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OKLAHOMA ACCOUNTANCY BOARD (OAB) 
 
 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR REINSTATEMENT APPLICANTS 
 
Please refer to this information when completing the materials included in the reinstatement application 
packet.   

 
Application to Reinstate –  

Cancelled or Revoked More Than 1 Year 
 

NOTICE FOR CERTIFICATES/LICENSES EXPIRED ONE OR MORE YEARS 
 

Pursuant to 15.14E(3) “Any individual whose certificate or license is canceled, revoked for cause or 
automatically revoked by this provision may be reinstated by the Board upon payment of: 

a. a fee set by the Board which shall not exceed Three Hundred Dollars ($300.00) for a renewal 
within one (1) year of the due date, or 
b. a fee set by the Board which shall not exceed Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000.00) after one (1) 
year of the expiration date. 

However, an individual whose certificate or license has been revoked for cause for five (5) years or more 
may not renew the certificate or license. The individual may obtain a new certificate or license by complying 
with the requirements and procedures, including the examination requirements, for obtaining an original 
certificate or license. This provision shall not apply to an individual who is licensed to practice in 
another jurisdiction for the five (5) years immediately preceding their application for reinstatement. 
 
 

Reinstatement Application Forms 
 

The following forms are required to complete the reinstatement process: 
 

OAB FORM R009-B  Reinstatement Application 
OAB FORM R006  Notice of Return to Active Status 
 

 
AICPA Professional Ethics Examination 

 
Required of all applicants  

 
You must provide evidence of successful completion of "Professional Ethics: The AICPA's Comprehensive 
Course" or its equivalent as part of the requirement for certification [Section 15.9(F) of the Act and Section 
10:15-35-1(3) of the Oklahoma Administrative Code (OAC)]. 
 

 
Letters of Reference 

 
Required of all applicants 

 
All reinstatement applicants must submit three letters of reference.  The authors of these letters cannot 
be related to you, and the letter must attest to your character, ability and experience.  The letters must be 
originals containing the author’s signature and not be over 60 days old. 
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Application for Permit to Practice Public Accounting/CPE Reporting Form 
 

If you are applying for a permit to practice, you must also submit documentation (CPE certificates) verifying 
40 hours of CPE obtained in the calendar year preceding the date of the application or in the 365 days 
preceding the date of the application.  For assistance on CPE requirements, please contact the CPE 
Coordinator at (405) 522-3092. 
 

 
Background Checks 

 
The OAB will obtain a background check for all reinstatement applicants to ascertain criminal history and 
adherence to the professional code of conduct. The cost of $15 for the Criminal History search will be 
paid by the applicant. 
 

Permit to Practice Public Accounting 
 

Required of Applicants Who Practice Public Accounting in Oklahoma  
 
If you are practicing public accounting in Oklahoma or come into Oklahoma to serve clients from out of 
state, you are required by law to hold a permit to practice public accounting, unless you are entering the 
state under the substantial equivalency provisions of Section 15.12A of the Act.   This also includes certified 
staff accountants employed by public accounting firms. 
 
 
If you are not practicing public accounting, you are not required to apply for a permit but you are required 
to report CPE pursuant to Section 10:15-30-5.   Permits to practice must be renewed annually as they 
expire on the last day of the registrant's birth month. 

 
 

Ethics Examination FAQs 
 

Am I required to complete an ethics examination? All applications for reinstatement of certificates and 
licenses must provide evidence of successful completion of the AICPA's comprehensive ethics 
examination self-study course or its equivalent as determined by the OAB.  OAB policy establishes a 
minimum score of 90% for successful completion of the AICPA ethics examination or its equivalent. 

Is there a specific ethics examination that must be taken? The OAB will accept the AICPA's self-study 
course entitled "Professional Ethics: The AICPA's Comprehensive Course."  A substitute course may be 
acceptable to the OAB as well.  OAB policy requires that an equivalent ethics examination course be a 
minimum of 8 hours in length to be considered.  Sufficient information would need to be submitted to the 
OAB for it to determine whether the alternative course is equivalent in content to the AICPA course.   

What if I took the AICPA's Ethics Examination several years ago?  Do I have to take it again? You 
do not have to take the exam again if you can submit sufficient documentation to show you successfully 
completed the exam (score of 90% or above). 

What is the process for meeting the ethics examination requirement? 
 Ordering – "Professional Ethics:  The AICPA's Comprehensive Course" is ordered through 

www.aicpastore.com and is available as a text book or online.      
 Grading – If you pass the examination with a score of at least 90%, you will be sent by e-mail a 

PDF file of your certificate of completion.  
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Ashley Plyushko, CPA 
Executive Director 

OKLAHOMA ACCOUNTANCY BOARD 
201 NW 63rd Street, Suite 210 

Oklahoma City, OK 73116 
Ph: (405) 521-2397 Fax: (405) 521-3118 

www.ok.gov/oab 
 

 
APPLICATION TO REINSTATE CPA CERTIFICATE OR PA LICENSE  

CANCELLED OR REVOKED MORE THAN 1 YEAR 
 
 

 Certified Public Accountant Certificate No. _________Issued__________. 
 

 Public Accountant License No. _________Issued__________. 
 
The Oklahoma Accountancy Act (Act) and Title 10 of the Oklahoma Administrative Code (OAC) set forth 
the conditions under which reinstatement may be granted. 
 

INSTRUCTIONS 
 
Submit all forms to the Oklahoma Accountancy Board (OAB) together.  Please refer to the schedule of 
fees on the last page of this application.   
 
The applicant must be familiar with the Act and Title 10 of the OAC.  The application must be typewritten 
or written in ink. 
 
Failure to furnish all information required by this application or to furnish any additional information which 
might have a bearing on this application will be cause for denial of the application.  Additional information 
may be required from the applicant at the discretion of the OAB. 
 
PART I:  INFORMATION OF RECORD – REQUIRED  

 
1. Name on Certificate: ______________________________________________________________ 

 
2. Mailing Address: _________________________________________________________________ 

                                        (Number and Street)                         (City and State)  (Zip Code) 
 
3. Email Address: __________________________________________________________________ 
 
4. Primary Phone: ________________              5.    Secondary Phone:  _________________ 
 
6. Date of Birth: ________________     7.   Social Security Number: ______-____-_________ 
 
8. Are you a resident of the State of Oklahoma?        Yes    No   

9. If your certificate/license is reinstated, do you plan to practice public accounting         
        in the State of Oklahoma?          Yes    No   
 
10. Are you affiliated with a public accounting firm engaging in the practice  
        of public accounting in the State of Oklahoma?      Yes     No  
 
11. If not Oklahoma, in what state do you hold your original certificate/license to practice? _______________ 
     
 



 

2 
OAB FORM R009-B 
Rev. 11/2022 

12.  Employment:   Check all that apply in each group below: 
  
Classification:    Public Accounting    Industry    Government/Educator 

Role:   Sole Proprietor   Partner   Shareholder  Member (LLC or PLLC)   Owner   Staff/Employee 
  
Business Name or Employer: ___________________________________________________________________ 
 
Business Address: ____________________________________________________________________________ 

                                         Address                                                City                                               State                             Zip Code 
 

Changes of employment, professional status or mailing address MUST be reported to the OAB within 30 days of the change. 
 
PART II:  APPLICATION FOR PERMIT TO PRACTICE PUBLIC ACCOUNTING - REQUIRED 
 
13.    I am applying for a permit to practice public accounting.  I have completed with a score of 90% or above the 
AICPA's Ethics Examination course entitled "Professional Ethics: The AICPA's Comprehensive Course" as part 
of my reinstatement requirement. Attach a copy of the certificate of completion and/or the electronic page from the 
AICPA showing your score.     Yes    No    (If ‘No’, skip to Part III) 
 
My certificates of completion are attached.  A minimum of 40 CPE credits are required to obtain a permit. 
 
14.    I have completed       total CPE credits: 

  
15. Indicate appropriate compliance period:   
 

  a.        All CPE credits were earned in the previous calendar year OR 
  b.        All CPE credits were earned in the 365-day period immediately preceding my application date. 
 

 
PART III:  ACCOUTING SERVICES PERFORMED - REQUIRED  
                
16. Check all services associated with accounting work performed whether for an employer, the public, anyone 
other than yourself, or non-compensated services for immediate family members.  

 

  Audits/Reviews  Compilations  Attest services  Investment counseling  Tax planning services 

  Tax return preparation  Financial planning  Bookkeeping  Management advisory services 
 
Note: You must notify the Oklahoma Accountancy Board (OAB) within thirty days if you perform any attest 
engagements as a non-incorporated sole-proprietor. 
 
PART IV:  CHRONOLOGICAL STATEMENT – REQUIRED  

 
17.  Show below a complete statement of your time during the interim when your Oklahoma Certificate or License 
was not valid. (Use a separate sheet, if needed): 

 
Inclusive Dates 

(MM/YY) 
From              To 

 
Employed by 

 
Job Title/Postion 

 
City and State 

Public 
Accounting 

             - Present    Y   or   N 
    Y   or   N 
    Y   or   N 

    Y   or   N 
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PART VI:  ATTESTATION & SIGNATURE 
 
You must submit with this application letters from three persons who are not related to you which 
attest to your character, ability and experience.  These  letters must be the originals and not be 
over 60 days old. 
 
18. Have any of the following events ever occurred that have not been previously reported to the OAB: 

(1) have you been arrested; (2) have you been charged with a crime or are any charges against you 
pending at this time; (3) have you pled guilty or nolo contendere to any charge(s), (4) have you been 
convicted of a crime?  Yes   No   If YES to any of these questions, attach a written explanation. 

 
19.  Since your previous application or registration filed with the OAB, have you ever been disciplined or 
 had  a CPA certificate or PA license of any jurisdiction (other than Oklahoma) or foreign country 
 cancelled, revoked or suspended and/or have you ever been refused licensing or renewal of a 
 license or permit by any regulatory agency; or are any disciplinary actions pending at this time? 
 Yes     No   If ‘Yes’ to any of these questions, attach a written explanation. 
 
20. Have you ever voluntarily surrendered your right to practice or been barred or suspended from 
 practice  by any Federal or State regulatory authority?  Yes    No   If ‘Yes’, attach a written 
 explanation. 
                                                     
21. Other than Oklahoma, have you ever violated the laws or accountancy board rules in the state(s) in 

which you have held or now hold certificate(s)/license(s)?  Yes     No   If ‘Yes’, submit a written 
explanation. 

 
22. Have you ever had any professional credential cancelled, revoked, or suspended by enforcement 
 action that has not been previously reported to the OAB?  Yes     No     If ‘Yes’, attach a written 
 explanation. 
 
Please be aware that most information provided to the OAB is considered an open record and may be 
released, except where such release is specifically prohibited by the Oklahoma Accountancy Act, the 
Oklahoma Open Records Act, or the Federal Privacy Act. 
 
I understand the OAB may obtain a background check as one method to ascertain criminal history and 
adherence to the professional code of conduct. 
 
I hereby certify that the foregoing statements are true and correct and that I have not omitted or suppressed 
any information which might have a bearing on this application.  I further certify that I have read the Act 
and Title 10 of the OAC, including Subchapter 39, the Rules of Professional Conduct, and I will comply 
with the provisions thereto. 
 
 
____________________________________________   ________________________ 
  Signature of Applicant         Date 
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PART V:  REINSTATEMENT FEE SCHEDULE 

The following fees are due with the application for reinstatement. 

Application Fee ($125 of fee is Non-Refundable) 
$200 x ___ (number of years 
Cancelled or Revoked) 

Registration Fee $75 ($50 if age 65 or older) 

Late Fee $125 ($75 if age 65 or older) 

Criminal History Search $15 

Basic Fees Due $ 

Optional Fees: (mark if applicable) 

 Permit Fee $125 

 **Duplicate Certificate/License $150 

*Total Fees Enclosed $ 

NOTES: 

* Total fees are capped at $5,000 pursuant to Section 15.14.E.3(b) of the Act.

**   A duplicate certificate/license will be issued only if the original document was 
previously surrendered to the Board. 
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NOTIFICATION OF RETURN TO ACTIVE STATUS (RTAS)  
FOR CONTINUING PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION (CPE) 

 
 
Cert/Lic No.  ______________ Name: _______________________________________________ 
 
Phone #: _________________ Email : _______________________________________________ 
 
 

NOTICE OF RETURN TO ACTIVE STATUS: 

The effective date of my return to active status is:   _______________________________________ 
(Date you began performing work associated with accounting or reinstated your CPA certificate) 
 
Employer:                ______________________________________________________________ 

Employer Address: ______________________________________________________________  

   ______________________________________________________________ 

 
Return to Active Status requirements are outlined in Section 10:15-30-9 of the Oklahoma 
Administrative Code.  Briefly summarized:  
 

✓ Registrants are required to complete 40 hours of CPE for each year CPE was not reported to 
the Board, either due to an exemption, revocation, or cancellation.   Maximum - 120 hours.    
 

✓ 40 hours of CPE are due within 60 days of the date of return to active status 
 

✓ Remaining hours are due within one year of the date of return to active status 
 

✓ 4 hours of ethics must be earned if the registrant owes 120 hours of CPE 
 

✓ 2 hours of ethics must be earned if the registrant owes fewer than 120 hours of CPE 
 

✓ Any CPE hours earned while exempt, revoked, or cancelled, during the preceding three years 
may be claimed 
 

 
Signature:  _______________________________    Date: _____________      
 
Please attach CPE documentation that you wish to apply towards your RTAS.  
Correspondence will be sent to you detailing your requirements for the Return to Active 
Status process.  For additional information please contact Heather Grable, CPE Coordinator, 
at (405) 522-3089.    

 

Ashley Plyushko, CPA 
Executive Director 

OKLAHOMA ACCOUNTANCY BOARD 
201 NW 63rd Street, Suite 210 

Oklahoma City, OK 73116 
Ph: (405) 521-2397 Fax: (405) 521-3118 

www.oklahoma.gov/oab 
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Section 10:15-30-9 of the Oklahoma Administrative Code: 
 

An inactive status registrant upon return to active status must comply with CPE requirements as 
follows: 

 (1) The three (3)-year CPE cycle of a registrant returning to active status shall begin January 
1 of the year in which the registrant returns to active status.  Forty (40) hours of the CPE credit 
reported to meet the requirements to return to active status will be counted toward the three (3)-
year CPE cycle for the calendar year in which it is earned if the credit is earned: 

(A) within the calendar year the registrant returns to active status, or 
(B) within one year of the date the registrant returns to active status. 

(2) For each calendar year in which the registrant claimed an exemption or failed to report 
CPE pursuant to the CPE requirement, the registrant must complete forty (40) hours of CPE. 
(3) The maximum number of CPE hours required to return to active status shall be one 
hundred twenty (120) hours, including at least four (4) hours of professional ethics. 
(4) If the number of CPE hours required to return to active status is fewer than one hundred 
twenty (120), two (2) hours of professional ethics must be included. 
(5) The registrant may claim any CPE hours earned while on inactive status during the 
preceding three (3)-year period. 
(6) A registrant who immediately gives written notice to the Board upon changing to active 
status may be granted the following time periods in which to complete the CPE required by this 
section: 

(A) Sixty (60) days from the date of the return to active status for registrants needing 
forty (40) or fewer hours of CPE; and 
(B) One year from the date of the return to active status for any additional CPE above 
the (40) hours described in (A) above. 

(7) A registrant must document, on a form prescribed by the Board, all qualified CPE required 
by this rule. 
(8) At its discretion, the Board may modify the requirements of this rule for good cause on a 
case by case basis. 

 
 
 
Affidavit Requirement: 
 
The Board will consider granting an exemption from the CPE requirement on a case-by-case basis if: 
 
 (1) a registrant completes and forwards to the Board a sworn affidavit indicating that the 

registrant will not be associated with accounting work during the period for which the exemption 
is requested.  A registrant who has been granted this exemption and who re-enters the work 
force shall be required to comply with 10:15-30-9. 

  
(2) a registrant forwards to the Board a sworn affidavit from the employer or organization 
indicating no association with accounting work.  The affidavit shall include, as a minimum, a brief 
description of the duties performed, job title, and verification by the registrant's immediate 
supervisor that there is no reliance on the registrant's expertise as a CPA or PA. 
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