
State of Oklahoma EMS Personnel License Renewal Application 
Option 1 – NREMT Certification 
2024 Procedures and Guidelines 

All required documentation should be completed in full (incomplete documents will not be processed) and returned 
to the address below. Please verify you are using the current version of this form available from the OSDH 
website.  

Please note there is a non-refundable fee for the license.  The fee should accompany the application along with all 
required documentation.  Payment is by a check or money-order. 

The fee schedule for renewing the following licenses are: 
1) Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) – $20.00 + $2.50 line of duty death benefit – Total $22.50
2) Intermediate or Advanced (EMT) - $25.00 + $2.50 line of duty death benefit – Total $27.50
3) Paramedic - $30.00 + $2.50 line of duty death benefit – Total $32.50

1. Completed, LEGIBLE and SIGNED application
2. Copy of a current National Registry Certification Card.
3. Fee (check or money order payable to OSDH - DO NOT SEND CASH.)
4. Read and understand the included memo, "Statutory and Regulatory Requirements for Certified and
Licensed Personnel. You do not have to print these pages. You must check the box on the application
stating that you understand the memo or the application will not be complete.

Please ensure your application is completed and only return by mail page 4 along with the required documents: 

All Licensed EMS Personnel initially licensed in Oklahoma after April 1, 2010 must 
maintain their National Registry Certification. 

Send application, fee and all documents to: 
OSDH Emergency Systems 
Attn:  Financial Management 

P.O. Box 268823 
Oklahoma City, OK 73126-8823 

Should you have further questions you may contact Emergency Systems at (405) 426-8480 or 
esystems@health.ok.gov 

Effective September 11, 2022, individuals renewing with an Inactive NREMT Certification will receive an 
Inactive Oklahoma License. (See OAC 310:641-5-19 Renewal requirements for certified and licensed 
emergency medical personnel) Individuals receiving an Inactive Oklahoma Certification or License are not 
authorized to provide patient care until the license is converted to a standard certification or license.   

Oklahoma State Department of Health 
(405) 426-8000 • (800) 522-0203 •

Oklahoma.gov/Health



Statutory and Regulatory Requirements for Certified and Licensed Personnel 

September 25, 2023 

To: Oklahoma Certified Emergency Medical Responders 
Oklahoma Licensed Personnel (all levels) 

From: Dale Adkerson, 
Administrative Program Manager- EMS Division 
OSDH-Emergency Systems 

Re: New regulations relating to medical director authority and license requirements 

On September 11, 2016, new regulations went into effect that impact all EMS related certificates and license types 
issued by the Department. This includes the personnel that are certified or licensed by the Department. This 
memo is an effort to provide individuals with a summary of the requirements for certified and licensed personnel. 
The summary will include both "old" and "new" language that has been included in the current statutes and 
regulations. 

Many changes occurred when comparing the 2009 regulations to the 2016 regulations. However, many of these 
changes related to formatting, organization, and clarifications. You are encouraged to be familiar with the 
language for not only your individual license, but also the regulatory language that apply to the agencies you are 
employed with. 

The regulatory document can be found on our website:   EMS Division (oklahoma.gov) 

A broad outline of the content that applies to individuals is: 
• the statute that with personnel definitions and requirements are in the regulatory definitions, and
• the subchapter of the regulations for personnel is Subchapter 5,

Each of these sections will contain specific definitions or language that applies throughout the document. 

Currently, the most significant requirements relating to personnel are: 

1. All emergency medical responders that had been trained prior to January 1, 2000 and had maintained
their certification through refresher courses are required to obtain a certification through the
Department. This is to be completed by September 30, 2017.

2. The scope of practice for all certified and licensed personnel requires physician authority.
If an individual is asked to provide care when they are not under a physician's authorization (such as
when an individual is not on duty or requested as part of your agency), the only interventions
authorized is first aid, CPR, and the use of an AED.

3. The renewal requirements for personnel licensed by the Department, but have not maintained their
NREMT certification has been clarified. (Personnel licensed after April 1, 2010 are required to maintain
NREMT certification.)

4. Agencies and services are required to maintain a credential file for personnel that define the specific
scope of practice that has been authorized by an agencies medical director.

5. The regulations have specific reason to take licensure action on individuals.  This list is extensive, and
details inappropriate, unethical, criminal, and other actions that can result in licensure action. The current
language that relates to personnel can be found in Subchapter 5 of the regulations.

https://oklahoma.gov/health/services/licensing-inspections/emergency-systems/ems-division.html
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In addition to the changes to the individual certifications and licenses, please be aware of a certification type that may 
be required for individuals. This agency certification is known as the Standby Emergency Medical Response Agency 
(Standby EMRA).  

Certified and licensed personnel are often hired to provide medical support for private events such as races, rodeos, 
skating events, movie sets, and concerts. The producers, sponsors, and owners of these events hire personnel to 
provide on-site medical support.  

When personnel accept these jobs, assumptions are made about their ability to provide care at these events. The 
intention of this certification type is not to restrict employment opportunities, but to provide the profession and the 
public a method of ensuring minimum standards.  

The requirements for this type of agency are in Subchapter 15 of the regulation document. The central requirement for 
this type of certification is based on the care being provided at the event or location. If the care being provided is 
limited to first aid, CPR, and the use of an AED, then there is not a requirement to become a certified standby 
emergency medical response agency. If, however, the intent is to provide care above first aid, CPR, and the use of an 
AED, then certification is required. 

Please feel free to contact our office you have questions or concerns by calling 405.426-8480, or emailing our office at 
ESystems@health.ok.gov. 

mailto:ESystems@health.ok.gov


September 25, 2023 

To:  All Certified and Licensed EMS Agencies 
       All Certified Training Programs 

From:  Dale Adkerson, Administrative Program Manager – EMS Division 

Re:  Approval of Continuing Education Certificates  

The National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians (NREMTs) has established a new 
policy regarding how continuing education certificates are documented. 

Based on National Registry Policy Number 82-07, continuing education certificates that verify a 
course or class completion must include the name of the organization that is the “course 
approver”. The approvers listed in the NREMT policy are: 

• Commission on Accreditation for Pre-Hospital Continuing Education (CAPCE) ,
• State EMS Office approval,
• Academic Institution, and
• by NREMT Policy.

In Oklahoma, all Certified and Licensed EMS agencies and Training programs are authorized to 
conduct refresher courses, continuing education, and other training courses designated by the 
Department. (See OAC 310:641-7)  

To ensure these certificates are NREMT compliant, instructors at the agencies and training 
programs will need to include this statement on their continuing education completion 
certificates. 

“[Insert Name of agency or program] is certified or licensed [Insert Agency or 
Training Program number] by the Oklahoma State Department of Health –  
EMS Division and is approved to provide continuing education courses or  
classes.” 

For organizations that are not certified or licensed by the EMS Division, (e.g., hospitals or 
associations) our office will continue to provide specific case by case approvals for continuing 
education courses or classes. 

If you have any questions or concerns related to this memo, please contact our office at 
405.426.8480 or by emailing esystems@health.ok.gov. 

https://nremt.org/getmedia/eb36a456-bc96-4908-bb6f-0ec3b436bcbe/82-07-Accepted-Education-Documentation-Policy.pdf
http://capce.org/
mailto:esystems@health.ok.gov


2024 Renewal Application for Oklahoma EMS Licensed Personnel 

Please read the instruction sheet to ensure you meet all requirements for Oklahoma licensure. 
EMT Renewal Fee: $20.00 + Line of Duty Fee = $22.50 

Intermediate or AEMT Renewal Fee:  $25.00 + Line of Duty Fee = $27.50 
Paramedic Renewal Fee: $30.00 + Line of Duty Fee = $32.50 

  The $2.50 Line of Duty fee is required.  

Level of License Application:     EMT           Intermediate or AEMT          Paramedic   

Status of your NREMT Certification:  Active             Inactive           (See requirements on page 1) 

**Paramedics only:  Are you a Critical Care Paramedic         Yes    No 

If yes, please include your credentials for the OSDH Critical Care Paramedic Registry 

Please print or type all information. 

Last Name: ___________________________________First Name:  _____________________MI: ______  

SSN:  __________/__________/_________ DOB: _________/_________/_________ Gender __________ 

Mailing Address: _______________________________________________________________________ 

City: ______________________ State: _______________ Zip Code: __________ County: ___________ 

Telephone #: _________________________ Email: ___________________________________________ 

National Registry #: ____________________ National Registry expiration date: ______/______/______ 

Have you ever been convicted, adjudicated, plead guilty, or nolo contender of or to a felony?  Yes No 

If "YES", submit with this application documentation that fully describes the offense: date of offense; 
copies of relevant court documents; disposition and current status. 

Has your EMT certification or license ever been suspended or revoked?   Yes No 

If "Yes", please provide any relevant information regarding the suspension or revocation. 

I have read the memo statutory and Regulatory Requirements for Certified and Licensed personnel and will 
 not operate above the First Aid, CPR, and AED level in cases where I have no Medical Direction. 

 Yes 

If the application is incomplete or if there are questions about the information provided, please contact me 
via _____ email or ______ postal service.  

By signing this application, I hereby attest to the accuracy of the above information and understand that any 
fraudulent entry may be considered cause to deny or revoke any EMT License that may be issued in the 
State of Oklahoma. 

Applicant Signature: ________________________________________________ Date: _____________________ 

Send application, all documents and fee (check or money order made out to "OSDH" to: 
OSDH Emergency Systems  
Attn: Financial Management  

P. 0. Box 268823
 Oklahoma City, OK 73126-8823  Page 4 
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