
2023 EMS Personnel Renewal Application 
Option 2- Non-NREMT Certified Oklahoma Licensed Personnel 

Your license will expire on June 30, 2023. Oklahoma statutes allow for a thirty (30) day grace period after the 
expiration date of the license (Grace period ends on July 30, 2023) (63 O.S. Section 1-1702). 

Renewal applications must be received at  the Department no later  than July 30, 2023. 

After July 30, 2023 a completed OSDH INITIAL EMS Personnel Application will be required for reinstatement of 
licensure.  This will require meeting all of the requirements for an initial license, including NREMT certification.  In cases 
of hardship, an extension can be granted for up to 90 days. Requests for an extension must be submitted via email 
to esystems@health.ok.gov  

The EMS Division cannot issue any license for renewal after 90 days of the expiration date. 

In-person payments for applications may be made Monday through Friday (excluding holidays) between 2:00 p.m. and 4:00 
p.m. at the OSDH Cashiers Window.  The Cashiers Window accepts cash/checks/credit cards.  The Cashier Window is 
located in the Vital Records Mezzanine, 123 Robert S. Kerr Avenue, Oklahoma City, OK 73102-6460.  A map to the parking 
lot is at this link.

During peak renewal period, you can expect a wait time of 4 to 6 weeks before receiving your renewal license.  
Renewing your license early will help ensure your license does not expire. 

OPTION 1, Nationally Registered EMS Personnel: 
DO NOT COMPLETE THIS FORM. Instead, select the "Option 1" license renewal application from the OSDH 
website. 

Individuals with an Oklahoma Intermediate license (with or without NREMT Certification) will use this form.  

OPTION 2, EMS Personnel WITHOUT National Registry Certification: 
An applicant that is currently not registered with National EMT Registry may continue to renew their Oklahoma 
EMS Personnel license if: 

1. The applicant was initially licensed in Oklahoma before April 1, 2010, and
2. The applicant has maintained their Oklahoma EMS license since April 1, 2010.

To renew your license without National Registration, please send the following to the Department: 

• A completed "Option 2" license renewal application
• For Oklahoma Licensed Intermediates and Paramedics, a completed Skill Verification form
• Con-Ed Summary Report Form.
• Copy of your CPR Card that indicates current healthcare provider or professional rescuer

certification or documentation that indicates CPR competence.
• Paramedics Only: Copy of your current ACLS certification or documentation that indicates CPR

competence.
• The license renewal fee.

Oklahoma State Department of Health 
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mailto:esystems@health.ok.gov
https://oklahoma.gov/content/dam/ok/en/health/health2/aem-documents/protective-health/emergency-systems/ems-division/OSDH-OK%20Commons%20Parking%20Map.pdf


SPECIAL NOTES: 
EMS Personnel who are placed on Tax Hold by the Oklahoma State Tax Commission must be 
released by the Tax Commission on or before the ending of the statutory grace period. 

PLEASE READ AND UNDERSTAND THE MEMO Medical Control Requirements for 
Certified and Licensed Personnel ON THE FOLLOWING PAGES. 

EMS Personnel who are instructors should submit their instructor renewal by email to 
esystems@health.ok.gov.  The form for instructor renewal is located here.  

Regulations concerning EMT Licensure may be found on our website. 

Applicants may renew without completing the skills verification.  This will result in the 
applicant being renewed as inactive.  By regulations, an inactive status prohibits a license 
holder from providing patient care until their license becomes active by completing the skills 
verification and submitting it to the EMS Division. 

If you have any questions, please contact the EMS Division at 405-426-8480 or by email at 
esystems@health.ok.gov 

mailto:esystems@health.ok.gov
https://oklahoma.gov/content/dam/ok/en/health/health2/aem-documents/protective-health/emergency-systems/ems-personnel-licensure/instructorrenewalapp-12-11-2019.pdf
https://oklahoma.gov/content/dam/ok/en/health/health2/aem-documents/protective-health/emergency-systems/ems-division/641%20Effective%209-11-2022%20Unofficial%20Copy.pdf
mailto:esystems@health.ok.gov


Statutory and Regulatory Requirements for Certified and Licensed Personnel 

September 15, 2022 

To: Oklahoma Certified Emergency Medical Responders 
Oklahoma Licensed Personnel (all levels) 

From: Dale Adkerson, 
Administrative Program Manager- EMS Division 
OSDH-Emergency Systems 

Re: New regulations relating to medical director authority and license requirements 

On September 11, 2016, new regulations went into effect that impact all EMS related certificates and license types 
issued by the Department. This includes the personnel that are certified or licensed by the Department. This 
memo is an effort to provide individuals with a summary of the requirements for certified and licensed personnel. 
The summary will include both "old" and "new" language that has been included in the current statutes and 
regulations. 

Many changes occurred when comparing the 2009 regulations to the 2016 regulations. However, many of these 
changes related to formatting, organization, and clarifications. You are encouraged to be familiar with the 
language for not only your individual license, but also the regulatory language that apply to the agencies you are 
employed with. 

The regulatory document can be found on our website:   EMS Division (oklahoma.gov) 

A broad outline of the content that applies to individuals is: 
• the statute that with personnel definitions and requirements are in the regulatory definitions, and
• the subchapter of the regulations for personnel is Subchapter 5,

Each of these sections will contain specific definitions or language that applies throughout the document. 

Currently, the most significant requirements relating to personnel are: 

1. All emergency medical responders that had been trained prior to January 1, 2000 and had maintained
their certification through refresher courses are required to obtain a certification through the
Department. This is to be completed by September 30, 2017.

2. The scope of practice for all certified and licensed personnel requires physician authority.
If an individual is asked to provide care when they are not under a physician's authorization (such as
when an individual is not on duty or requested as part of your agency), the only interventions
authorized is first aid, CPR, and the use of an AED.

3. The Department can now license and renew advanced emergency medical technicians.

4. The renewal requirements for personnel licensed by the Department, but have not maintained their
NREMT certification has been clarified. (Personnel licensed after April 1, 2010 are required to maintain
NREMT certification.)

5. Agencies and services are required to maintain a credential file for personnel that define the specific
scope of practice that has been authorized by an agencies medical director.

6. The regulations have specific reason to take licensure action on individuals.  This list is extensive, and
details inappropriate, unethical, criminal, and other actions that an individual may do that can result in
licensure action. The current language that relates to personnel can be found in Subchapter 5 of the
regulations.

https://oklahoma.gov/health/services/licensing-inspections/emergency-systems/ems-division.html


Requirements for certified and licensed personnel 
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In addition to the changes to the individual certifications and licenses, please be aware of a certification type that may 
be required for individuals. This agency certification is known as the Standby Emergency Medical Response Agency 
(Standby EMRA).  

EMR's and EMT's are often hired to provide medical support for private events such as races, rodeos, skating events, 
movie sets, and concerts. The producers, sponsors, and owners of these events hire personnel to provide on-site 
medical support.  

When personnel accept these jobs, assumptions are made about their ability to provide care at these events. The 
intention of this certification type is not to restrict employment opportunities, but to provide the profession and the public 
a method of ensuring minimum standards.  

The requirements for this type of agency are in Subchapter 15 of the regulation document. The central requirement for 
this type of certification is based on the care being provided at the event or location. If the care being provided is limited 
to first aid, CPR, and the use of an AED, then there is not a requirement to become a certified standby emergency 
medical response agency. If, however, the intent is to provide care above first aid, CPR, and the use of an AED, then 
certification is required. 

Please feel free to contact our office you have questions or concerns by calling 405.426-8480, or emailing our office at 
ESystems@health.ok.gov. 

mailto:ESystems@health.ok.gov


Option 2 - 2023  Renewal Application for Oklahoma EMS Licensed Personnel 

Please read the instruction sheet to ensure you meet all requirements for Oklahoma licensure. 
EMT Renewal Fee: $20.00 + Line of Duty Fee = $22.50 

Intermediate or AEMT Renewal Fee:  $25.00 + Line of Duty Fee = $27.50 
Paramedic Renewal Fee: $30.00 + Line of Duty Fee = $32.50 

  The $2.50 Line of Duty fee is required.  

Level of License Application:     EMT       Intermediate    Paramedic 

Status of your NREMT Certification:  Active       Inactive    (See requirements on page 2) 

**Paramedics only:  Are you a Critical Care Paramedic        Yes    No 

If yes, Please include your credentials for the OSDH Critical Care Paramedic Registry 

Please print or type all information. 

Last Name: ___________________________________First Name:  _____________________MI: ______  

SSN:  __________/__________/_________ DOB:  _________/_________/_________ Gender __________ 

Mailing Address: _______________________________________________________________________ 

City:  ______________________ State: _______________ Zip Code: __________ County: ___________ 

Telephone #: _________________________ Email: ___________________________________________ 

National Registry #: ____________________ National Registry expiration date: ______/______/______ 

Have you ever been convicted, adjudicated, plead guilty, or nolo contender of or to a felony?         Yes No 

If "YES", submit with this application documentation that fully describes the offense: date of offense; 
copies of relevant court documents; disposition and current status. 

Has your EMT certification or license ever been suspended or revoked?   Yes No 

If "Yes", please provide any relevant information regarding the suspension or revocation. 

I have read the memo statutory and Regulatory Requirements for Certified and Licensed personnel and will 
 not operate above the First Aid, CPR, and AED level in cases where I have no Medical Direction. 

      Yes 

If the application is incomplete or if there are questions about the information provided, please contact me 
via _____ email or ______ postal service.  

By signing this application, I hereby attest to the accuracy of the above information and understand that any 
fraudulent entry may be considered cause to deny or revoke any EMT License that may be issued in the 
State of Oklahoma. 

Applicant Signature: ________________________________________________ Date: _____________________ 

Send application, all documents and fee (check or money order made out to "OSDH" to: 
OSDH Emergency Systems  
Attn: Financial Management  

P. 0. Box 268823
    Oklahoma City, OK 73126-8823          Page 4 





2023 Continuing Education Report Form 
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Effective 9-11-2022 – Refresher courses are no longer required for renewal.  Certified and licensed 
personnel will provide documentation showing the completed continuing education courses or classes that 
meet or exceed the National Registry National Continued Competency Program guidelines. 

The minimum number of hours to complete based on certification or licensure level is: 

Emergency Medical Responder – 16 Hours Emergency Medical Technician – 40 Hours 
Intermediate and Advanced EMT – 50 Hours Paramedic – 60 Hours 

 
All continuing education hours must be listed on our form or on a similar form with the same 

information signed by your Training Coordinator/Employer. 
 

Do not send certificates or other verification without filling out the continuing education form. 

If you have completed a refresher course, document the hours completed for each topic from 
the refresher course as continuing education 

National Continued Competencies Program – Minimum Hours 
Broad Topic or 

Section 
Subtopics Minimum 

EMR Hours  
Completed 

Minimum 
EMT Hours 
Completed 

Intermediate 
and AEMT 

Hours 
Completed 

 

Paramedic Hours 
Completed 

 
Airway, 

Respiratory, 
Ventilations 

Ventilation     
Capnography NA NA NA  
Oxygenation     

Total Hours Required 1 1.5 2.5 3.5 
Total Hours 
Completed 

    

 
 
 
 

Cardiology 

Post-Resuscitation     
VAD NA    

Stroke     
Cardiac Arrest     

Pediatric Cardiac 
Arrest 

    

CHF NA NA NA  
ACS NA NA   

Total Cardiology 
Hours Required 

2.5 6 7 8.5 

Total Cardiology Hours 
Completed 

    

 
 
 

Trauma 

Trauma Triage NA    
CNS Injury     

Hemorrhage Control NA    
Fluid Resuscitation NA NA   

Total Trauma Hours 
Required 

.5 1.5 3 3 

Total Trauma Hours 
Completed 

 

    



2023 Continuing Education Report Form 
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National Continued Competencies Program – Minimum Hours – continued. 

Medical 

Special Healthcare  
Needs 

NA 

OB Emergencies 
Infectious Disease 
Medication Delivery NA NA 
Pain Management NA 

Psychiatric 
Toxicological/Opioids 
Neurological/Seizures 
Endocrine/Diabetes 

Immunological 
Total Medical Hours 

Required 
3 6 7.5 8.5 

Total Medical Hours 
Completed 

Operations 

At-Risk Populations NA 
Ambulance Safety NA 

Field Triage 
Hygiene/Vaccinations 

Culture of Safety 
Pediatric Transport NA 

Crew Resource 
Management 

NA 

Role of Research NA 
Evidence Based 

Guidelines 
NA 

Total Hours of 
Operations Required 

1 5 5 6.5 

Total Number of 
Operations Hours 

Completed 
Total NCCP Hours 

Completed  
8 20 25 30 

Continued on Page 3 



2023 Continuing Education Report Form 
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Local or State Designated Continuing Education Topic 
(Completed as part of National Continuing Competency Program) 

Broad Topic or 
Section 

Subtopics EMR Hours 
Completed 

EMT Hours 
Completed 

Intermediate and 
AEMT Hours 
Completed 

Paramedic 
Hours 

Completed 
Airway, 

Respiratory, 
Ventilations 
Cardiology 

Trauma 
Medical 

Operations 

Total Hours 
Required 

4 10 12.5 15 

Total Hours 
Completed  

Individual Selected Continuing Education Topic 
(Completed as part of National Continuing Competency Program) 

Broad Topic or 
Section 

Subtopics EMR Hours 
Completed 

EMT Hours 
Completed 

Intermediate 
and AEMT 

Hours 
Completed 

Paramedic Hours 
Completed 

Airway, 
Respirations, 

and ventilation; 

Cardiovascular 

Trauma 
Medical 

Operations 
Total Hours 

Required 
4 10 12.5 15 

Total Hours 
Completed  

_______________________________________________________________________________________ 
Applicants Name (Print)               Signature    Date 

  Employer/Training Manager/Coordinator (Print)   Signature Date 
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