
Initial Nursing Home Licensure Process for new facility or change of ownership 

 

The following items must be competed and submitted for the initial licensing of a new nursing facility or 
a change of ownership. 
 

1. The licensed entity and management company must be registered to do business in Oklahoma 

with the Secretary of State (https://www.sos.ok.gov/)  Title 18 Oklahoma Statutes (O.S.) 1005, 

1130, 2004 and 2043. 

2. Complete the license application, and attachments, including a licensing fee of ten dollars 

($10.00) per bed, at least 30 days prior to beginning operations.  (Example 100 x $10.00= 

$1,000.00) to the PO Box listed on the application form.  310:675-3-1.1(b)  310:675-3-2.1(1) 

3. Complete and submit License Application for a Nursing or Specialized Facility (ODH 953-A).  The 

applicant must complete the form.  The form requires an oath affirming the truth, correctness 

and completeness of the information provided.   310:675-3.1(a)(1)  310:675-3-4.1(1) 

4. Complete and submit Disclosure Statement (ODH 953-B).    310:675-3-4.1(1)  310:675-3-5.1(a)(2) 

5. Complete and submit Detail Attachment to the Disclosure Statement (ODH 953-C) for each 

entity (Owner/Lessor, Lessee and Manager, if applicable).  Provide the detail as listed on the 

form for applicability of entity type on page.  For example, A provides for a corporate entity to 

detail all shareholders owning 5% or more, and all officers.  310:675-3-5.1(a)(3) 

6. Complete and submit Affirmation Attachment to the Disclosure State (ODH 953-D) for each 

person of the applicant/licensee listed on the Detail Attachment.  310:675-3-1.1(c)(d)  310:675-

3-5.1(a)(3)(4) 

7. Complete and submit Staffing Projection and Professional Certification for a Nursing or Long-

Term Care Facility (ODH 953-E) and provide copies for all licensed and certification for 

professional staff.    310:675-3-5.1(a)(5) 

a. Director of Nursing 

https://www.sos.ok.gov/


b. Medical Director 
c. Pharmacist 
d. Dietician or Nutritionist 

 
8.  Change of ownership only.   Provide documentation of the effective date of the transfer of 

ownership.  Copy of closing documents, lease, or transfer of operation agreement documenting 

the date the operations will transfer from current licensee to proposed licensee.  Sample 

transfer of operations agreement follows. 

9. New Facility only.  Statement for the zoning authority approving the facility 310:675-3-5.1(a)(1)  

10. New Facility only.  Submit approval of the fire marshal inspection.  63-1-1908(A) 

 

11. New Facility only.  Plan Review must approve the nursing facility to meet physical plant 
requirements at Chapter 675, before an initial license is issued.   Architect review division should 
be contacted 10-14 business days prior to projected opening date to schedule final inspection at 
405-271-6785. 310:675-5-1(a) 
 

12. If the facility will have specialized Alzheimer’s beds, submit the Alzheimer disclosure form.  63-1-
1906(A) 

 
 
All application forms are located at the Oklahoma State Health Department’s website: 
http://www.ok.gov/health/Protective_Health/Health_Resources_Development_Service/Health_Facility_Systems_/
Nursing_and_Specialized_Facilities/ 

 

http://www.ok.gov/health/Protective_Health/Health_Resources_Development_Service/Health_Facility_Systems_/Nursing_and_Specialized_Facilities/
http://www.ok.gov/health/Protective_Health/Health_Resources_Development_Service/Health_Facility_Systems_/Nursing_and_Specialized_Facilities/

