
facility are prohibited.

[Source: Amended at 37 Ok Reg 1423, eff 9-11-20]

310:641-17-18. Stretcher van service records and files
(a) All required records for licensure will be maintained for a minimum of three years.
(b) Each licensed stretcher van service shall maintain electronic or paper records about the operation,
maintenance, and such other required documents at the business office. These files shall be available for
review by the Department during normal work hours. Files which shall be maintained include the
following:
(1) a record of each passenger transport to include, but not be limited to:
(A) personal information such as name, date of birth and address;
(B) contact information;
(C) originating location;
(D) destination;
(E) reason for the transport; and
(F) if oxygen was continued.
(2) Records shall be submitted to the Department as required.
(c) All passenger transport reports and information shall be considered as confidential.
(d) All stretcher van agencies shall maintain electronic or paper records on the maintenance and regular
inspections of each vehicle.
(1) Each vehicle must be inspected and a detailed equipment checklist completed after each call or
on a daily basis, whichever is less frequent.
(2) Documentation that shows routine vehicle maintenance for each vehicle as required by vehicle
manufacture recommendations.
(e) All stretcher van agencies shall maintain a licensure or credential file for licensed and certified
emergency medical personnel employed by or associated with the service to include:
(1) Oklahoma license and certification,
(2) Basic Life Support certification that meets or exceeds American Heart Association standards,
(3) Incident Command System or National Incident Management Systems training at the 100, 200,
and 700 levels or their equivalent,
(4) verification of an Emergency Vehicle Operations Course or other agency approved defensive
driving course,
(f) The electronic or paper copies of the licenses and credentials described in this section shall be kept
separate from other personnel records to ensure confidentiality of records that do not pertain to the
documents relating to the passenger.
(g) Copies of staffing patterns, schedules, or staffing reports.
(h) Copies of in-service training and continuing education records.
(1) Copies of the stretcher van service's:
(1) operational policies, guidelines, or employee handbook;



(2) OSHA and/or Department of Labor exposure plan, policies, or guidelines.
(j) A log of each request for service call received and/or initiated, to include the:

(1) disposition of the request and the reason for declining the request, if applicable;

(2) passenger care report number;

(3) date of request;

(4) location of the incident;

(5) nature of the call,

(6) time requested;

(7) time arrived;

(8) time departed;

(9) time at destination;

(10) time transport complete;

(11) unit number;

(12) staff member on transport; and

(13) medical screening documentation.
(k) Documentation that verifies an ongoing quality assurance program.
(1) Such other documents which may be determined necessary by the Department. Such documents can
only be required after a thorough, reasonable, and appropriate notification by the Department to the
services and agencies.
(m) The standardized data set and an electronic submission standard for EMS data as developed by the
Department shall be mandatory for each licensed service as defined in the Act. Reports of the data standard
shall be forwarded to the Department by the last business day of the following month. Exceptions to the
monthly reporting requirements shall be granted only by the Department, in writing.
(n) Review and the disclosure of information contained in the stretcher van service files shall be
confidential, except for information which pertains to the requirements for license, certification, or
investigation issued by the Department.
(o) Department representatives shall have prompt access to files, records, and property as necessary to
appropriately survey the provider. Refusal to allow access by representatives of Department to records,
equipment, or property may result in summary suspension of licensure by the Commissioner of Health.
(p) All information submitted and/or maintained in files for review shall be accurate and consistent with
Department requirements.
(q) A representative of the agency will be present during the record review.

[Source: Amended at 39 Ok Reg 1338, eff 9-11-22]

310:641-17-19. Sole source ordinances

(a) A stretcher van service which operates as a sole source provider established by EMS regions,
ambulance service districts, or municipalities shall file with the Department a copy of the ordinance or
regulation and a copy of the contract to operate as a sole source provider. This requirement shall be
retroactive and includes all established sole source ordinances and resolutions.

(b) A stretcher van service which operates as a sole source provider for a "region" as established pursuant
to the Oklahoma Interlocal Cooperation Act (Title 74, Section 1001, et seq.), shall file with the
Department, a copy of the interlocal agreement and any ordinance or other regulations or contract or
agreement established by the region for ambulance service provision.

(c) Violation of contracts established herein may be cause for enforcement action by the Department.

[Source: Amended at 37 Ok Reg 1438, eff 9-11-20]

310:641-17-20. Suspension, revocation, probation, or non-renewal of a licensee
(a) The Department may suspend or revoke a license and/or fine or place on probation a license or licensee
for the following:

(1) violations of any of the provision of the Oklahoma Statutes, the Act, or this chapter;

(2) permitting, aiding, or abetting in any illegal act in connection with the ambulance service;



(3) conduct of any practice that is detrimental to the welfare of the passenger or potential users of
the service;
(4) responding to requests for service or completing transports that are not permitted by the type of
license issued by the Department;
(5) placing a vehicle into service before it is properly inspected, approved, and permitted by the
Department;
(6) failure to comply with a written order issued by the Department within the time frame specified
by the Department;
(7) engaging in any act which is designed or intended to hinder, impede, or obstruct the
investigation of any matter governed by the Act or by any lawful authority;
(8) a stretcher van service who fails to renew their Oklahoma license within the time frame and
other requirements as specified in these rules shall be considered an expired or lapsed licensee and
therefore no longer licensed as an ambulance service in the State of Oklahoma;
(9) a misleading, deceptive, false, or fraudulent advertisement or other representation in the
conduct of the profession or occupation;
(10) offering, giving, promising anything of value or benefit, as defined in Oklahoma Statutes or
Department Policy to a Federal, state, or local governmental official for the purpose of influencing
the employee or official to circumvent a Federal, state, or local law, rule, or ordinance governing
the licensee's profession or occupations;
(11) interference with an investigation disciplinary proceeding by willful misrepresentation of
facts, by the use of threats or harassment against or inducement to a client or witness to prevent
them from providing evidence in a disciplinary proceeding or other legal action, or by use of
threats or harassment against or inducement to a person to prevent or attempt to prevent a
disciplinary proceeding or other legal action from being filed, prosecuted, or completed;
(12) failure to report the unprofessional conduct or non-compliance of regulations by individually
licensed and certified personnel as defined in this Chapter.
(b) No person, company, governmental entity or trust authority may operate an ambulance service or
emergency medical response agency except in accordance with the Act and the rules as promulgated by the
State Board. The Commissioner, District Attorney of the county wherein a violation occurs, or the Attorney
General of this State, shall have the authority to enforce provisions of the law.
(c) A license/certificate/permit holder or applicant in connection with a license application or an
investigation conducted by the Department pursuant to this rule shall not:
(1) knowingly make a false statement of material fact;
(2) fail to disclose a fact necessary to correct a misapprehension known by the licensee to have
arisen in the application or the matter under investigation; or
(3) fail to respond to a demand for information made by the Department or any designated
representative thereof.
(d) If in the course of an investigation, the Department determines that a license/certificate/permit holder or
applicant has engaged in conduct that is detrimental to the health, safety, or welfare of the public, and
which conduct necessitates immediate action to prevent further harm, the Commissioner may order a
summary suspension of the license/certificate/permit holder's license, certificate, or permit respectively. A
presumption of imminent harm to the public shall exist if the Department determines probable cause for
conduct of any practice that is detrimental to the welfare of the passenger or potential users of the service.
(e) In addition to any other penalties, a civil fine of not more than one hundred ($100.00) dollars per
violation per day may be assessed, for violations of the Act or this Chapter.

[Source: Amended at 37 Ok Reg 1438, eff 9-11-20]



