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2023 Emergency Medical Responder Renewal Application

If your EMR certification expires June 30, 2023, you must turn in this renewal form by June 30th.
There is a 30-day grace period allowed for renewals.

After this 30 day grace period, a completed OSDH INITIAL EMR Application will be required for
reinstatement of licensure along with proof of completing an Oklahoma EMR course and passing
scores on the EMR practical exam and written exam.

In cases of hardship, an extension can be granted for up to 90 days. Requests for an extension
must be submitted via email to esystems@health.ok.gov The State EMS office cannot issue any
renewed certification after 90 days of the expiration date.

To renew your EMR Certification with an NREMT Certification, please send the following to the
Department to renew your Oklahoma EMR certification.

1. A completed EMR renewal application (the last page of this packet).

2. A copy of your current NREMT certification

3. The Line of Duty Death Benefit of five ($5.00) dollars.

To renew your certification without a NREMT certification, please send the following to the
Department to renew your Oklahoma EMR certification.

1. A completed EMR renewal application (the 2nd to the last page of this packet).

2. A completed continuing education form showing 16 hours of completed continuing education.
3. A current copy of your provider level CPR Card.

4. The Line of Duty Death Benefit Fee of Five ($5.00) Dollars.

SPECIAL NOTES:

. EMS Personnel who are placed on Tax Hold by the Oklahoma State Tax Commission must
be released by the Tax Commission on or before the ending of the statutory grace period.

. PLEASE READ AND UNDERSTAND THE MEMO Medical Control Requirements for
Certified and Licensed Personnel ON THE FOLLOWING PAGE.

. If you have any questions, please contact the EMS Division at 405-426-8084 or by email at
esystems@health.ok.gov.

Oklahoma State Department of Health
(405) 426-8000 - (800) 522-0203 - Oklahoma.gov/Health
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Statutory and Regulatory Requirements for Certified and Licensed Personnel
March 27, 2023

To: Oklahoma Certified Emergency Medical
Oklahoma Licensed Personnel (all levels)

From: Dale Adkerson, Administrative Program Manager- EMS Division
OSDH-Emergency Systems Zzée A %

Re: Medical Director authority and license requirements

On September 11, 2016, new regulations went into effect that impact all EMS related certificates and
license types issued by the Department. This includes the personnel that are certified or licensed by the
Department. This memo is an effort to provide individuals with a summary of the requirements for certified
and licensed personnel. The summary will include both "old" and "new" language that has been included in
the current statutes and regulations.

Many changes occurred when comparing the 2009 regulations to the 2016 regulations. However, many of
these changes related to formatting, organization, and clarifications. You are encouraged to be familiar with
the language for not only your individual license, but also the regulatory language that apply to the agencies
you are employed with.

The regulatory document can be found on our website. The link to the page with our statute and regulation
is: https://oklahoma.gov/health/protective-health/emergency-systems/ems-division/statutes-rules-
regulations-legislation.html

Currently, the most significant requirements relating to personnel are:

1. All emergency medical responders that had been trained prior to January 1, 2000 and had
maintained their certification through refresher courses are required to obtain a certification through the
Department. This is to be completed by September 30, 2017.

2. The scope of practice for all certified and licensed personnel requires physician authority.

If an individual is asked to provide care when they are not under a physician's authorization (such as when
an individual is not on duty or requested as part of your agency), the only interventions authorized is first
aid, CPR, and the use of an AED.

3. The Department can now license and renew advanced emergency medical technicians.
4, The renewal requirements for personnel licensed by the Department, but have not maintained their

NREMT certification has been clarified. (Personnel licensed after April 1, 2010 are required to maintain
NREMT certification.)

Oklahoma State Department of Health
(405) 426-8000 - (800) 522-0203 - Oklahoma.gov/Health
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5. Agencies and services are required to maintain a credential file for personnel that define the specific
scope of practice that has been authorized by an agencies medical director.

6. The regulations have specific reasons to take licensure action on individuals. This list is extensive,
and details inappropriate, unethical, criminal, and other negative actions that an individual may do that can
result in licensure action.

The current language that relates to personnel can be found on these pages in the regulatory document:

In addition to the changes to the individual certifications and licenses, please be aware of a new
certification type that may be required for individuals. This new agency certification is known as the
Standby Emergency Medical Response Agency (Standby EMRA). This new agency is the result of an
issue that the Department has been working to address for some time. This issue was certified and
licensed personnel working without a medical director at private and corporate events.

EMR’s and EMT’s are often hired to provide medical support for private events such as races, rodeos,
skating events, movie sets, and concerts. The producers, sponsors, and owners of these events hire
personnel to provide on-site medical support.

When personnel accept these jobs, assumptions are made about their ability to provide care at these
events. The intention of this certification type is not to restrict employment opportunities, but to provide the
profession and the public a method of ensuring minimum standards.

The requirements for this type of agency are in Subchapter 15 of the regulation document. The central
requirement for this type of certification is based on the care being provided at the event or location. If the
care being provided is limited to first aid, CPR, and the use of an AED, then there is not a requirement to
become a certified standby emergency medical response agency. If, however, the intent is to provide care
above first aid, CPR, and the use of an AED, then certification is required.

This is a new agency type that some certified and licensed individuals may choose to obtain because they
have been providing medical support at these events or locations.

The Department staff will provide to agencies, individuals, venues, or organizers of events any support we
can to transition to the new certification.

Please feel free to contact our office you have questions or concerns by calling 405.426.8084, or emailing
our office at ESystems@health.ok.gov.

Oklahoma State Department of Health
(405) 426-8000 - (800) 522-0203 - Oklahoma.gov/Health
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OSDH - Emergency Systems Emergency Medical Responder 2023 Renewal Form

INSTRUCTIONS: Please complete and return this form by your expiration date to remain certified as an
OK Emergency Medical Responder.

Pursuant to: OAC 310-641-5-61 PRINT OR TYPE THIS SECTION:

Name:
Last First Mi
SSN: DOB:
Address:
Street City County State Zip
OK EMRA Certification # : NREMT Registry#:
Inactive NREMT Status:
Phone #: email:

All information provided is true and correct to the best of my knowledge. | understand that by
signing this document, any fraudulent entry may be sufficient cause for disapproval and or
revocation of any subsequent registration, which has or will be issued.

Signature of Applicant: Date:

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS:
Nationally Registered:

. A copy of your renewed or current National Registry card (if certified with NREMT).

. If not NREMT Certified - A completed continuing education form showing 16 completed
hours. (see next 3 pages of the packet)
. A current copy of a provider-level CPR card

. $5.00 fee toward the Oklahoma EMS Death Benefit Fund.

Send this completed form, required documentation and the $5.00 fee (Check or Money Order
made out to “OSDH”) to:

OSDH-Emergency Systems
Attn: Financial Management,
PO Box 268823,
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73126-8823

Oklahoma State Department of Health
(405) 426-8000 - (800) 522-0203 - Oklahoma.gov/Health



2023 Continuing Education Report Form

Effective 9-11-2022 — Refresher courses are no longer required for renewal. Certified and licensed
personnel will provide documentation showing the completed continuing education courses or classes that
meet or exceed the National Registry National Continued Competency Program guidelines.

The minimum number of hours to complete based on certification or licensure level is:

Emergency Medical Responder — 16 Hours

Emergency Medical Technician — 40 Hours

Intermediate and Advanced EMT — 50 Hours

Paramedic — 60 Hours

All continuing education hours must be listed on

our form or on a similar form with the same

information signed by your Training Coordinator/Employer.

Do not send certificates or other verification without filling out the continuing education form.

If you have completed a refresher course, document the hours completed for each topic from
the refresher course as continuing education

National Continued Competencies Program — Minimum Hours

Broad Topic or Subtopics Minimum
Section EMR Hours
Completed

Minimum Intermediate | Paramedic Hours
EMT Hours | and AEMT Completed
Completed Hours
Completed

Ventilation

Airway, Capnography NA

NA NA

Respiratory, Oxygenation

Ventilations | Total Hours Required 1

1.5 2.5 3.5

Total Hours
Completed

Post-Resuscitation

VAD NA

Stroke

Cardiac Arrest

Cardiology Pediatric Cardiac
Arrest

CHF NA

NA NA

ACS NA

NA

Total Cardiology 25
Hours Required

Total Cardiology Hours
Completed

Trauma Triage NA

CNS Injury

Hemorrhage Control NA

Trauma Fluid Resuscitation NA

Total Trauma Hours )
Required

Total Trauma Hours
Completed




2023 Continuing Education Report Form

National Continued Competencies Program — Minimum Hours — continued.

Medical

Special Healthcare
Needs

NA

OB Emergencies

Infectious Disease

Medication Delivery

NA

NA

Pain Management

NA

Psychiatric

Toxicological/Opioids

Neurological/Seizures

Endocrine/Diabetes

Immunological

Total Medical Hours
Required

7.5

8.5

Total Medical Hours
Completed

Operations

At-Risk Populations

NA

Ambulance Safety

NA

Field Triage

Hygiene/Vaccinations

Culture of Safety

Pediatric Transport

NA

Crew Resource
Management

NA

Role of Research

NA

Evidence Based
Guidelines

NA

Total Hours of
Operations Required

6.5

Total Number of
Operations Hours
Completed

Total NCCP Hours
Completed

20

25

30

Continued on Page 3




2023 Continuing Education Report Form

Local or State Designated Continuing Education Topic
(Completed as part of National Continuing Competency Program)

Broad Topic or Subtopics EMR Hours | EMT Hours Intermediate and Paramedic
Section Completed | Completed AEMT Hours Hours
Completed Completed

Airway,
Respiratory,
Ventilations

Cardiology

Trauma

Medical

Operations

Total Hours 4 10 12.5 15
Required

Total Hours
Completed

Individual Selected Continuing Education Topic
(Completed as part of National Continuing Competency Program)

Broad Topic or Subtopics EMR Hours | EMT Hours | Intermediate | Paramedic Hours
Section Completed | Completed and AEMT Completed
Hours
Completed
Airway,

Respirations,
and ventilation;

Cardiovascular

Trauma

Medical

Operations

Total Hours 4 10 12.5 15
Required

Total Hours
Completed

Applicants Name (Print) Signature Date

Employer/Training Manager/Coordinator (Print) Signature Date
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